Contribute
Register

OS X won't start without uni/multibeast USB? Here's the solution!

Joined
Dec 22, 2014
Messages
5
Motherboard
OS X 10.10.1
CPU
Intel Core i7 4GHz
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 (2gb)
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi!
I've just completed building my first hackintosh, but had some trouble getting it to start from the HDD without my uni/multibeast USB plugged in.
I found the solution on youtube (link and transcript below) and it's to put all the boot files on the EFI partition (the boot partition which is hidden) instead of on the regular partition.

Before following this tutorial I ran multibeast and installed all necessary drivers and FakeSMC to my HDD (if you don't you won't have all necessary files).

The link to the video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ix0BtrKitMs

Transcript of steps from the video (if you've already mounted your EFI partition and have located the 'Extra' folder skip to step 4):
  1. Open Terminal and write (return after each line):
    • sudo -s
    • enter your password (won't show up as you're writing, can't be blank)
    • diskutil list
  2. Check what it says under 'IDENTIFIER' for your EFI disk (mine is 'disk0s1', if yours is different you need to replace this throughout the steps) and write:
    • newfs_hfs -v EFI /dev/disk0s1
    • mkdir /Volumes/EFI
    • mount_hfs /dev/disk0s1 /Volumes/EFI
  3. Check what it says under 'NAME' for your uni/multibeast usb (mine is called 'Multibeast') and write:
    • cd /Volumes/Multibeast/usr/standalone/i386
    • fdisk -f boot0 -u -y /dev/rdisk0
    • dd if=boot1h of=/dev/rdisk0s1
    • After entering the last command you should get some feedback saying '2+0 records in, 2+0 records out', or something similar. Write:
    • cp boot /Volumes/EFI/
  4. Now if you go to your HDD in finder you should have a folder called 'Extra' (go to 'finder' -> 'preferences' -> 'general' -> tick 'hard disks' and the HDD and EFI partition will show up on your desktop).

  5. Copy the 'Extra' folder and paste it in the root of the EFI partition.

  6. Go back to terminal and write:
    • fdisk -e /dev/rdisk0
    • p
  7. In your diskutil list, check what the '#' for the EFI partition (mine is '1') and write:
    • f 1
    • w
    • y
    • quit
  8. If you haven't installed 'FakeSMC' from multibeast you'd want to do this manually now.

  9. If you don't have 'show hidden files' activated on your system, open Terminal and write:
    • defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles TRUE
  10. Open your EFI partition in finder again. In the 'Extra' folder that you just moved there, make a new folder called 'Extensions'.

  11. Open a new finder window and locate HDD -> System -> Library -> Extensions -> 'FakeSMC_kext' and copy this to the newly created 'Extensions' folder on your EFI partition.

  12. Go back a step to your 'Extra' folder (still on the EFI partition) and open the file 'org.chameleon.Boot.plist' with TextEdit.
  13. Locate (if it's there and set to yes, otherwise go to step 15.)
    • <key>UseKernelCache</key>
    • <string>Yes</string>
  14. And simply change 'Yes' to 'No'.

  15. If you don't already have it, simply add the following after the last '</string>'.
    • <key>UseKernelCache</key>
    • <string>No</string>
  16. Save and close.

  17. If you want to deactivate 'show all files', open Terminal and write:
    • defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles FALSE
  18. Unmount and unplug your USB drive, reboot and it should boot from your disk!

Since this is my first build I don't have any real insight in what we just did, or how to fix any problem that you might run in to, but feel free to post your questions here anyways; hopefully someone else can help you!
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2013
Messages
11
Motherboard
Asus Z87 MAXIMUS VI GENE
CPU
CoreI7 4770K
Graphics
GTX680
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi!
Guide....
This helped me! Works to boot from the HDD now, so now I can skip using the USB for booting.

One thing that was confusing me was the rdisk commands, they should have the same disk number as when using the disk commands.

So if you're on /dev/disk0s1 the rdisk counterpart should be /dev/rdisk0s1
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2014
Messages
7
Motherboard
GA-H77-DS3H
CPU
Core I5 3570 Ivy Bridge
Graphics
MSI R9-280X
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Good job, but there was already a posting entitled "Install Bootloader and Extra to EFI Partition" in November 2013 describing the same procedure in great detail.
I was having the same problem and was referred to the article by P1LGRIM and it worked to solve the problem. This isn't meant to be a criticism. I think its wonderful that you put together your guide to fixing the problem. Its clear that many other people either didn't find the earlier posting or didn't realize it would fix the "boot0: Done" followed by 6 lines of gibberish error. Your title makes it more likely that it will be found and used.
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2015
Messages
1
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi Guys!
Installed Yosemite 4 times and followed the said process all 4 times but I am getting no where. I still cannot boot from the HDD. So far I have not been able to figure this whole thing out. I am installing it in a Toshiba Satellite A500 (PSAR3-02J) i5 with 8GB Ram.

Any ideas where I might be going wrong.. I have little or no Knowledge of the Linux syntax but I did follow the steps to the letter.

Any ideas/suggestions would be great... Already wasted a few days on this already.

Cheers
 
Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
57
Motherboard
ASUS X99-S
CPU
i7 5820K
Graphics
2x nvidia GTX1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
i just ran Chimera after Multibieast. Then booting was without any problems
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2014
Messages
4
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4790K @4.4GHz
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4600
Mac
Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thank you so much! This worked perfectly for me with Yosemite. Note that in step 18, the USB drive will not unmount in the Finder until either the Terminal session is quit or its working directory is changed (cd ~).
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2015
Messages
2
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hey guys, I did all steps in above, but nothing happened!! I could install Yosemite 10.10.3 without any problem, even FaceTime and iMessage also are working well. (Used clover method)
My Graphic card and sound card are perfectly fixed and it's working well. no issue at all.

But
The only problem is USB Ports, I mean, I can't boot the system without multibeast USB.


however After getting to multibeast boot loader, and hit Hard Drive icon to boot, it will hang on Apple Logo, but If I use (( USBLegacyOff=Yes )) then It will work, and USB will be appeared on Yosemite after launched perfectly. But If I will unplug USB, again it will hang out.
I think so the problem is cause of EFI Partition, cause it will be disappeared, however I set Active Flag on it, and I used EFI mounter too but still same issue.

Any ideas/suggestions would be great... Already wasted a few days on this already.

Cheers
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
23
Motherboard
Lenovo z570-Houron River
CPU
Intel Core i3 2130 2.1GHz
Graphics
HD Graphics 3000
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
I got an error at disk -f boot0 -u -y /dev/rdisk0

disk: could not open MBR FILE BOOT0: NO SUCH FILE OR DIRECTORY

I am using sudo -s because on the very first command (newfs_hfs -v EFI /dev/disk0s1) it says permission denied.

Help me. I have tried everything shown on this website. I have some hope with this method. Its been more than 3 weeks I haven't found a solution to start OSX without USB.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
14,741
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I got an error at disk -f boot0 -u -y /dev/rdisk0

disk: could not open MBR FILE BOOT0: NO SUCH FILE OR DIRECTORY

I am using sudo -s because on the very first command (newfs_hfs -v EFI /dev/disk0s1) it says permission denied.

Help me. I have tried everything shown on this website. I have some hope with this method. Its been more than 3 weeks I haven't found a solution to start OSX without USB.
You should be posting in one of the laptop support threads for this issue. Also your CPU is incorrectly
listed in your profile. It should be I3-2310 instead of I3-2130.
 
Top