Contribute
Register

Intel NUC 10 Frost Canyon

Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Messages
2
Motherboard
Intel NUC10i7FNB
CPU
i7 10710U
Graphics
UHD630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
hi,
if it can be useful this is my last efi
.... sorry for my english....

Hello, I am a newbie, I am using the EFI file you provided, It’s working fine.

But there is a problem, I am using Docker, when I was pulling some images, it always end with ‘checksum fails’ .I found the issue on Github(https://github.com/docker/for-mac/issues/4654), someone solved the problem by deleting the contents of the Cpuid1Data and Cpuid1Mask values.
But when I try to delete the two data, the system boot failed, Can you give me some ideas? Thank you very much!
 
Joined
May 30, 2020
Messages
80
Motherboard
Intel NUC10i7FNB
CPU
i7-10710U
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hello, I am a newbie, I am using the EFI file you provided, It’s working fine.

But there is a problem, I am using Docker, when I was pulling some images, it always end with ‘checksum fails’ .I found the issue on Github(https://github.com/docker/for-mac/issues/4654), someone solved the problem by deleting the contents of the Cpuid1Data and Cpuid1Mask values.
But when I try to delete the two data, the system boot failed, Can you give me some ideas? Thank you very much!
Try this https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/intel-nuc-10-frost-canyon.289485/post-2153839
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2020
Messages
23
Motherboard
NUC10
CPU
Intel Core i7-10710U
Graphics
integrated
Hello,
I'm totally new here and first I would like to thank you all for your work, it's incredible. I've got my NUC10i7 just this morning and here I am, running Catalina on it (even though I'm currently typing on an older OSX VM).

Like many I guess, I've got a display attached to the HDMI port of my NUC, and here is my problem: the image quality is really subpar. Fonts are ugly, graphics are a bit crude/too sharp. I'm not sure how to describe this but globally looking at the same screen when it's plugged onto my OSX VM (radeon Mac Edition), or my Windows VM (MSI Radeon R9 270x) is great and the quality is really superior to what I see when the NUC uses the display.

Display settings are OK (native resolution, display name/model properly found).

I've tried to "catch it" with a screen capture, but the capture itself looks really good, so I'm not sure where to start looking for a fix :/ (I've tested a high quality HDMI cable, same result)

I've made a photo with my phone: https://www.patpro.net/cafesale/IMG_20200731.jpg

I've used gibMacOS, then UniBeast to create my install USB key, I've used NUC10i7OC5.9.EFI to populate the EFI partition of the key and later the EFI partition of the NUC NVMe.

Any hint?
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
2,088
Motherboard
Asus Rog Strix Z390 Gaming E
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
Hello,
I'm totally new here and first I would like to thank you all for your work, it's incredible. I've got my NUC10i7 just this morning and here I am, running Catalina on it (even though I'm currently typing on an older OSX VM).

Like many I guess, I've got a display attached to the HDMI port of my NUC, and here is my problem: the image quality is really subpar. Fonts are ugly, graphics are a bit crude/too sharp. I'm not sure how to describe this but globally looking at the same screen when it's plugged onto my OSX VM (radeon Mac Edition), or my Windows VM (MSI Radeon R9 270x) is great and the quality is really superior to what I see when the NUC uses the display.

Display settings are OK (native resolution, display name/model properly found).

I've tried to "catch it" with a screen capture, but the capture itself looks really good, so I'm not sure where to start looking for a fix :/ (I've tested a high quality HDMI cable, same result)

I've made a photo with my phone: https://www.patpro.net/cafesale/IMG_20200731.jpg

I've used gibMacOS, then UniBeast to create my install USB key, I've used NUC10i7OC5.9.EFI to populate the EFI partition of the key and later the EFI partition of the NUC NVMe.

Any hint?
Which post did you get the EFI folder from? There are several.
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2020
Messages
23
Motherboard
NUC10
CPU
Intel Core i7-10710U
Graphics
integrated
Which post did you get the EFI folder from? There are several.
Got it from https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...i-nuc7i7bxx-nuc8i7bxx-etc.261711/post-1968320

edit: just tested on another display (2560x1440) and the quality was better. I wonder why on my regular display (1920x1200) the quality is awful :/

2nd edit: I might have found an explanation here -> https://embdev.net/topic/284710
The problem they describe is exactly mine, when I check the settings in the display's OSD every input uses RGB, but when Catalina finishes to boot, it switches the HDMI input in YPbPr instead. If I manually override this setting colors go wild.
Problem is, how can I fix that in macOS? The fix presented in https://embdev.net/topic/284710 works only if you can add something in /System/Library/Displays/Overrides, but /System/Library/Displays/Overrides does not exist and /System/Library/Displays is read only.
I bet with software signature it could break things to mess inside /System/Library/Displays... Any idea?

3rd edit: as expected, adding the overrides files in /System/Library/Displays does not work anymore. In the mean time I've setup the HDMI input of the display to sharpness=0 instead of default 50, the image quality is way better, but not perfect.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 11, 2012
Messages
92
Motherboard
Asus N552VX-FW131T
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
HD 530 + GT 950m, 1920x1080
Hi, on my nuc i5 i cant have a 4k 60hz output on my screen (on windows works fine). Is it common?
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2020
Messages
23
Motherboard
NUC10
CPU
Intel Core i7-10710U
Graphics
integrated
I have a problem with my NUC10i7 running Catalina: I can put in to sleep, and back from sleep, I can shutdown, but I can't restart. When I ask for a reboot, either from Apple menu or from the reboot command in Terminal, the system goes down, but it won't reboot. I have to manually shutdown and start the NUC to have macOS boot again.
Any idea?
 
Top