[SUCCESS] 5K Resolution with AMD RX580, Dell UP2715K and Sierra 10.12.5

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by XQC, Jun 21, 2017.

  1. MichalMarhan

    MichalMarhan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Z77X UP5-TH
    CPU:
    i5-3550K
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jul 20, 2017 at 7:02 PM #21
    MichalMarhan

    MichalMarhan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Z77X UP5-TH
    CPU:
    i5-3550K
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    So I've looked into the AMD9510Controller.kext in High Sierra and the CFG_USE_AGDC is set to true by default :)
     
  2. sheldontung

    sheldontung

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Aug 5, 2017 at 6:54 PM #22
    sheldontung

    sheldontung

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Not that 10.12.6 is natively support RX580 now and I use it as an eGPU. Could I just connect it with one 1.4 DP cable to Dell UP2715K to achieve 5k resolution? @XQC
     
  3. XQC

    XQC

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    131
    Mobo:
    GA Z170 UD3
    CPU:
    i7 6770K
    Graphics:
    AMD RX580
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 6, 2017 at 7:21 PM #23
    XQC

    XQC

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    131
    Mobo:
    GA Z170 UD3
    CPU:
    i7 6770K
    Graphics:
    AMD RX580
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Dell doesn't support DP 1.4, you still have to connect 2 cables.
    5K with RX580 and 10.12.6 isn't plug&play either. I had to remove the IDs 0x67DF1002 from AMD9510 and AMD4100 to force macOS to load the kexts AMD9520 and AMD4200 instead and use framebuffer Gueriba.

    That might change with WhateverGreen and Lilu kexts, but I didn't have time to do any further testing.
     
    sheldontung likes this.
  4. LostVector

    LostVector

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170x-Designare
    CPU:
    Core i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    AMD FirePro W9000 + Radeon 7970
    Aug 6, 2017 at 10:46 PM #24
    LostVector

    LostVector

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170x-Designare
    CPU:
    Core i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    AMD FirePro W9000 + Radeon 7970
    WhateverGreen is the way to go for me. It also allows me to inject CFG_USE_AGDC via an SSDT, which means one less edit to perform on every OS upgrade.
     
  5. XQC

    XQC

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    131
    Mobo:
    GA Z170 UD3
    CPU:
    i7 6770K
    Graphics:
    AMD RX580
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 6, 2017 at 10:54 PM #25
    XQC

    XQC

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    131
    Mobo:
    GA Z170 UD3
    CPU:
    i7 6770K
    Graphics:
    AMD RX580
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    How do you do that?

    With WhateverGreen my RX580 works OOB, though without 5K support (Dell screen appears as two monitors) and Luxmark gives only 300 points. I have to test this again with a fresh install and various SMBIOS settings.
     
  6. LostVector

    LostVector

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170x-Designare
    CPU:
    Core i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    AMD FirePro W9000 + Radeon 7970
    Aug 6, 2017 at 11:07 PM #26
    LostVector

    LostVector

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170x-Designare
    CPU:
    Core i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    AMD FirePro W9000 + Radeon 7970
    There's an SSDT sample in the WhateverGreen FAQ you can use as a reference. SSDT's are quite complicated but you essentially use RehabMan's patched MaciASL to generate/edit them, and then copy them over to EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched. After you understand that piece, it's as simple as adding the proper config settings per WhateverGreen.

    For example, here's the SSDT I use to rename my slot 1 GFX card's PCI identifier from PEGP to GFX1 and also add some extra properties.

     
    XQC likes this.
  7. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,657
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 7, 2017 at 2:50 AM #27
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,657
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    GFX1 disables native GPU power management, why?
     
  8. LostVector

    LostVector

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170x-Designare
    CPU:
    Core i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    AMD FirePro W9000 + Radeon 7970
    Aug 7, 2017 at 6:28 AM #28
    LostVector

    LostVector

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170x-Designare
    CPU:
    Core i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    AMD FirePro W9000 + Radeon 7970
    No idea what you are referring to, can you clarify?
     
  9. Gogeta5026

    Gogeta5026

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z270MX-Gaming 5
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    Radeon Pro Vega Air-Cooled Frontier Edition 16GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sep 18, 2017 at 11:22 PM #29
    Gogeta5026

    Gogeta5026

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z270MX-Gaming 5
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    Radeon Pro Vega Air-Cooled Frontier Edition 16GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    @XQC

    I have a somewhat similar problem that you had. Maybe you can help?

    I have:
    Intel Core i7 7700K 4.2 Ghz
    Gigabyte GA-Z270MX/Gaming 5
    Samsung CF791 Series 34-Inch Curved Widescreen Monitor (C34F791) 3440x1440 4K
    Samsung U28E590D 28-Inch UHD LED-Lit Monitor with Freesync support 3840x2160 4K
    XFX AMD Radeon™ RX 580 8GB 256 Bit GDDR5 Graphics Card

    Both monitors are hooked up through Display Port
    Sierra works fine and I get full 4K off both monitors and everything works. However....
    With High Sierra
    I can only boot into High Sierra with 1 of the monitors turned on. Whenever I turn on the 2 monitor everything freezes within High Sierra and screen goes gray. I can still see the desktop but can't click on anything.

    Anybody know what I can do to get both monitors working fully in 4K?

    Some Success
    -------------
    After 2 days of constant testing with no luck. I think the problem has something to do with the AMD .kexts in S/L/E. When I copied the AMD .kexts from Sierra to High Sierra I got weird colors (red & blues flipped) and the 2nd monitor will go on and not lock up the computer

    Even though the method of copying kexts somewhat worked... It made the graphics choppy and everything was running slow (open windows and programs).

    Is there a FakeID (FB Name, NVCAP, VRAM, Video Ports, Display-cfg, ig-platform-id, BootDisplay) of some sort I can use in Clover to fix this? Kext?


    My clover config is attached if that helps anybody!
    Also...
    The 2 pictures attached are what happens. Boots with 1 monitor on. As soon as the 2nd monitor is turned on or plugged in... The working monitor goes black and everything stops responding.
    post-1411155-0-35966900-1505769850_thumb.jpg post-1411155-0-25986800-1505769868_thumb.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  10. javinv

    javinv

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Oct 4, 2017 at 9:01 AM #30
    javinv

    javinv

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    I only see one CFG_USE_AGDC value in the Info.plist in AMD9510Controller.kext

    Where's the other?

    Thank you!
     

Share This Page