Kernel Panic on Startup - Yosemite Install

Discussion in 'Yosemite Desktop Support' started by TonyTech86, Oct 18, 2014.

  1. TonyTech86

    TonyTech86

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-4440
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 SC 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Oct 18, 2014 at 12:04 AM #1
    TonyTech86

    TonyTech86

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-4440
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 SC 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Whenever I try booting from my Unibeast USB to the 10.10 Yosemite installer, I get this kernel panic. I tried removing the kext dev mode, but I still got the kextd and deadbeef error. Apparently, it only successfully boots to the install screen if I boot with verbose (-v). I am trying to install Yosemite on my June 2014 Computer Build. Please help!
    image1.jpg
    Also, I would like to know if the serial number will change or be removed after installing Yosemite. If yes, will it count to the limit of changes?
     
  2. edeag3

    edeag3

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Still unnamed
    CPU:
    4670K @ only 4.0 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 770 Windforce
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 18, 2014 at 1:40 AM #2
    edeag3

    edeag3

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    Still unnamed
    CPU:
    4670K @ only 4.0 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 770 Windforce
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I had this and it went away when I took out my GTX 770 and used the HD4000 graphics on the motherboard. Another tip may be to use only 1 stick of ram but try removing the graphics card first (you have to remove it from the PCI slot.)
     
  3. pizzaguy

    pizzaguy

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-OC, 32 GB
    CPU:
    i7-4790k
    Graphics:
    GTX 650 Ti Boost
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Oct 18, 2014 at 1:56 AM #3
    pizzaguy

    pizzaguy

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-OC, 32 GB
    CPU:
    i7-4790k
    Graphics:
    GTX 650 Ti Boost
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    I now have the exact same problem, and almost all the numbers of my panic match yours as well. I have made at least a dozen Yosemite installs using Clover but this is the first using Chimera. No deadbeef problems in the past, ever. No video card, just running stock 4600 off the chip.

    Z87X-OC, 4790K stock, 32gb
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screen Shot 2014-10-17 at 5.47.41 PM.jpg  (375.5 KB, 1,900 views)
  4. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    13,117
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX560 OC 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 18, 2014 at 2:02 AM #4
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    13,117
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX560 OC 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Reduce to just one stick of RAM for the install.

    Add maxmem=4096 to your boot flags.


    Good Luck
     
  5. MyNewRig

    MyNewRig

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Mobo:
    Z87X-UD3H
    CPU:
    i5 4670K
    Graphics:
    GTX 780 ti
    Oct 18, 2014 at 2:04 AM #5
    MyNewRig

    MyNewRig

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Mobo:
    Z87X-UD3H
    CPU:
    i5 4670K
    Graphics:
    GTX 780 ti
    for me i can "sometimes" avoid this and complete the installation if i use boot flags GraphicsEnabler=No maxmem=4096

    This works instead of physically removing one stick of RAM, but still after i complete the installation system always freezes when i boot normally, i am not sure if it is RAM related or IGPU injection related .. i am suspecting the second ...


    you can also try

    GraphicsEnabler=No -x maxmem=4096

    The above line will sure make it work past installation (i think)

    But the question is, can you get your system to "not freeze" after you complete installation?
     
  6. TonyTech86

    TonyTech86

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-4440
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 SC 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Oct 18, 2014 at 2:55 AM #6
    TonyTech86

    TonyTech86

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-4440
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 SC 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    What if I switch to using Clover? Maybe that will solve the following:
    - Deadbeef KP (The main purpose of this thread)
    - iMessage and FaceTime not working since August
    - Random Freezes
     
  7. TonyTech86

    TonyTech86

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-4440
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 SC 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Oct 18, 2014 at 4:36 PM #7
    TonyTech86

    TonyTech86

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-4440
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 SC 2GB
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    I think I solved the problem. I forgot to turn "Secure Boot" off. When I turned it off, it started up to the installer. I will not be installing Yosemite today but I feel better knowing that Yosemite will work on my Hackintosh.
     
  8. fraans97

    fraans97

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4770K
    Graphics:
    Gtx Geforce gigabyte windforce 780 x 2
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 22, 2014 at 3:38 PM #8
    fraans97

    fraans97

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4770K
    Graphics:
    Gtx Geforce gigabyte windforce 780 x 2
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hello !
    I'm have bump into the same problem as TonyTech86

    System:
    GA-Z87X-D3H
    Intel Core i7 4770K
    Dual 780's in SLI but i know i need to just use on card during installation to reach the boot screen
    2 x 8 GB Kingston HyperX memory, but i got a kit with 2 x 4 gb corsair memory

    And i guess i can get yosemite to install if i do the right stuff !

    Please let me know if some of you guys have got it to work with the method, MyNewRig commented !
     
  9. luky1953

    luky1953

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Win 8.1
    CPU:
    Intel
    Graphics:
    NVidia Gforce 310
    Oct 22, 2014 at 4:11 PM #9
    luky1953

    luky1953

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Win 8.1
    CPU:
    Intel
    Graphics:
    NVidia Gforce 310
    I got the same error as you and I have been dealing with it for 3 days, but I can not find a solution.

    I also removed the ram from the PC to the rest only 4 GB and boot-args: maxmem = 4096, but the same error occurs. Deprivation of memory is not the solution.

    Maybe someone will be able to find a solution and ask how to write is saved. :?:
     
  10. fraans97

    fraans97

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4770K
    Graphics:
    Gtx Geforce gigabyte windforce 780 x 2
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 23, 2014 at 9:40 AM #10
    fraans97

    fraans97

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4770K
    Graphics:
    Gtx Geforce gigabyte windforce 780 x 2
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hello Luky1953, I solved this problem yesterday by booting with this text GraphicsEnabler=No -x maxmem=4096
    I guess it working with the GA-Z87x-D3H, the only thing i needed to do was to remove my other graphics card, and i came to the boot screen.

    Write here again if problem still remains !
     

Share This Page