Contribute
Register

[GUIDE] General Framebuffer Patching Guide (HDMI Black Screen Problem)

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
8,877
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision-D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Feb 27, 2015
Messages
163
Motherboard
ASUS Z370 Prime P
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX-580
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Is this for the Asus Z370 Prime P?

If so, please compress and upload your CLOVER folder from the EFI Partition of the Mojave SSD. (I assume you're running Mojave.)
fixed that issue, please help me fix this one

Today at 6:30 PM
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
23
Motherboard
H370M-ITX/AC
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Your DP Bus ID is wrong. It has to be 0x05!
I tried to put 0x05 but I don't give me any signs of life, instead with 0x04 it is working, but it's still bad views with more green and violet

my uefi version is h370-itx/ac p3.00
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
23
Motherboard
H370M-ITX/AC
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
In Post #168 and #170, the owner confirmed that all three ports (DP, HDMI, HDMI) are okay. So I'm not sure why BusID 0x05 does not enable DP for you -- maybe you have a different BIOS revision?

Anyway, here are some suggestions for the green-tint problem:
  • Does green tint occur when you use ONLY the DP port (disconnect both HDMI cables)?
  • Are you sure that BusID 0x05 does not work? Can you try it once more?
  • Have you tried BusID 0x06 for DP? Does it work? Is there a green tint?
The problem with the violet/green shield only presents if there are one or both of the doors hdmi attacked, if they are unplugged , go perfectly the dp on 0x04, I tried 0x06 but it is not working :/ I saw that trying to unplug hdmi, and then reconnected it, the dp regularly works, it's a little mechanical, but better than nothing, thanks!

so my configure for h370 ac ver p3 is :
dp 0x04
hdmi1 0x01
hdm2 0x02

@aeromatic
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
8,877
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision-D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
The problem with the violet/green shield only presents if there are one or both of the doors hdmi attacked, if they are unplugged , go perfectly the dp on 0x04, I tried 0x06 but it is not working :/ I saw that trying to unplug hdmi, and then reconnected it, the dp regularly works, it's a little mechanical, but better than nothing, thanks!

so my configure for h370 ac ver p3 is :
dp 0x04
hdmi1 0x01
hdm2 0x02

@aeromatic
Do you have "-disablegfxfirmware" added to your Boot Arguments? At this point I'm really not sure what's causing the tint to appear when one or both HDMI ports are attached, but it's probably a good idea to include all reasonable precautions.

So I would suggest adding:
  • -disablegfxfirmware.
  • Increase VRAM to 2048MB. Hackintool can generate the Framebuffer patch for this. I believe you need the lines shown below.
XML:
                <key>framebuffer-fbmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-stolenmem</key>
                <data>
                AACQAw==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-unifiedmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAAgA==
                </data>
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2015
Messages
19
Motherboard
HP 290 G2 Microtower - H370
CPU
i5-8500
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
  • See that little "x" to the right of the search bar? After entering "IGPU" in the search field, you must click that "x". Then the device tree on the left side will expand and show you the child nodes under IGPU. One of them should be AppleIntelFramebuffer if the IGPU is properly configured.
  • Also, you should not be using Platform ID 0x5912000, but instead, 0x3E9B0007.
  • Which SMBIOS name are you using? iMac18,3? Macmini8,1? ...?
View attachment 392977
I made clean install, but now, when Mojave load, my keyboard and mouse don't respond. I installed only clover uefi and FakeCMS.kext. Same thing happen and when I installed Lilu+WhateverGreen kexts.

UPDATE: I solved previous problem, forgot to install USBInjectAll.kext. Now I will try to configure config.plist file and will be back with results... Thanks for help!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
23
Motherboard
H370M-ITX/AC
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Do you have "-disablegfxfirmware" added to your Boot Arguments? At this point I'm really not sure what's causing the tint to appear when one or both HDMI ports are attached, but it's probably a good idea to include all reasonable precautions.

So I would suggest adding:
  • -disablegfxfirmware.
  • Increase VRAM to 2048MB. Hackintool can generate the Framebuffer patch for this. I believe you need the lines shown below.
XML:
                <key>framebuffer-fbmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-stolenmem</key>
                <data>
                AACQAw==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-unifiedmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAAgA==
                </data>
yes there is -disablegfxfirmware and i push the bottom on hackintool to the option "Vram -> 2048mb" but is the same
I've annexed my config to you, is that right now, can you check if there are some kind of mistake that won't allow optimisation? Anyway, I saw your part of the code, so by modifying it, How should it become ? (I'm afraid of making mistakes)

Actually Without Your modifications my part of code is :

<key>Properties</key>
<dict>
<key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
<dict>
<key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
<data>
BwCbPg==
</data>
<key>device-id</key>
<data>
kj4AAA==
</data>
<key>enable-hdmi20</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con0-busid</key>
<data>
BAAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con0-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con0-pipe</key>
<data>
EgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-busid</key>
<data>
AgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-pipe</key>
<data>
EgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-type</key>
<data>
AAgAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-busid</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-pipe</key>
<data>
EgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-type</key>
<data>
AAgAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-unifiedmem</key>
<data>
AAAAgA==
</data>
</dict>

How is that supposed to be?
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 24, 2018
Messages
23
Motherboard
H370M-ITX/AC
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Actually the DP is the only port that works without patches...
Did you copy and paste my config.plist attached in the post #1?
Do you use any adaptor? The resolution and graphics acceleration works? DP, like HDMI are digital ports and usually they fully work or not at all.

The BIOS version, according to my experience, is not correlated to GPU output. Anyway I use the V1.20 because the others gave me sleep/wake issues.
@aeromatic
Could you post your config P list? So that I can control if is the same and what is different,thank you very much again
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
8,877
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision-D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
yes there is -disablegfxfirmware and i push the bottom on hackintool to the option "Vram -> 2048mb" but is the same
I've annexed my config to you, is that right now, can you check if there are some kind of mistake that won't allow optimisation? Anyway, I saw your part of the code, so by modifying it, How should it become ? (I'm afraid of making mistakes)

Actually Without Your modifications my part of code is :

<key>Properties</key>
<dict>
<key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
<dict>
<key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
<data>
BwCbPg==
</data>
<key>device-id</key>
<data>
kj4AAA==
</data>
<key>enable-hdmi20</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con0-busid</key>
<data>
BAAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con0-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con0-pipe</key>
<data>
EgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-busid</key>
<data>
AgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-pipe</key>
<data>
EgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con1-type</key>
<data>
AAgAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-busid</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-pipe</key>
<data>
EgAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-con2-type</key>
<data>
AAgAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>framebuffer-unifiedmem</key>
<data>
AAAAgA==
</data>
</dict>

How is that supposed to be?
I've modified your config.plist. VRAM should now be 2048MB.

However, I still think that your DisplayPort BusID should be changed. Have you tried BusID 0x02?

I am still confused why BusID 0x05 does not work. The recommended settings are:

Index 1, BusID 0x05, Type DP
Index 2, BusID 0x02, Type HDMI
Index 3, BusID 0x01, Type HDMI

So for Index 1, you can also try:
  • BusID 0x02
  • BusID 0x06
 

Attachments

Top