Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem)

Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
19
Motherboard
H370M-ITX/AC
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Your DP Bus ID is wrong. It has to be 0x05!
I tried to put 0x05 but I don't give me any signs of life, instead with 0x04 it is working, but it's still bad views with more green and violet

my uefi version is h370-itx/ac p3.00
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
19
Motherboard
H370M-ITX/AC
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
In Post #168 and #170, the owner confirmed that all three ports (DP, HDMI, HDMI) are okay. So I'm not sure why BusID 0x05 does not enable DP for you -- maybe you have a different BIOS revision?

Anyway, here are some suggestions for the green-tint problem:
  • Does green tint occur when you use ONLY the DP port (disconnect both HDMI cables)?
  • Are you sure that BusID 0x05 does not work? Can you try it once more?
  • Have you tried BusID 0x06 for DP? Does it work? Is there a green tint?
The problem with the violet/green shield only presents if there are one or both of the doors hdmi attacked, if they are unplugged , go perfectly the dp on 0x04, I tried 0x06 but it is not working :/ I saw that trying to unplug hdmi, and then reconnected it, the dp regularly works, it's a little mechanical, but better than nothing, thanks!

so my configure for h370 ac ver p3 is :
dp 0x04
hdmi1 0x01
hdm2 0x02

@aeromatic
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,817
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The problem with the violet/green shield only presents if there are one or both of the doors hdmi attacked, if they are unplugged , go perfectly the dp on 0x04, I tried 0x06 but it is not working :/ I saw that trying to unplug hdmi, and then reconnected it, the dp regularly works, it's a little mechanical, but better than nothing, thanks!

so my configure for h370 ac ver p3 is :
dp 0x04
hdmi1 0x01
hdm2 0x02

@aeromatic
Do you have "-disablegfxfirmware" added to your Boot Arguments? At this point I'm really not sure what's causing the tint to appear when one or both HDMI ports are attached, but it's probably a good idea to include all reasonable precautions.

So I would suggest adding:
  • -disablegfxfirmware.
  • Increase VRAM to 2048MB. Hackintool can generate the Framebuffer patch for this. I believe you need the lines shown below.
XML:
                <key>framebuffer-fbmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-stolenmem</key>
                <data>
                AACQAw==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-unifiedmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAAgA==
                </data>
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2015
Messages
19
Motherboard
HP 290 G2 Microtower - H370
CPU
i5-8500
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  • See that little "x" to the right of the search bar? After entering "IGPU" in the search field, you must click that "x". Then the device tree on the left side will expand and show you the child nodes under IGPU. One of them should be AppleIntelFramebuffer if the IGPU is properly configured.
  • Also, you should not be using Platform ID 0x5912000, but instead, 0x3E9B0007.
  • Which SMBIOS name are you using? iMac18,3? Macmini8,1? ...?
View attachment 392977

I made clean install, but now, when Mojave load, my keyboard and mouse don't respond. I installed only clover uefi and FakeCMS.kext. Same thing happen and when I installed Lilu+WhateverGreen kexts.

UPDATE: I solved previous problem, forgot to install USBInjectAll.kext. Now I will try to configure config.plist file and will be back with results... Thanks for help!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
19
Motherboard
H370M-ITX/AC
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Do you have "-disablegfxfirmware" added to your Boot Arguments? At this point I'm really not sure what's causing the tint to appear when one or both HDMI ports are attached, but it's probably a good idea to include all reasonable precautions.

So I would suggest adding:
  • -disablegfxfirmware.
  • Increase VRAM to 2048MB. Hackintool can generate the Framebuffer patch for this. I believe you need the lines shown below.
XML:
                <key>framebuffer-fbmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-stolenmem</key>
                <data>
                AACQAw==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-unifiedmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAAgA==
                </data>

yes there is -disablegfxfirmware and i push the bottom on hackintool to the option "Vram -> 2048mb" but is the same
I've annexed my config to you, is that right now, can you check if there are some kind of mistake that won't allow optimisation? Anyway, I saw your part of the code, so by modifying it, How should it become ? (I'm afraid of making mistakes)

Actually Without Your modifications my part of code is :

<key>Properties</key>
<dict>
<key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
<dict>
<key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
<data>
BwCbPg==
</data>
<key>device-id</key>
<data>
kj4AAA==
</data>
<key>enable-hdmi20</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con0-busid</key>
<data>
BAAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con0-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con0-pipe</key>
<data>
EgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-busid</key>
<data>
AgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-pipe</key>
<data>
EgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-type</key>
<data>
AAgAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-busid</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-pipe</key>
<data>
EgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-type</key>
<data>
AAgAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-unifiedmem</key>
<data>
AAAAgA==
</data>
</dict>

How is that supposed to be?
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    7.2 KB · Views: 37
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
19
Motherboard
H370M-ITX/AC
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Actually the DP is the only port that works without patches...
Did you copy and paste my config.plist attached in the post #1?
Do you use any adaptor? The resolution and graphics acceleration works? DP, like HDMI are digital ports and usually they fully work or not at all.

The BIOS version, according to my experience, is not correlated to GPU output. Anyway I use the V1.20 because the others gave me sleep/wake issues.
@aeromatic
Could you post your config P list? So that I can control if is the same and what is different,thank you very much again
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
14,817
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
yes there is -disablegfxfirmware and i push the bottom on hackintool to the option "Vram -> 2048mb" but is the same
I've annexed my config to you, is that right now, can you check if there are some kind of mistake that won't allow optimisation? Anyway, I saw your part of the code, so by modifying it, How should it become ? (I'm afraid of making mistakes)

Actually Without Your modifications my part of code is :

<key>Properties</key>
<dict>
<key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
<dict>
<key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
<data>
BwCbPg==
</data>
<key>device-id</key>
<data>
kj4AAA==
</data>
<key>enable-hdmi20</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con0-busid</key>
<data>
BAAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con0-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con0-pipe</key>
<data>
EgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-busid</key>
<data>
AgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-pipe</key>
<data>
EgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-type</key>
<data>
AAgAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-busid</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-pipe</key>
<data>
EgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-type</key>
<data>
AAgAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-unifiedmem</key>
<data>
AAAAgA==
</data>
</dict>

How is that supposed to be?
I've modified your config.plist. VRAM should now be 2048MB.

However, I still think that your DisplayPort BusID should be changed. Have you tried BusID 0x02?

I am still confused why BusID 0x05 does not work. The recommended settings are:

Index 1, BusID 0x05, Type DP
Index 2, BusID 0x02, Type HDMI
Index 3, BusID 0x01, Type HDMI

So for Index 1, you can also try:
  • BusID 0x02
  • BusID 0x06
 

Attachments

  • config.plist
    7.6 KB · Views: 26
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
12
Motherboard
10.8.2
CPU
Intel
Graphics
Nvidia
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have Gigabyte H310M A mobo + i3-8100. Connector patches for Gigabyte H310M in the latest Hakingtool got HDMI port going for me. Thanks! However I am getting artifacts and window tear to the point that it is unusable.

-disablegfxfirmware didn't help.

I am on latests Lilu+Whatevergreen+clover. What am I missing/what could be tweaked?



Patching UHD 630 to use 2048MB seem to fix all artifacts or was it me matching SMBIOS with ig_platform_id (both Macmini8,1) that did the trick?


Does the platform_id for video need to match SMBIOS id or it doesn't matter at all? (I noticed that desktop platfrom_id is from Macmini8.1 and my SMBIOS is from iMac18,2).

Also I have a video card (GT640) and would like to use two monitors. When I boot with IGP set in BIOS I get monitor connected to GT640 after boot and IGP monitor gets a cursor but is stuck on Apple's logo . When I boot with video card set in BIOS I don't get monitor hooked up to IGP on at all (though it is recognized, but no mouse). When I boot without GT640 I am getting artifacts, etc.

Any ideas how to get dual cards to work?

Dual monitors also appears to be working fine with one caveat - login screen, dock, etc shows up on the monitor attached to UHD 630 no matter what I did, so I have IGP first in BIOS and GT640 to drive 2nd monitor as needed.
 
Last edited:

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
21,950
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have Gigabyte H310M A mobo + i3-8100. Connector patches for Gigabyte H310M in the latest Hakingtool got HDMI port going for me. Thanks! However I am getting artifacts and window tear to the point that it is unusable.

-disablegfxfirmware didn't help.

I am on latests Lilu+Whatevergreen+clover. What am I missing/what could be tweaked?

Does the platform_id for video need to match SMBIOS id or it doesn't matter at all? (I noticed that desktop platfrom_id is from Macmini8.1 and my SMBIOS is from iMac18,2).

Also I have a video card (GT640) and would like to use two monitors. When I boot with IGP set in BIOS I get monitor connected to GT640 after boot and IGP monitor gets a cursor but is stuck on Apple's logo . When I boot with video card set in BIOS I don't get monitor hooked up to IGP on at all (though it is recognized, but no mouse). When I boot without GT640 I am getting artifacts, etc.

Any ideas how to get dual cards to work?
please update your hardware profile as per rules

intel and nvidia is a bit vague

10.8.2 is not a motherboard
 
Top