Safe OS Upgrade to Sierra

Discussion in 'OS X Updates' started by NoughRec, Aug 5, 2017.

  1. NoughRec

    NoughRec

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    ASUS SABERTOOTH X79
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4930K Ivy Bridge Processor, 12 MB Cache, 3.40 GHz, Nero
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 G1 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 5, 2017 at 8:41 AM #1
    NoughRec

    NoughRec

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    ASUS SABERTOOTH X79
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4930K Ivy Bridge Processor, 12 MB Cache, 3.40 GHz, Nero
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 G1 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi,
    I'm wondering to finally upgrade my OS, I'm actually using Yosemite.
    Since I have some pending jobs to do, I wanna be sure I'm not going to break my system.
    I have a clean SSD that I may use for the purpose so I was thinking that:
    1- unplug the current Yosemite ssd
    2- do a clean installation on the new ssd of Sierra
    3- if it works I use it and manually install the programs ( not many, and all my data are already saved )
    4-else I unplug the new ssd, plug back the old and continue to work until I have time to fix the other

    will the point 4 work? if I plug back the ssd will it work? in other words will try to install Sierra on a different ssd impact in any way the system if a unplug that ssd?

    I know that the bootloader is on the ssd so I think It should be fine you agree?


    Just in case you need, here is my system:

    ASUS SABERTOOTH X79 *
    Intel BX80633I74930K Boxed Intel Core i7-4930K Ivy Bridge Processor, 12 MB Cache, 3.40 GHz, Nero
    Corsair CW-9060009-WW Hydro Series H100I
    Tp-Link TL-WDN4800 N900 Wireless N Dual Band PCI Express Adapter
    Gigabyte GTX 980 G1 Gamming Scheda Video, VGA, 4 GB, PCIe, Nero
    Corsair Simm Memoria RAM, DDR3, PC1866, 32GB, CL9 VenP k **
    Corsair RM1000 1000 Watt
    Samsung MZ-7KE256BW SSD 850 PRO, 256GB, for OS
    Samsung MZ-7TE1T0BW SSD 840 EVO, 1TB for data
    Fractal Design Define R5 Case

    * will I also need to change any bios settings? or those that are working for Yosemite should be fine with Sierra?
    ** I'm wondering to double the ram, will this need any additional setup other than just buy the same again and plug in?


    thank you all so much
     
  2. BreBo

    BreBo Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    5,646
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    Asus Strix GTX 970
    Aug 9, 2017 at 6:40 PM #2
    BreBo

    BreBo Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    5,646
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    Asus Strix GTX 970
    @NoughRec, please update your profile (personal details) with your Motherboard or Make/Model, CPU and Graphics Card.
     
  3. NoughRec

    NoughRec

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    ASUS SABERTOOTH X79
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4930K Ivy Bridge Processor, 12 MB Cache, 3.40 GHz, Nero
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 G1 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 12, 2017 at 6:03 PM #3
    NoughRec

    NoughRec

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    ASUS SABERTOOTH X79
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4930K Ivy Bridge Processor, 12 MB Cache, 3.40 GHz, Nero
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 G1 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    sorry for that! just updated everything :)
     
  4. NoughRec

    NoughRec

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    ASUS SABERTOOTH X79
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4930K Ivy Bridge Processor, 12 MB Cache, 3.40 GHz, Nero
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 G1 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 12, 2017 at 6:06 PM #4
    NoughRec

    NoughRec

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    ASUS SABERTOOTH X79
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4930K Ivy Bridge Processor, 12 MB Cache, 3.40 GHz, Nero
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 G1 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Anyone can help on this? :)
     

Share This Page