How to Update Your Gigabyte Motherboard's BIOS

Discussion in 'BIOS/UEFI' started by Stork, Apr 21, 2014.

  1. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,946
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 4, 2014 at 2:32 AM #11
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,946
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Welcome to the tonymacx86 Forum.

    Some BIOS are still only available as an .exe file which you must unpack with a "smart" unzip program. This is why we put together this tutorial.
     
  2. wstrohm

    wstrohm

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    306
    Mobo:
    GA-H170N-WIFI, Noctua NH-L9i Cooler, Kingston 16 GB DDR4, Samsung 850 EVO SSDs
    CPU:
    Intel core i7-6700
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte nVidia GTX 1050 Ti OC (low Profile), LG 24" Gaming Monitor
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Sep 13, 2014 at 6:28 PM #12
    wstrohm

    wstrohm

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    306
    Mobo:
    GA-H170N-WIFI, Noctua NH-L9i Cooler, Kingston 16 GB DDR4, Samsung 850 EVO SSDs
    CPU:
    Intel core i7-6700
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte nVidia GTX 1050 Ti OC (low Profile), LG 24" Gaming Monitor
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Successful BIOS Firmware Update

    Agreed the "Q-Flash" procedure is easier than described, since the download already has the firmware update file expanded; no need to use Stuffit. I just put the "auto exec.bat" and the F8 firmware file on an FAT32 USB flash drive, plugged it into a USB port, restarted with "F12" held down, navigated to "Enter Setup" in my F4 BIOS, clicked on "Q Flash," selected "from drive," chose the USB drive and the F8 file, and everything went smoothly. Took about 30 seconds. Restarted and entered "Setup," confirmed BIOS was now F8, and went through selecting my choices, then did "Save & Exit."

    After the firmware update, I ran Geekbench 3, which returned about the same benchmark results I had seen on the F4 BIOS version (3973 single-core, 15793 multicore); then ran Heaven on the IGFX graphics, and saw a very slight loss, from 12.3 FPS to 12.2 fps. So I don't really see any change to speak of, but something might be hidden in there. :cool:

    GA-H87N-WIFI, Intel Core i7 4770K, Extreme Memory Profile 1, Samsung 840 EVO 250 GB SSD, no PCI-e card installed.

    [Edit: Oops, sorry Stork, didn't see your reply above.]
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2014
  3. ohdediku

    ohdediku

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte H97N-WIFI rev1.0
    CPU:
    Core i5 4460
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Feb 24, 2015 at 8:19 AM #13
    ohdediku

    ohdediku

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte H97N-WIFI rev1.0
    CPU:
    Core i5 4460
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Follow this step-by-step video to simple instructions! bravo hackintosh :)

    [video=youtube;7YR-DdWIZzM]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7YR-DdWIZzM[/video]​
     
  4. grjbb

    grjbb

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    GA Z87 HD3
    CPU:
    I7 4770k
    Graphics:
    HD 4600
    May 23, 2015 at 5:57 PM #14
    grjbb

    grjbb

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Mobo:
    GA Z87 HD3
    CPU:
    I7 4770k
    Graphics:
    HD 4600
    Never updated a BIOS and to be honest everything is working fine, not sure if its worth risking.

    If I choose to update on my windows partition via @BIOS update app, will all my bios settings be reset too? my mem speeds etc?
     
  5. Anachronaut

    Anachronaut

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 22, 2015 at 9:22 PM #15
    Anachronaut

    Anachronaut

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Thanks for this! I used Option 1: Q-Flash to update my Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3 v1.3 from U1b to U1c without a hitch. Very easy, and a lot less worrying as with some other methods.
     
  6. amagyar

    amagyar

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte HN97N
    CPU:
    I7 479K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Geforce GTX 750 TI
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Feb 24, 2016 at 3:34 AM #16
    amagyar

    amagyar

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte HN97N
    CPU:
    I7 479K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Geforce GTX 750 TI
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Using your method, formatted the usb, copied the 3 files.. q-flash ready, I pointed to H97NWIFI.F8
    and I got a "Bios ID Error" message.. What is wrong?

    Oh, Nevermind :)
    I just realized I didn't order the wifi H97N, so i downloaded a wrong bios. I am lucky i didn't brick it lol.
    I got the F5 , and it is done...
     
  7. slp31

    slp31

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    i7 2700k
    May 1, 2016 at 6:59 PM #17
    slp31

    slp31

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    i7 2700k
    Update: Finally got UnArchiver to work.

    I have the exe file downloaded, but UnrarX tells me that there are no files to extract. I've tried downloading Stuffit, but my OSX needs to be updated in order to use it. **Banging my head against the wall**
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2016
  8. slp31

    slp31

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    i7 2700k
    May 1, 2016 at 7:13 PM #18
    slp31

    slp31

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    i7 2700k
    Update: Found the file and receive the error, "BIOS ID Error"

    I'm following Option 1, but it is a little difficult to follow without the images loading.

    I've formatted my drive in Fat32, I'd unzipped the files and copied them to my drive, entered Qflash and it says that there are no files on the drive.

    Files are listed as: autoexec.bat, Z68XUD3H.U1I, and FLASHEFI.EXE

    Do I need to do Option 3 instead?
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2016
  9. mzmuda33

    mzmuda33

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 7, 2016 at 10:55 PM #19
    mzmuda33

    mzmuda33

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I recently purchased GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-Z170N-Gaming 5 revision 1.0.
    It came with F5 bios version which is odd since F4 is the latest option available to download. I want to flash to F4 to hopefully get rid of the clover boot entry issue (nothing else seems to work).

    Problem is none of the .exe files can be extracted by OSX tools suggested. They all say it's not an archive. I've downloaded various versions and sources and same deal. Has anyone been able to get latest gigabyte bios extracted?
     
  10. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,946
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 7, 2016 at 11:02 PM #20
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,946
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    If it came with the F5 BIOS, then you have the latest. You must have looked at the wrong Gigabyte motherboard web page. Go with the F5.

    So, Post #1's Method 1 didn't work for you?
     

Share This Page