[SUCCESS] 5K Resolution with AMD RX580, Dell UP2715K and Sierra 10.12.5

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by XQC, Jun 21, 2017.

  1. nunziantimo

    nunziantimo

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    127
    Mobo:
    Asus H170 Pro Gaming
    CPU:
    i5 6500
    Graphics:
    GTX 1060 6GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 22, 2017 at 6:52 PM #11
    nunziantimo

    nunziantimo

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    127
    Mobo:
    Asus H170 Pro Gaming
    CPU:
    i5 6500
    Graphics:
    GTX 1060 6GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Really nice, maybe I will switch from GTX 1060 to RX 480 then
     
    XQC likes this.
  2. jerryy2345

    jerryy2345

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    489
    Jun 22, 2017 at 8:16 PM #12
    jerryy2345

    jerryy2345

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    489
    Actually you can get 8K (7680 x 4320 30Hz) via one DP1.4 cable from the Dell UP3218K monitor but to get 8K at 60 HZ for that monitor, you use two cables. It costs around $5K.
     
    XQC likes this.
  3. nunziantimo

    nunziantimo

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    127
    Mobo:
    Asus H170 Pro Gaming
    CPU:
    i5 6500
    Graphics:
    GTX 1060 6GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 24, 2017 at 10:34 AM #13
    nunziantimo

    nunziantimo

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    127
    Mobo:
    Asus H170 Pro Gaming
    CPU:
    i5 6500
    Graphics:
    GTX 1060 6GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have two questions.

    1. Do you dual boot? Right now I have 3dp connected to my monitor (1 mDP and 2DP), so I switch to 4k, go to clover, and can dual boot easy. Can you do the same like using the iGPU/HDMI/DP on the Sapphire?

    2. So you just boot and get to 5k? No power cycling no stuff?
     
  4. XQC

    XQC

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    131
    Mobo:
    GA Z170 UD3
    CPU:
    i7 6770K
    Graphics:
    AMD RX580
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 24, 2017 at 12:32 PM #14
    XQC

    XQC

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    131
    Mobo:
    GA Z170 UD3
    CPU:
    i7 6770K
    Graphics:
    AMD RX580
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    @nunziantimo

    1. Dual boot is possible, but not quite exactly how you describe. You need a helper card defined as primary GPU in order to boot macOS, in my case it's the iGPU. It's hooked up via HDMI to my TV, since my mainboard doesn't have DP and the Dell only has DP inputs. So I can only see the POST screen (and Clover) if I turn on the TV. I can select Windows from there. No problems with Windows after this.
    You're more lucky if your mainboard has DP, so you could connect your mDP cable to that.

    2. Yes, exactly. I just push the button on the PC and it boots straight to 5K without further actions. I just don't have the POST screen on the Dell and only on TV, but since I boot 99% to macOS, it doesn't bother me.
     
  5. nunziantimo

    nunziantimo

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    127
    Mobo:
    Asus H170 Pro Gaming
    CPU:
    i5 6500
    Graphics:
    GTX 1060 6GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 24, 2017 at 5:32 PM #15
    nunziantimo

    nunziantimo

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    127
    Mobo:
    Asus H170 Pro Gaming
    CPU:
    i5 6500
    Graphics:
    GTX 1060 6GB
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Yes my mobo has DP, so I can definitely do that. If I ever feel like going to AMD. I feel ok with my 1060, the boot cycle doesn't bother me, neither the pointer bug (I managed to have it only at boot and rarely, like once every 3/4h, and with an hot corner I fix it)
     
  6. XQC

    XQC

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    131
    Mobo:
    GA Z170 UD3
    CPU:
    i7 6770K
    Graphics:
    AMD RX580
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 25, 2017 at 12:12 AM #16
    XQC

    XQC

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    131
    Mobo:
    GA Z170 UD3
    CPU:
    i7 6770K
    Graphics:
    AMD RX580
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Really good for you, the mouse pointer bug was unbearable for me – I couldn't get rid of it. Whether I used hot corner sleep or screensaver or deactivated the shaking mouse feature, the mouse pointer bug occured in the next minute.
     
  7. zen051803

    zen051803

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Messages:
    49
    Mobo:
    MSI z270 SLI PLUS
    CPU:
    i7 7700
    Graphics:
    RX 580 8gb
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jul 8, 2017 at 4:44 AM #17
    zen051803

    zen051803

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Messages:
    49
    Mobo:
    MSI z270 SLI PLUS
    CPU:
    i7 7700
    Graphics:
    RX 580 8gb
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    @XQC

    i have gigabyte rx 580 8gb and dell p2715q monitor. would this tandem work? thanks
     
  8. XQC

    XQC

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    131
    Mobo:
    GA Z170 UD3
    CPU:
    i7 6770K
    Graphics:
    AMD RX580
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 8, 2017 at 3:23 PM #18
    XQC

    XQC

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    131
    Mobo:
    GA Z170 UD3
    CPU:
    i7 6770K
    Graphics:
    AMD RX580
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    It's a normal 4K monitor with one displayport cable... should be no problem.
     
  9. zen051803

    zen051803

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Messages:
    49
    Mobo:
    MSI z270 SLI PLUS
    CPU:
    i7 7700
    Graphics:
    RX 580 8gb
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jul 10, 2017 at 10:49 AM #19
    zen051803

    zen051803

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Messages:
    49
    Mobo:
    MSI z270 SLI PLUS
    CPU:
    i7 7700
    Graphics:
    RX 580 8gb
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS

    the thing is until now, i can't make my rx 580 work on my hackintosh :(
     
  10. MichalMarhan

    MichalMarhan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Z77X UP5-TH
    CPU:
    i5-3550K
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jul 18, 2017 at 12:30 PM #20
    MichalMarhan

    MichalMarhan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Z77X UP5-TH
    CPU:
    i5-3550K
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Has anybody tried the same setup on High Sierra? Just thinking of buying a new monitor and the refurbished Dell one is selling in my local store for 800$. And the question is, if the MST mode works in High Sierra without the kext editting :)
     

Share This Page