Contribute
Register

How to Prepare for Big Sur

Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
18
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
Core i7-6700k
Graphics
Radeon RX 590 8 GB
Hello, I have atempted up update from system definition 14.1 to 17.1. I used the guide in the OP and then pasted my old Serial number , Board serial number and System UUID into the Clover configurator Sbios page. Iam signed out of the apple ID. When I restart I still have iMac 27inch Late 2013 in my about this mac window. The rest of the infomation seems correct. How do I fix this ?
I now have the option to update to Big Sur in Software update.
Thank you
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
2,770
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello, I have atempted up update from system definition 14.1 to 17.1. I used the guide in the OP and then pasted my old Serial number , Board serial number and System UUID into the Clover configurator Sbios page. Iam signed out of the apple ID. When I restart I still have iMac 27inch Late 2013 in my about this mac window. The rest of the infomation seems correct. How do I fix this ?
I now have the option to update to Big Sur in Software update.
Thank you
Reboot clear your NVRAM and see if that fixes it!
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
2,770
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@scottkendall, thank you for your help.
In the end I changed to Opencore 0.6.3 and made a new iMac 17.1 serial.etc.
I was then able to install Big Sur.
Im impressed with OpenCore so far.
Oh my mistake I just assumed you were using OC already. OC is really the way to go for Big Sur, since clover actually just uses OC to boot the OS.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2020
Messages
1
Motherboard
Gigabyte H61M-S2P-B3
CPU
Intel® Core™ i5-2500K
Graphics
AMD Radeon RX 560
Hi everyone I got this error what can I do ? My motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-S2P-B3 CPU CORE-İ5-2500K SSD Samsung 850 evo 240 gb bios legacy
 

Attachments

  • 20201117_002106.jpg
    20201117_002106.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 102
Joined
Oct 1, 2012
Messages
137
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270XP-SLI-F9d
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I had been using Clover since probably High Sierra and just recently switched to OpenCore 0.6.3 for Big Sur. I'm telling you, OpenCore is the way to go! I have one of the older Z270 motherboards and everything just works with OC/Big Sur (sleep, wake, sound, etc.) with the help of Lilu, AppleALC, WhateverGreen, IntelMausi, and VirtualSMC of course. I have never had any macOS installation that went this smoothly.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2019
Messages
17
Motherboard
ga-z270x-ud5
CPU
i3-7350k
Graphics
rx570
I had been using Clover since probably High Sierra and just recently switched to OpenCore 0.6.3 for Big Sur. I'm telling you, OpenCore is the way to go! I have one of the older Z270 motherboards and everything just works with OC/Big Sur (sleep, wake, sound, etc.) with the help of Lilu, AppleALC, WhateverGreen, IntelMausi, and VirtualSMC of course. I have never had any macOS installation that went this smoothly.
Can you send me a copy of your EFI folder for the Z270 board. I've been trying to get my OC config.plist to work with my GA-Z270x-UD5 board
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2017
Messages
30
Motherboard
GA-Z270X-Ultra Gaming
CPU
i7-7700k
Graphics
RX580
I looked at my config.plist in Clover Configurator and saw that the SmUUID field was actually blank. But I have iMessage, handoff, dam, etc., all working fine....

Looking in the System Report, I do see a Hardware UUID value. Is this the same as SmUUID? It does have the same format aaaaaaaa-bbbb-cccc-dddd-eeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

BTW: I do have a CustomUUID, and it *does not* match the Hardware UUID reported by the system. And if I ask Clover Configurator to "get it from system" it returns the Hardware UUID reported by the System Report. It is a wonder that iMessage ever worked.

Thanks
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 9, 2011
Messages
213
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon Pulse RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Reboot clear your NVRAM and see if that fixes it!
Having the same issues, with some exceptions. Changed system ID to 17,1 and ported my serials etc., tried deleting the NVRAM in my Clover EFI folder and I still see iMac 14,2 indicated in "About This Mac". That said, selecting System Report does show 17,1 indicated. Any idea how to get the "About This Mac" splash screen to correctly show what shows up in the System Report?
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
2,770
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
CPU
I9 9900k
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Having the same issues, with some exceptions. Changed system ID to 17,1 and ported my serials etc., tried deleting the NVRAM in my Clover EFI folder and I still see iMac 14,2 indicated in "About This Mac". That said, selecting System Report does show 17,1 indicated. Any idea how to get the "About This Mac" splash screen to correctly show what shows up in the System Report?
Someone else posted about this issue only I think there problem was reversed. In their case they had an old board ID for 14,1, with a 17,1 serial. In your case it sounds like you are using a 14,1 serial I would guess that to fix about Mac you would need to update to a 17,1 serial. However, as far as I understand it the stuff listed in about Mac is cosmetic.
 
Top