Contribute
Register

Skylake Intel HD 530 Graphics Glitch Fix

Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
13
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
In my setup I used ig-platform-id 0x19120000 and Inject Intel true, however you might try different values. The most important config part is below.

Add to clover config:
Code:
<key>Devices</key>
<dict>
    <key>AddProperties</key>
    <array>
        <dict>
            <key>Device</key>
            <string>IntelGFX</string>
            <key>Key</key>
            <string>AAPL,GfxYTile</string>
            <key>Value</key>
            <data>
            AQAAAA==
            </data>
        </dict>
    </array>
</dict>
Screen Shot 2016-11-02 at 12.34.27 PM.png


Thanks to PikerAlpha for discovering AAPL,GfxYTile
 
Last edited:

tonymacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
8,501
Motherboard
GA-Z270X-UD5
CPU
Core i3-7100
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Apple, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
For those unfamiliar, since macOS Sierra 10.12 update, Skylake's Intel HD 530 integrated graphics has had certain graphical artifacts or 'glitches' in the upper left corner of the menu bar and elsewhere. This does not occur under OS X El Capitan.

Veteran hacker PikerAlpha has come up with a simple solution that solves the issue for macOS Sierra. This can be done using DSDT, SSDT or via Clover's Devices > Add Properties to inject AAPL,GfxYTile.

For CustoMac Desktops, use MultiBeast's Graphics > HD 530 setting (This includes ig-platform-id of 0x19120000) and add the above code into your Clover config.plist. Reboot and glitches be gone.

:D

Credit/Source:
https://pikeralpha.wordpress.com/2016/10/30/aapl-properties-for-skylake-graphics/
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 22, 2011
Messages
896
Motherboard
GigaByte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Add to clover config:

Code:
<key>Devices</key>
<dict>
    <key>AddProperties</key>
    <array>
        <dict>
            <key>Device</key>
            <string>IntelGFX</string>
            <key>Key</key>
            <string>AAPL,GfxYTile</string>
            <key>Value</key>
            <data>
            AQAAAA==
            </data>
        </dict>
    </array>
</dict>
Thanks to PikerAlpha for discovering AAPL,GfxYTile
which ig-platform-id did you use?
inject intel?
 

tonymacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
8,501
Motherboard
GA-Z270X-UD5
CPU
Core i3-7100
Graphics
HD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Apple, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Updated post. Set ig-platform-id to 0x191B0000. Inject Intel should be enabled.
I use 0x19120000 for desktop Intel HD 530.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2015
Messages
153
Motherboard
Asus TP500LAB (9 series)
CPU
Intel Core i5-5200U
Graphics
Intel HD 5500
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
For those unfamiliar, since macOS Sierra 10.12 update, Skylake's Intel HD 530 integrated graphics has had certain graphical artifacts or 'glitches' in the upper right corner of the menu bar and elsewhere. This does not occur under OS X El Capitan.

Veteran hacker PikerAlpha has come up with a simple solution that solves the issue for macOS Sierra. This can be done using DSDT, SSDT or via Clover's Devices > Add Properties to inject AAPL,GfxYTile.

For CustoMac Desktops, use MultiBeast's Graphics > HD 530 setting (This includes ig-platform-id of 0x19120000) and add the above code into your Clover config.plist. Reboot and glitches be gone.

:D

Credit/Source:
https://pikeralpha.wordpress.com/2016/10/30/aapl-properties-for-skylake-graphics/
Does the patch also fix wake from sleep?
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
13
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I use 0x19120000 for desktop Intel HD 530.
0x19120000 also works for me. Updated the post to 0x19120000 as it appears that this is the most common platform-id. Also changed wording a bit to state that this is my experience and others might try different values.
 
Joined
May 22, 2011
Messages
896
Motherboard
GigaByte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
For those unfamiliar, since macOS Sierra 10.12 update, Skylake's Intel HD 530 integrated graphics has had certain graphical artifacts or 'glitches' in the upper right corner of the menu bar and elsewhere. This does not occur under OS X El Capitan.

Veteran hacker PikerAlpha has come up with a simple solution that solves the issue for macOS Sierra. This can be done using DSDT, SSDT or via Clover's Devices > Add Properties to inject AAPL,GfxYTile.

For CustoMac Desktops, use MultiBeast's Graphics > HD 530 setting (This includes ig-platform-id of 0x19120000) and add the above code into your Clover config.plist. Reboot and glitches be gone.

:D

Credit/Source:
https://pikeralpha.wordpress.com/2016/10/30/aapl-properties-for-skylake-graphics/
I still don't get it why I am still getting black flicker glitch thing upper left corner? Here is my config.plist. I do what exactly you said but still getting glitch even I made clean install.
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
13
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I still don't get it why I am still getting black flicker glitch thing upper left corner? Here is my config.plist. I do what exactly you said but still getting glitch even I made clean install.
Your config looks good to me. Open IORegistryExplorer and verify that you have AAPL,GfxYTile for your GFX0/IGPU. If you see the value but still have glitches, I might only suggest to try different ig-platform-id + Inject Intel combinations. I had success with both 0x19120000 and 0x191B0000.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
13
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Does the patch also fix wake from sleep?
Didn't have a chance to test today, will tell you tomorrow. However I can tell that it fixes problems with textures in games and issues with video acceleration.
 
Top