[SUCCESS] 5K Resolution with AMD RX580, Dell UP2715K and Sierra 10.12.5

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by XQC, Jun 21, 2017.

  1. XQC

    XQC

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    131
    Mobo:
    GA Z170 UD3
    CPU:
    i7 6770K
    Graphics:
    AMD RX580
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 4, 2017 at 3:35 PM #31
    XQC

    XQC

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    131
    Mobo:
    GA Z170 UD3
    CPU:
    i7 6770K
    Graphics:
    AMD RX580
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
  2. javinv

    javinv

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Oct 4, 2017 at 3:40 PM #32
    javinv

    javinv

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    I'm trying to replicate this guide with my real Mac Pro 5,1

    I'm still getting the two panels when on 5K after modifying the CFG_USE_AGDC value to true. Could this be due to not applying the same Clover settings?

    Is there anything else I could try?
     
  3. Scott1204

    Scott1204

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    144
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170X-UD3 ULTRA
    CPU:
    i7700K
    Graphics:
    EVGA Nvidia GTX 1080Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 7, 2017 at 8:53 PM #33
    Scott1204

    Scott1204

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    144
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170X-UD3 ULTRA
    CPU:
    i7700K
    Graphics:
    EVGA Nvidia GTX 1080Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Debating the switch to AMD as well. Really like the idea of native High Sierra support and frustrated by the Nvidia Web driver issues. Happy to buy the card but curious on a few issues:

    1. I Just need 4K 60hz on one screen (Samsung 4K TV). Do I need all the Clover settings at the start of this guide or just the Kexts?
    2. HDMI Audio - Does it work natively with AMD + High Sierra or are additional steps required?
    3. I have a dual boot Win/Hack setup. If I wanted to leave my 1080Ti in my system for Win but deactivate for Mac, anyone know if that's possible?
    4. HDCP support - are you able to play iTunes movies right now?

    Thanks for any advice.
     
  4. zlei

    zlei

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Messages:
    244
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170-HD3
    CPU:
    i5 6500
    Graphics:
    GTX 960 Overclocked
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Oct 9, 2017 at 9:11 AM #34
    zlei

    zlei

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Messages:
    244
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170-HD3
    CPU:
    i5 6500
    Graphics:
    GTX 960 Overclocked
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
  5. XQC

    XQC

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    131
    Mobo:
    GA Z170 UD3
    CPU:
    i7 6770K
    Graphics:
    AMD RX580
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 9, 2017 at 1:02 PM #35
    XQC

    XQC

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    131
    Mobo:
    GA Z170 UD3
    CPU:
    i7 6770K
    Graphics:
    AMD RX580
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I don't know these bootflags, nevertheless they were not necessary in my case.
     
    zlei likes this.
  6. olivermatich

    olivermatich

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Asrock Z270M Extreme 4
    CPU:
    Intel i7 7700k
    Graphics:
    Asus 960GTX 4GB Turbo
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 11, 2017 at 12:50 AM #36
    olivermatich

    olivermatich

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Asrock Z270M Extreme 4
    CPU:
    Intel i7 7700k
    Graphics:
    Asus 960GTX 4GB Turbo
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Me too. I've got my old GTX960 in a clean build and I am having the black screen on boot that is plaguing everyone, except I have tried everything in the thread on it and got nowhere. I was thinking of upgrading anyway, if anyone could confirm weather the card is indeed native in high sierra (I'm using 7700K + Z270 if that affects it)? Cheers.
     
  7. Scott1204

    Scott1204

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    144
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170X-UD3 ULTRA
    CPU:
    i7700K
    Graphics:
    EVGA Nvidia GTX 1080Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 12, 2017 at 11:08 PM #37
    Scott1204

    Scott1204

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    144
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170X-UD3 ULTRA
    CPU:
    i7700K
    Graphics:
    EVGA Nvidia GTX 1080Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    So I bought the XFX RX580 and have been trying to install it but not having much luck. Keep getting a black screen/freeze on boot. Troubleshooting right now...but so far, it’s been just as complicated as the Nvidia.
     
  8. zlei

    zlei

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Messages:
    244
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170-HD3
    CPU:
    i5 6500
    Graphics:
    GTX 960 Overclocked
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Oct 13, 2017 at 3:00 AM #38
    zlei

    zlei

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Messages:
    244
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170-HD3
    CPU:
    i5 6500
    Graphics:
    GTX 960 Overclocked
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    you check clover/uefi64driver/csm...efi...delete it
     
  9. Scott1204

    Scott1204

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    144
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170X-UD3 ULTRA
    CPU:
    i7700K
    Graphics:
    EVGA Nvidia GTX 1080Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 13, 2017 at 3:16 AM #39
    Scott1204

    Scott1204

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    144
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170X-UD3 ULTRA
    CPU:
    i7700K
    Graphics:
    EVGA Nvidia GTX 1080Ti
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks, will try
    I noticed you have the same board as mine...what AMD card do you have?
     
  10. zlei

    zlei

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Messages:
    244
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170-HD3
    CPU:
    i5 6500
    Graphics:
    GTX 960 Overclocked
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Oct 13, 2017 at 3:27 AM #40
    zlei

    zlei

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2016
    Messages:
    244
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170-HD3
    CPU:
    i5 6500
    Graphics:
    GTX 960 Overclocked
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    i just switched from gtx960 to amd rx580..all works fine..
     

Share This Page