Contribute
Register

New to Hackintosh world, professional composer on Cubase. Would love recommendations.

Hi all, I'm a pro composer on Cubase with VE Pro on the same computer, currently using a 2013 Mac Pro 6-core 3.6 Xeon, which I overload constantly. So I'm looking into an i9 Hackintosh that's as dependable and stable as possible since I rely on my DAW for my living. I've been told elsewhere here that the 8-core is the most reliable setup and am wondering if moving to a 10-core would be worth it or not? If an 8-core I would go with the most powerful i9 at 5.0ghz Turbo'd. I'm wondering how about much more power this would give me over what I currently have. Any and all advice is welcome. I don't want to fed the greedy Mac Tax, and would prefer to build the DAW I want, but if it can't handle what I need CPU-wise then...

Other things I need are 128gb RAM and Thunderbolt 3 (ideally two ports), 6 USB3 Type A and a few Type C. I have one audio drive and four sample drives, all Samsung EVO SSD, would like those inside the case if possible (right now I have them on a Thunderbolt external thing because, well, it's the 2013 Mac Pro). Video-wise I couldn't care less about ultra HD or any of that as long as I can get two simple LCD monitors at 1080.

Last edited:
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
CPU
i7-9900K
Graphics
GTX 760
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS

You can check this thread, we benchmarked our 9900K Rigs. You can run it by yourself on your actual machine...Report back how it goes...

Motherboard
X58A-UD5
CPU
i7-930
Graphics
HD 4870
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I replied to your other post but I've just seen this one.Why not use VE pro to it's fullest and add a slave system? Your current Mac Pro combined with a 9900k should suffice and it does not even have to be Mac..