Contribute
Register

[Guide] Aero 15X V8 (High Sierra + Nvidia Graphics, and Mojave)

Joined
Jul 25, 2018
Messages
7
Motherboard
Laptop: Aero 15x-Clover
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD630, GTX 1070
What is your battery life time on the Aero 15x with MacOS?
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Messages
36
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aero 15X V8
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
GTX 1070
Hey, thanks for your guide! I have the new Areo 15 Y9, and I'm having trouble booting into the High Sierra installer I created, using Unibeast then mounting EFI partition and pasting in your EFI folder (I figured other than the GPU and the very small difference in CPU -- 8750H vs 8950HK -- the hardware would be identical). Is there anything you'd recommend removing/disabling that might not translate across laptops? Mine's hanging at "PTIDSensors: started" although it seems to be related to some earlier ACPI errors (sorry for the potato-cam quality lol). Any ideas? What other threads did you use to put together this guide that I might want to check out?
You can try using fakecpuid, not sure if there's an equivalent macbook pro with 8950HK on High Sierra. Also, you could use nullcpupowermanagement.kext (I do suggest using this only during installation)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Messages
36
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aero 15X V8
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
GTX 1070
Hey Zac, are you able to do a BruceX benchmark?
And apologies for the completely stupid question, but is NVIDIA graphics working? As in, works to benefit apps such as fcpx?

Cheers
Yes Nvidia graphics working, I haven't done this benchmark but tested with Cinebench. Performance is really good.
Also, I played a bit of Dota 2 on Steam. Way better compared to Intel only
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Messages
36
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aero 15X V8
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
GTX 1070
Hey zacmks,

I have the Aero 15x 4k, i7-8750H, Nvidia GTX 1070, 512GB Toshiba.

Thanks to your post, I got motivated to try Hackintosh my Aero 15x.

After working on it for two weeks on it, I am pretty happy with it.

Everything works fine: Sleep/Restart/Shutdown, WLAN, BT, Sound, Touchpad, CPU PM.

The only thing I can't get better is my battery runtime. No matter what I try, I can't get it over 4-5h.

First I tried to get everything work. Then I tried optimising my CPU PM. Seems to work pretty good. On Idle I have something around 1.3-1.7W. While browsing or writing this text in Safari I am at 2.1W Package Power.

I also replaced my m2 NVME with a 1TB Crucial SATA SSD I had laying around.

Yesterday I also tried removing all internal SSDs and installed Mojave on external 3.5" HDD with its own power source.

Didn't affect the battery runtime.

Brightness is reduced as well (60-70%). Bluetooth is turned off. Tried also shutting down all programs. Normally I only have iStat Running.

But no matter what I do, don't get over 4-5h. On Windows 10 I had battery runtimes around 8h.

How is your battery runtime and do you have some tips for me?

Attached is my EFI. Running on Mojave 10.14.5.
I am pretty happy with it. I am also in contact with Headkaze, the founder of Hackintool. He has the same laptop as me.

Best,
Chris
I think that I get about the same on battery. It's been some time that I haven't tested the battery.
Have you tested with the Intel only config.plist? The "config-intel.plist" file on the repository.

Because I don't think that Nvidia has a proper optimus implementation for MacOS. The way it's done on Windows vs Mac machines are different. The Nvidia drivers on Mac will not handle the ON/_OFF switch the same way as the Windows drivers.
Thus, maybe if you disable completely the Nvidia graphics you can have more runtime (the mentioned plist does it).
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2019
Messages
3
I updated to Mojave, I still didn't have the iGPU working but it's already much smoother.
So I installed the kexts with hackintool and just replaced the CLOVER folder in EFI with your efi.zip folder, but I removed the AirportBRCM and 2 other Broadcom kexts as I haven't replaced mine (I'm just using PDAnet through my phone to tether it's internet through USB, works pretty good and saves $!).

Anyway, now I'm getting a "kextd stall SMSCBusController" error during verbose boot, before this I get "kext ru.joedm.smcssuperIO cannot unload - module stop returned 0xdc008017".

But thought I removed the fakeSMC and only used the virtualSMC..

I probably have to re-do my installation, but going back to High Sierra anyway, so is 17G2208 the only Coffee Lake compatible version?
I had 17G6030 and I thought that wasn't compatible because I got a "this cpu model is not supported" error.

So to keep it short I have 2 questions; why do I get this "kextd stall SMSCBusController" error and what is the latest Coffee Lake compatible High Sierra version?
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Messages
36
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aero 15X V8
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
GTX 1070
I updated to Mojave, I still didn't have the iGPU working but it's already much smoother.
So I installed the kexts with hackintool and just replaced the CLOVER folder in EFI with your efi.zip folder, but I removed the AirportBRCM and 2 other Broadcom kexts as I haven't replaced mine (I'm just using PDAnet through my phone to tether it's internet through USB, works pretty good and saves $!).

Anyway, now I'm getting a "kextd stall SMSCBusController" error during verbose boot, before this I get "kext ru.joedm.smcssuperIO cannot unload - module stop returned 0xdc008017".

But thought I removed the fakeSMC and only used the virtualSMC..

I probably have to re-do my installation, but going back to High Sierra anyway, so is 17G2208 the only Coffee Lake compatible version?
I had 17G6030 and I thought that wasn't compatible because I got a "this cpu model is not supported" error.

So to keep it short I have 2 questions; why do I get this "kextd stall SMSCBusController" error and what is the latest Coffee Lake compatible High Sierra version?
Now that you said, I don't remember testing with VirtualSMC myself (I changed recently on repo as well). But as far as I recall FakeSMC did work with Mojave.

In regards of your first question, I suggest you to test between FakeSMC and VirtualSMC. And always remember to:
- Use the correct files on drivers64UEFI Clover folder
- Use the correct kexts
- Remove the drivers and kext that belongs to the solution that you are not using


I think 17G6030 is supported, I used it on mine.
Although my current macOS version is 17G7024 (this is the latest High Sierra Coffee Lake version, answering your second question)
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2019
Messages
3
Now that you said, I don't remember testing with VirtualSMC myself (I changed recently on repo as well). But as far as I recall FakeSMC did work with Mojave.

In regards of your first question, I suggest you to test between FakeSMC and VirtualSMC. And always remember to:
- Use the correct files on drivers64UEFI Clover folder
- Use the correct kexts
- Remove the drivers and kext that belongs to the solution that you are not using


I think 17G6030 is supported, I used it on mine.
Although my current macOS version is 17G7024 (this is the latest High Sierra Coffee Lake version, answering your second question)
So i think I'm getting there, but I either get a "found not supported chip" error or "framebuffer failed to load" when I fake a kabylake GPU.

I don't have any AppleIntelCLFGraphic kext anywhere, is this ok? Is this supposed to be the output of the framebuffer patching?
I'm supposing you already did all the patching work.

So I tried a lot of different boot options, but all I can get is 32mb of UHD 630 memory, but I need the full size with Metal support.
Basically, only when I fake a platform ID (Kaby lake or even a non-existing one) it works. Leaving it blank or to 0x3E9B0000 makes it stuck.


Also only FakeSMC works with Mojave for me!


This is how it looks like on High Sierra (I have a quad-boot with Windows 10, Ubuntu, Mojave and High Sierra, dual booting 2 versions of Mac is really easy with apfs!!):

415768
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 3, 2018
Messages
7
Motherboard
GIGABYTE AERO
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
GTX 1070
How did you get the BCM94352Z to work on windows? it freezes for me constantly (on boot).
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2018
Messages
7
Motherboard
GIGABYTE AERO
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
GTX 1070
I copied your CLOVER folder to mine, booted it, but I need to change the SMBIOS to iMac18,2 every time for it to boot? how is that
 
Top