Contribute
Register

[Guide] Intel NUC7/NUC8 using Clover UEFI (NUC7i7Bxx,NUC8i7Bxx,etc)

Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
1,176
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
It's a PCIe slot. It will link whatever you put to the OS it's fed to. They didn't link 5700XT, but we all know it is perfectly compatible with Catalina OOB. Their compatibility list leaves a lot to desire. 480 and 580 are exactly the same chip.
There is a link in his post to the Github page.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2011
Messages
174
Motherboard
Asus Z97 WS
CPU
i7 4790K
Graphics
970 GTX
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Classic, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
There is a link in his post to the Github page.
Thank you, I just checked that. I am afraid it goes beyond my skill to compile it. Isn't there an already compiled version? Is that for MacOS?

Sorry for the Noob Lazer Beams, that's not something I've even ever tried before.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
1,176
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
Thank you, I just checked that. I am afraid it goes beyond my skill to compile it. Isn't there an already compiled version? Is that for MacOS?

Sorry for the Noob Lazer Beams, that's not something I've even ever tried before.
The Firmware is written it just needs to be flashed and that’s what I’m also having difficulties with. Ive tried through OS X, Linux and Windows but one or another command line or program is missing. Something dumb I'm missing.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 26, 2011
Messages
174
Motherboard
Asus Z97 WS
CPU
i7 4790K
Graphics
970 GTX
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Classic, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I

The Firmware is written it just needs to be flashed and that’s what I’m also having difficulties with. Ive tried through OS OS X, Linux and Windows but one or another command line or program is missing. Something dumb I'm missing.
Hopefully somneone will shed some light on this. :(
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2020
Messages
4
Motherboard
NUC
CPU
i5
Graphics
iGPU
I got a question about the Front Audio Jack, is it possible to get a good audio output here?

I got most things working thanks to Leesureone's EFI folder, but the Front Audio Jack behaves weird. If i plug in some headphones there is a garbled mess coming out, and if i go into the Audio Midi Setup and put either Master Stream #1 or #2 down to zero, i get some ok sounding Audio, although mono and it's still sounding kinda off.

Anybody got this working? Sound via HDMI works great, but i wanted to connect my Gaming PC's audio out and the NUC's audio out together to my 2.1 speakers with a mixing table like this one .

Else i would need to split the audio signal off from the HDMI signal with a active converter and feed it to the speakers somehow.

How are you all connecting the NUC to a speaker system?

edit: i saw this from the second post here

If you have issues with crackling sound from the headphone jack several users have reported success installing all kexts, with the exception of FakeSMC.kext, to the Library/Extensions folder. Audio over HDMI and the headphone jack both should work. (You can probably install all of kexts there, including FakeSMC.kext, if you prefer).

Does this still hold up?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
1,176
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
I got a question about the Front Audio Jack, is it possible to get a good audio output here?

I got most things working thanks to Leesureone's EFI folder, but the Front Audio Jack behaves weird. If i plug in some headphones there is a garbled mess coming out, and if i go into the Audio Midi Setup and put either Master Stream #1 or #2 down to zero, i get some ok sounding Audio, although mono and it's still sounding kinda off.

Anybody got this working? Sound via HDMI works great, but i wanted to connect my Gaming PC's audio out and the NUC's audio out together to my 2.1 speakers with a mixing table like this one .

Else i would need to split the audio signal off from the HDMI signal with a active converter and feed it to the speakers somehow.

How are you all connecting the NUC to a speaker system?

edit: i saw this from the second post here

If you have issues with crackling sound from the headphone jack several users have reported success installing all kexts, with the exception of FakeSMC.kext, to the Library/Extensions folder. Audio over HDMI and the headphone jack both should work. (You can probably install all of kexts there, including FakeSMC.kext, if you prefer).

Does this still hold up?
It's worked for some of the people who had that problem.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2020
Messages
4
Motherboard
NUC
CPU
i5
Graphics
iGPU
It's worked for some of the people who had that problem.
I could not get it working, so i'm trying a HDMI then.

I bought a HDMI to HDMI+Optical Audio switchbox and a manual Toslink switch box, and i'm getting audio out this way for both PCs, albeit separate.

Do you get a 2.1 or 5.1 Sound out of your HDMI connection via your Audio kext?

I can seem to get only the left and right channel out on the NUC via HDMI, the Sub does barely anything. Audio Midi Setup shows only two channels as well.

Is there a way to configure it to 5.1 or 2.1 audio?
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
1,176
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
I could not get it working, so i'm trying a HDMI then.

I bought a HDMI to HDMI+Optical Audio switchbox and a manual Toslink switch box, and i'm getting audio out this way for both PCs, albeit separate.

Do you get a 2.1 or 5.1 Sound out of your HDMI connection via your Audio kext?

I can seem to get only the left and right channel out on the NUC via HDMI, the Sub does barely anything. Audio Midi Setup shows only two channels as well.

Is there a way to configure it to 5.1 or 2.1 audio?
I output to my Denon Receiver and it shows output at 8 CH 24 bit. In the Utilities Audio Midi Setup app are you able to make adjustments? There are also OOB USB sound devices that can be had for cheap if you can't get this going another way.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2020
Messages
4
Motherboard
NUC
CPU
i5
Graphics
iGPU
I output to my Denon Receiver and it shows output at 8 CH 24 bit. In the Utilities Audio Midi Setup app are you able to make adjustments? There are also OOB USB sound devices that can be had for cheap if you can't get this going another way.
I use 8 CH 24 bit as well and tried all options there, but Audio Midi Setup only ever shows 2 channels. For a real mac i think it shows 5 channels there.

I just tried the newest version of VoodooHDA but it seems it f'd up the Audio on this install for good and i can't get any audio device detected at all even after uninstalling and cache rebuilding.

I may need to install osx again, grumble...

Can you set more then 2 speakers in Audio Midi setup? If not, you are limited by stereo as well, and the Denon just oomps a bit at the lower frequency spectrum of the stereo output.

It sounds really different for when i play the same music on the gaming pc and the macNUC, the bass is probably 4 times bigger on the PC side.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
1,176
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android
I use 8 CH 24 bit as well and tried all options there, but Audio Midi Setup only ever shows 2 channels. For a real mac i think it shows 5 channels there.

I just tried the newest version of VoodooHDA but it seems it f'd up the Audio on this install for good and i can't get any audio device detected at all even after uninstalling and cache rebuilding.

I may need to install osx again, grumble...

Can you set more then 2 speakers in Audio Midi setup? If not, you are limited by stereo as well, and the Denon just oomps a bit at the lower frequency spectrum of the stereo output.

It sounds really different for when i play the same music on the gaming pc and the macNUC, the bass is probably 4 times bigger on the PC side.
My NUC that is connected to the receiver is configurable with multiple channels and speaker set ups, my MacBook Air only shows two channels so I'm not sure 5.1 is available unless you have an output device that supports more than stereo.

Audio Midi Setup Screen.png
 
Top