New Method for Enabling NVIDIA Web Drivers in Clover

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by tonymacx86, Sep 20, 2016.

  1. ChrisLCrawford

    ChrisLCrawford

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus IX Hero
    CPU:
    i7-7700k LGA1151
    Graphics:
    EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1060 SSC
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 7, 2017 at 7:23 AM #341
    ChrisLCrawford

    ChrisLCrawford

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus IX Hero
    CPU:
    i7-7700k LGA1151
    Graphics:
    EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1060 SSC
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    After going through the advised steps to edit the /Volumes/EFI/EFI/CLOVER/config.plist, I saved the file. Then, I went to /Boot and the folder was empty. There is no folder named "Arguments" inside the Boot folder. This is my 1st build and all of my system specs are in my bio. Am I missing something here?

    Following the config.plist changes, I did the reboot as instructed and now the system is stuck at about 3/4 load on the apple load screen. It will not load past this point. HELP PLEASE?!?!?!
     
  2. ChrisLCrawford

    ChrisLCrawford

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus IX Hero
    CPU:
    i7-7700k LGA1151
    Graphics:
    EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1060 SSC
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 7, 2017 at 7:28 AM #342
    ChrisLCrawford

    ChrisLCrawford

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus IX Hero
    CPU:
    i7-7700k LGA1151
    Graphics:
    EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1060 SSC
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I decided to run in verbose to see what came up. I noticed the IGPU Failed to initialize graphic firmware. I have no idea what that means, but I'm hoping by sharing the screenshot, it will provide more info for someone willing to provide assistance. IMG_6962.JPG
     
  3. deanzyplusone

    deanzyplusone

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-7700K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Windforce OC
    Sep 14, 2017 at 6:39 AM #343
    deanzyplusone

    deanzyplusone

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-7700K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Windforce OC
    I'm so confused... I did everything in this guide and it doesn't appear like its working. I just ran a fresh install of sierra and I have terrible screen stutter using google chrome... Please help!
     
  4. ChrisLCrawford

    ChrisLCrawford

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus IX Hero
    CPU:
    i7-7700k LGA1151
    Graphics:
    EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1060 SSC
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 14, 2017 at 11:54 AM #344
    ChrisLCrawford

    ChrisLCrawford

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus IX Hero
    CPU:
    i7-7700k LGA1151
    Graphics:
    EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1060 SSC
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Have you removed the USB pen that you used to install Sierra since performing these steps?

    It may be purely coincidental, but I fought this issue for days, but as soon as I ejected the USB and rebooted, my graphics card was there and it's been working like a dream since then!
     
  5. deanzyplusone

    deanzyplusone

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-7700K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Windforce OC
    Sep 14, 2017 at 12:04 PM #345
    deanzyplusone

    deanzyplusone

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-7700K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Windforce OC
    After lots of Trial and Error I got it up thanks to P1GRIM! Thank you though!
     
  6. mozenbee

    mozenbee

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Windows
    CPU:
    Intel
    Graphics:
    ATI
    Sep 19, 2017 at 6:56 AM #346
    mozenbee

    mozenbee

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Windows
    CPU:
    Intel
    Graphics:
    ATI
    Hi everyone,

    I've gone through all the pages and responses in this thread. Still, no solution worked for me. I'm attaching my config.plist and some other information that might be relevant.

    Is there anything I'm missing?

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screenshot at Sep 19 02-48-10.png  (19.5 KB, 196 views)
    • Screenshot at Sep 19 02-49-38.png  (100 KB, 239 views)
    • Screenshot at Sep 19 02-50-09.png  (8.5 KB, 186 views)
    • config.plist   (9.7 KB, 27 views)
  7. kohary

    kohary

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Sep 19, 2017 at 8:40 AM #347
    kohary

    kohary

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Hi. Can someone help me to get my Palit GTX 650 working (only 1024 resolution available)? I tried to use MultiBeast, then installed the 10.12.06 web driver. Mounted EFI changed the plist like in the tutorial. I don't know what I did wrong but still only that one resolution. My motherboard is Gigabyte Z77-DS3H. I use system def iMac14,2 .
     
  8. n0mis

    n0mis

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Sep 20, 2017 at 2:18 AM #348
    n0mis

    n0mis

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Works for me, awesome, thanks!!
     
  9. BadGoldish3725

    BadGoldish3725

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    Mobo:
    Z170x - UD3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    GTX 950
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 29, 2017 at 4:29 PM #349
    BadGoldish3725

    BadGoldish3725

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    Mobo:
    Z170x - UD3
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700k
    Graphics:
    GTX 950
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi, I am having issues doing this. I have the drivers installed and everything, but when I mount EFI partition, the drives it gives me I do not think are not my boot drive. I am not sure and the config.plist never saves correctly it always says it can't find config.plist whenever I open Clover. Any suggestions? Thanks!
     
  10. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,939
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 30, 2017 at 10:20 PM #350
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,939
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    If you're running Sierra, then run MultiBeast v9.2.1 and just select the following:

    Customize > Graphics Configuration > NVIDIA Web Drivers Boot Flag
    Build > Install​

    The method to do it by "hand" is longer which you'll have to do if you're running High Sierra. I post that when you reply to this post that you're running High Sierra.
     

Share This Page