Contribute
Register

macOS Sierra PB: Need testers for new AMD Radeon drivers!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Messages
12
Motherboard
Asrock Z68 Extreame4
CPU
i7 2600
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Guys I'm desperate. All I tried, but my ASUS ROG Strix RX 480 not start.
At the moment:
1) The BIOS chose IGPU first
2) I am forced to work HD2000 video
3) Using a modified FakeSMC.kext the user "nightfall".
4) So I modified the AMDRadeonKs4100.kext.
5) The clover pointing FakeID 67EF1002, injected IGPU and ATI.
As a result, when loading at the start RH480 start spinning fans on and off the monitor.
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
5,361
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
Guys I'm desperate. All I tried, but my ASUS ROG Strix RX 480 not start.
At the moment:
1) The BIOS chose IGPU first
2) I am forced to work HD2000 video
3) Using a modified FakeSMC.kext the user "nightfall".
4) So I modified the AMDRadeonKs4100.kext.
5) The clover pointing FakeID 67EF1002, injected IGPU and ATI.
As a result, when loading at the start RH480 start spinning fans on and off the monitor.
Don't inject Intel, and remove the 67EF ID. Doing the change to 4100kext alone should get you support if you don't add anything else using clover 3923.
 
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
92
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Also don't forget to rebuild the kext cache with kext utility.
If you don't do that, it won't work.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2013
Messages
3
Motherboard
GA-H77-DS3H
CPU
Intel Core i5-3450
Graphics
SAPPHIRE NITRO RX 480 8G GDDR5 OC
Classic Mac
Apple
Mobile Phone
iOS,
Yeah, I have the same bios settings.

I actually never tried the x4100.kext editing. I did the FakeSMC.kext edit (here is my edited fakesmc, you just need to edit the info plist, you can find more info on page 68 of this thread or use the one in this post)

And here are my clover settings (latest clover, macOS 10.12.2 beta, Sapphire Nitro RX480 8gb, ivy bridge i5 with hd2500)

View attachment 222417 View attachment 222418
Thank you
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
321
Motherboard
Razer Blade Stealth
CPU
i7-8565U
Graphics
UHD 620, 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I am so happy to wait my Rx 480 on the way, I just want to make it sure work well by editing x4100.kext.

But we still need to connect two cables in IGPU and RX480?

I am using 2 monitor one for HDMI and the other is DVI working very well with R9 390, but need to DVI only in booting and then connect HDMI when I get login. No need IGPU and HDMI to internal GPU.

However I want RX480 for rest of my CUSTOmac.

Is there any step by step instruction for two monitor working for RX480?
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2014
Messages
5
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Nice score! Was your setup easy?
The setup was NOT easy for me. Before, i used a Nvidia GT 660. I didn't do a fresh start with de clover configs, so i needed many attempts to get the system running - kind of - unstable:
<key>FixHDA_8000</key>
<false/>
<key>FixDisplay_0100</key>
<false/>

My 4k Display (iiyama - ProLite X4071UHSU-B1) was the main reason i bought a Asus 480. I wanted to have the 60Hz with high resolutions, but it still doesnt work...

Now i'm using the resolution 3200x1800x32@30Hz (HiDPI). The display driver isn't stable also. Some times i get system freezes. I didn't have this problems with the nvidia card and the webdrivers.

For changing the resolution i must use the app "DisableMonitor", because the macos- system preferences - display stuff doesn't work! macos also doesn't remember the display settings.

My hackintosh doesn't support the turbo boost of my core i5-3570K.

I general, macos doesn't look as crisp/sharp as Windows 10. Not the best for the eyes ...
Perhaps the problem is a combination of truetype fonts and scaling (HiDPI).
I also have a MacBook Pro Mid2012 (nonRetina), where the macos desktop isn't also as sharp as Windows.
Macos only looks with retina displays sharp/crisp.

Perhaps i change to linux. Xubuntu (with Plank installed) look like macos...

I'm a little bit frustrated, sorry...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 16, 2014
Messages
5
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Guys I'm desperate. All I tried, but my ASUS ROG Strix RX 480 not start.
At the moment:
1) The BIOS chose IGPU first
2) I am forced to work HD2000 video
3) Using a modified FakeSMC.kext the user "nightfall".
4) So I modified the AMDRadeonKs4100.kext.
5) The clover pointing FakeID 67EF1002, injected IGPU and ATI.
As a result, when loading at the start RH480 start spinning fans on and off the monitor.
Some points from my installation:
BIOS: IGPU first
I'm using clover 3944
Multibeast: install IMac 14,2 system definitions and FakeSMC.kext driver
config.plist changes:
<key>FixHDA_8000</key>
<false/>
<key>FixDisplay_0100</key>
<false/>
AMDRadeonX4100.kext modification:
<key>IOPCIMatch</key>
<string>0x67DF1002 0x67E01002 0x67FF1002 0x67EF1002</string>
repair rights...

Hope it helps !
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
5,361
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
Some points from my installation:
BIOS: IGPU first
I'm using clover 3944
Multibeast: install IMac 14,2 system definitions and FakeSMC.kext driver
config.plist changes:
<key>FixHDA_8000</key>
<false/>
<key>FixDisplay_0100</key>
<false/>
AMDRadeonX4100.kext modification:
<key>IOPCIMatch</key>
<string>0x67DF1002 0x67E01002 0x67FF1002 0x67EF1002</string>
repair rights...


Hope it helps !
Did you add 0x67DF1002, instead of using 67EO1002 and changing the EO to DF? There should only be 3 system IDs in the kext. If you have four in there it could be throwing things off.

I had a 4K 43" Vizio monitor working well in 4K, it was advertised as 60hz but in 4K I could only get 30hz, if I set it to 1080p it was 60 hz. It functioned very well and the detail was incredible at 4K.

I am so happy to wait my Rx 480 on the way, I just want to make it sure work well by editing x4100.kext.

But we still need to connect two cables in IGPU and RX480?

I am using 2 monitor one for HDMI and the other is DVI working very well with R9 390, but need to DVI only in booting and then connect HDMI when I get login. No need IGPU and HDMI to internal GPU.

However I want RX480 for rest of my CUSTOmac.

Is there any step by step instruction for two monitor working for RX480?
Just keep one connected to igpu for boot up, and one for RX card and everything should work. I would recommend the dvi connected to igpu, and HDMI to RX card.

Once you're in sierra you can use "System Preferences" and select displays. It should show two monitors and one will have a white bar on top. If all your icons are on the igpu display and the RX display only shows sierra landscape then you can click on the white bar of the support display and drag it over the other display (RX), you should see a red ring around the RX screen. Let go and all the logos should be in the RX screen and the igpu screen will be the landscape with no icons.

You can also use mirror displays which wil give you icons and functionality on both screens at the same time. For maximum benchmark performance I have found that it's best to have one dedicated screen and one landscape screen (igpu) when using dual screens. The best performance is obtained when using only one monitor connected to RX card and booting blindly with black screen until password. You need to have all your clover settings ready and have auto boot working, but it gets the maximum performance and display settings only show one screen option.

Some of the drawbacks with the multi screen set up are slight loss of performance for RX card, and losing your mouse on the other screen. If you can't find your mouse keep scrolling to the right, if it doesn't show up scroll left until it appears. Sometimes they can be arranged top to bottom and you scroll up or down. If you select mirror displays the mouse will appear on both screens and won't get lost, but performance is a bit lower.

The performance loss with multimonitors is not huge, so if you're not concerned with max performance for gaming or running graphics or video rendering apps you won't notice it at all.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Messages
12
Motherboard
Asrock Z68 Extreame4
CPU
i7 2600
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Thanks to everyone for the tips! I got to have my ASUS ROG RX480. But now if I unplug the monitor from IGPU HD2000, I do not see the download BIOS now to choose between loading Windows, Linux and Mac do I need to connect the monitor to IGPU or have the opportunity to do differently?

PS: I have it working after I dropped BIOS.
 
Last edited:

Fl0r!an

Moderator
Joined
Jul 6, 2010
Messages
2,714
Motherboard
Asus Z170M-Plus
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
R9 280
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks to everyone for the tips! I got to have my ASUS ROG RX480. But now if I unplug the monitor from IGPU HD2000, I do not see the download BIOS now to choose between loading Windows, Linux and Mac do I need to connect the monitor to IGPU or have the opportunity to do differently?
As a workaround, you could configure Clover to auto-boot OS X and use the system pref pane in OS X to boot into Windows/Linux.

But in general, this drawback is the main reason why we don't recommend any AMD setups.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top