Contribute
Register

[Guide] Dell Inspiron 15 7559 (skylake)

Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
55
Motherboard
Inspiron 15 7000 Series 7559
CPU
Core i7-6700HQ
Graphics
Intel HD 530
If you read my post before yours, I cannot get my 7559 to boot after updating Lilu/WG/AppleALC to those versions.

Can you detail the method you used to update those kexts? Are they on your EFI volume in CLOVER or in your L/E folder?

Am I doing it differently than you?

Thanks.
EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
78
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 15 7559 (Clover UEFI)
CPU
i7-6700HQ 2.6Ghz / 0H0CC0 A00
Graphics
Nvidia Geforce 960M 4GB / Intel 530 HD 1920x1080p
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Great tutorial!
But I have a question...my laptop already have El Capitan installed, what I need to do to upgrade?
I Just need to download the update from the store and make the patching?

Thanks!
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2016
Messages
15
Motherboard
Dell Ispiron 15 7559
CPU
I7 6700 HQ
Graphics
530intel/gtx960m (fullhd 1080p)
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
If you read my post before yours, I cannot get my 7559 to boot after updating Lilu/WG/AppleALC to those versions.

Can you detail the method you used to update those kexts? Are they on your EFI volume in CLOVER or in your L/E folder?

Am I doing it differently than you?

Thanks.
The Files must be in EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other. I made a Zip file of my Other folder. You can replace it with your folder.

For fresh install put the files on USB STICK in EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other. I tested it successfully too.

Good Luck
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Aug 13, 2017
Messages
104
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 7559
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
HD 530 (3840 x 2160)
Mobile Phone
iOS
The Files must be in EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other. I made a Zip file of my Other folder. You can replace it with your folder.

For fresh install put the files on USB STICK in EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other. I tested it successfully too.

Good Luck
Thanks I will try. BUT, I am confused because everything I've read (especially from some highly regarded people here) says to ALWAYS install kexts in L/E except for FakeSMC. Now you say those three kexts should be in my EFI folder.

They are currently in L/E and it works fine. That's why I don't get why merely updating them causes my 7559 to crash on boot.
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
12,467
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-Clover
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Thanks I will try. BUT, I am confused because everything I've read (especially from some highly regarded people here) says to ALWAYS install kexts in L/E except for FakeSMC. Now you say those three kexts should be in my EFI folder.

They are currently in L/E and it works fine. That's why I don't get why merely updating them causes my 7559 to crash on boot.
all kexts belong in /L/E including FakeSMC

and also keep a copy of essential kexts in clover/kexts/other

you will find you have some kexts in both places, which is fine

config.plist:
InjectKexts->Detect
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2017
Messages
104
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 7559
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
HD 530 (3840 x 2160)
Mobile Phone
iOS
all kexts belong in /L/E including FakeSMC

and also keep a copy of essential kexts in clover/kexts/other

you will find you have some kexts in both places, which is fine

config.plist:
InjectKexts->Detect
So, basically, I would need to ensure the kexts in L/E that are also in clover/kexts/other are identical versions?

What is the purpose of keeping a copy of essential kexts in clover/kexts/other if they are already in L/E?
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
12,467
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-Clover
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
So, basically, I would need to ensure the kexts in L/E that are also in clover/kexts/other are identical versions?

What is the purpose of keeping a copy of essential kexts in clover/kexts/other if they are already in L/E?
keep only essential kexts in clover to be able to reach Recovery, useful for macOS updates

yes, keep identical versions
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2017
Messages
104
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 7559
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
HD 530 (3840 x 2160)
Mobile Phone
iOS
So with essential (updated) kexts in OTHER folder, still reboots during boot but noticed once that the laptop display turned to a bunch of garbage right before rebooting.

Thinking that there is some video config issue (which does not exist with my current working config), I tried using the Clover Options at boot and enable InjectIntel and I set the ig-platform-id to 0x19120000, and booted the OS. This time, it did not reboot, but the laptop screen stayed black. On a hunch, I plugged in my HDMI external monitor, and there is the login screen! Logged in and everything is fine on the external screen, but laptop screen is black.

So, as suspected, just updating the three kexts is causing some sort of video issue. Keeping in mind I have the 4K screen, how should my "InjectIntel" and graphics clover settings be? I'm guessing 0x19200000 is not quite right and is why only my external monitor is working.
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
12,467
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-Clover
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
So with essential (updated) kexts in OTHER folder, still reboots during boot but noticed once that the laptop display turned to a bunch of garbage right before rebooting.

Thinking that there is some video config issue (which does not exist with my current working config), I tried using the Clover Options at boot and enable InjectIntel and I set the ig-platform-id to 0x19120000, and booted the OS. This time, it did not reboot, but the laptop screen stayed black. On a hunch, I plugged in my HDMI external monitor, and there is the login screen! Logged in and everything is fine on the external screen, but laptop screen is black.

So, as suspected, just updating the three kexts is causing some sort of video issue. Keeping in mind I have the 4K screen, how should my "InjectIntel" and graphics clover settings be? I'm guessing 0x19200000 is not quite right and is why only my external monitor is working.
0x19120000 is for desktops
0x191B0000 is for laptops
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2017
Messages
104
Motherboard
Dell Inspiron 7559
CPU
i7-6700HQ
Graphics
HD 530 (3840 x 2160)
Mobile Phone
iOS
0x19120000 is for desktops
0x191B0000 is for laptops
0x191B0000 was already present, but InjectIntel was not checked on this unit and it's been working great until updating the 3 kexts.

But, I enabled it, and updated kexts and put them both in EFI OTHER and L/E and rebooted successfully! So, the new versions must have changed something that requires me to InjectIntel.

Thank you for your help.

Next problem, though, is when I go to install the macOS update, after the 1st reboot and about 30 seconds, I get the circle with a slash. Retried with -v and saw it stalled on the com.apple.apfs (or something similar), so it seems it's having an issue loading APFS support. Ugh. My desktops have had no such issues when updating the latest macOS so it's puzzling.

I'm getting closer, but it's just been a nuisance getting this 7559 updated.
 
Last edited:
Top