none
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hello all :)

I'm a musician with a UAD2 PCIe card who is in need of a MAC PRO with PCIe slots and thunderbolt. At this time, this does not exist and thats how I found this lovely place! :D I'm excited!

After reading a few guides and tons of posts, I'm looking to build my first machine...but I'd like to save some money if possible. I'd like to spend a grand or less, but maybe this is not realistic. If not, thats fine. The closer I stay to a grand the better. I don't mind doing some work, but I wouldn't mind easy, working solutions if anyone is kind enough to take the time to share and help me :).

I am not looking to overclock anything, but I would prefer a silent beast. The quieter the better. My old G4 (yep - sigh) is soooooo noisy. I hope this newer machine won't be as loud. Here is what I intend on buying:

Motherboard: GA-Z77X-UP5-TH | amazon
I need at least ONE working TB port for an audio interface (device). I will NOT be using TB monitors. Just data transfer. BUT - it might be nice to have more PCIe slots. My UAD2 card will take one... I think the wireless card takes another... Anyone know of anyway to have TB and more PCIe slots?

CPU: Intel Core i7-3770 | amazon

Graphics Card: GeForce GT 640 | amazon
???? I just know I'm going to need to connect this to a screen of sorts. I have no special graphic needs. If I ever get into video editing, I assume I can upgrade whatever I need. I'm open to cheaper graphic card options. I won't be gaming (so I say now) or anything.

Drives: SanDisk Extreme SATA 6Gb/s 120GB SSD + Seagate Barracuda SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD
-- I know the SSD costs more, but I see this as a worthy upgrade

Power supply: How does one determine the power supply? Are some quieter than others? Prices seem to have a wide range as wattage increases.