Contribute
Register

Gigabyte Z490 Vision D (Thunderbolt 3) + i5-10400 + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,435
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for responding Casey.

I am using a discrete AMD graphics card for my main display, as you will see in my IO Registry. I also doubled checked my bios on my vision D and it is set to enabled for internal graphics. I am enclosing the IO Register for my vision D for your reviewal. Also I am enclosing screenshots of what you requested for my son's vision G. Please note that I used the open core folders from this thread in order to upgrade to Monterey.......Opencore 076. Nothing was changed or modified in the folder except for the platform info for each build. Hope this info helps you in determining my problem. Again, thanks in advance.

Wayne
On the Vision D:
  • iGPU is enabled properly and is in headless mode as expected.
  • iGPU device properties are also present in IOReg.
  • iGPU will not appear in System Information --> Graphics/Displays. It should, however, appear in System Information --> PCI. If it does not appear there, please try a cold boot.
On the Vision G:
  • I am still trying to understand what the issue is with on-board audio on Vision G. Please try commenting-out the device-id line by changing it to #device-id. Refer to the first screenshot where device-id is set to 709D0000. Placing a hash mark in front of the property name has the effect of deactivating it.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2011
Messages
35
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
On the Vision D:
  • iGPU is enabled properly and is in headless mode as expected.
  • iGPU device properties are also present in IOReg.
  • iGPU will not appear in System Information --> Graphics/Displays. It should, however, appear in System Information --> PCI. If it does not appear there, please try a cold boot.
On the Vision G:
  • I am still trying to understand what the issue is with on-board audio on Vision G. Please try commenting-out the device-id line by changing it to #device-id. Refer to the first screenshot where device-id is set to 709D0000. Placing a hash mark in front of the property name has the effect of deactivating it.

I think maybe adding the layout-id 0B000000 will fix the audio problem. It did for me and others when upgrading to Monterey.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2011
Messages
35
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ - Want to thank you sincerely for all your help getting this machine running, and would like to donate/tip if you have a paypal account or something for that.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2011
Messages
35
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just picked up an ASUS Aquantia AQ107. I guess it's not plug and play, so what do I need to do to get it to show up in Monterey?

EDIT - Nevermind, found the patch and enabled it so the Aquantia is now working. Getting there!

Now I just need to decide if I need to do the Thunderbolt flash. My Apollo x8 is working with the standard firmware, but I haven't tried much else. Wondering what functionality I'll gain with the flash. I am trying to make this replace my 2018 Mac Mini as my main machine, so I am not too concerned about losing TB3 functionality in Windows.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 10, 2020
Messages
113
Motherboard
GigaByte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. Plus
  5. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I think maybe adding the layout-id 0B000000 will fix the audio problem. It did for me and others when upgrading to Monterey.
I did that (adding layout-id 0B000000) and removed alcid=11 from the boot args. That worked I'm sure, but today most of my audio devices disappeared (internal speakers, all airplay devices). I rebooted but they didn't come back. I reset NVRAM and I heard the Apple Sound but once booted they were still not there. Right now I've commented out the audio-id in DeviceProperties and put alcid=11 back in boot args and the audio devices are back once again and audio is working. I've also had audio issues on Windows occasionally. Yesterday I was playing a game in Windows 10 with audio and suddenly the audio quit. Not sure why.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 13, 2015
Messages
32
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
@CaseySJ
On the Vision G:
  • I am still trying to understand what the issue is with on-board audio on Vision G. Please try commenting-out the device-id line by changing it to #device-id. Refer to the first screenshot where device-id is set to 709D0000. Placing a hash mark in front of the property name has the effect of deactivating it.
I can only speak for myself, but the issue was this:

The EFI provided for Vision-G has 2 audio codec id's, one is in the boot args as alcid=11, and the other is in device properties PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1F,0x3) that has the device-id set to 709D0000. Audio does not work on my G with those both in place. If I removed alcid=11 and left device-id set to 709D0000, audio would not work. But if I removed device-id set to 709D0000, and kept alcid=11 in boot args, audio worked.

I read in the dortania guide for the applealc 1220 which states that any alcid=xxx boot argument has highest priority over any other properties for ALC, so IF alcid=11 is in the boot args, it will override anything else used to define the audio codec. My guess is alcid=11 will sometimes work, and sometimes not work with a device property id in place, but it depends on what device property used.

For example, I originally thought that changing the device layout id to 28 fixed audio (which it did), but I DID NOT remove alcid=11 when I did that. When I removed alcid=11 and kept layout id 28, audio didn’t work. My guess is alcid=11 is able to override layout id 28 when both are in place, but alcid=11 has issues overriding device-id set to 709D0000 when both are in place.

I have since removed the boot arg alcid=11, and have put in its place in the device PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1F,0x3) with layout-id 0B000000 with the type set as DATA. that has fixed my audio. this is the exact same thing as removing device id for audio and just using alcid=11, but only do one, don't do both! Dortania says that to set audio id in device properties, and not in boot args, will "create a more permanent solution for closer to how real macs set their Layout ID"

Hope this helps with any confusion here, and if anyone knows better than me please speak up and correct me!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 16, 2011
Messages
107
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 D
CPU
i9 10900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi all

is this now safe to upgrae to bios 20 ? on vision D, with monterey

I need this for BAR (ive got alose an RTX3090, dual maco/windows config)

Thnks
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,435
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I think maybe adding the layout-id 0B000000 will fix the audio problem. It did for me and others when upgrading to Monterey.
Hello @sbushman18,

Because I don't have a Vision G, I'm relying on owners to systemically make one change at a time to determine conclusively which single change makes the difference. There is still some confusion as to the following:
  • Is it sufficient to just disable the fake device-id for on-board audio?
  • Is it really necessary to set layout-id instead of alcid when the latter has and continues to work in all other systems?
@CaseySJ - Want to thank you sincerely for all your help getting this machine running, and would like to donate/tip if you have a paypal account or something for that.
Thank you for the sentiment! You're most welcome to contribute towards the site's operating expenses by clicking the "Contribute" button at the very top left of the webpage, just above the TonyMacx86 logo.

Just picked up an ASUS Aquantia AQ107. I guess it's not plug and play, so what do I need to do to get it to show up in Monterey?

EDIT - Nevermind, found the patch and enabled it so the Aquantia is now working. Getting there!

Now I just need to decide if I need to do the Thunderbolt flash. My Apollo x8 is working with the standard firmware, but I haven't tried much else. Wondering what functionality I'll gain with the flash. I am trying to make this replace my 2018 Mac Mini as my main machine, so I am not too concerned about losing TB3 functionality in Windows.
As tempting as it might be to join the Society of Mad Scientists (a dubious distinction we reserve for those who flash their Thunderbolt firmware), this is not a society to join unless fate and (mis)fortune deem it necessary! :) If your Thunderbolt devices are working, then the best course of action is not to flash. Flashing the on-board controller risks electrical and physical damage. A handful of us have accidentally dislodged a nearby surface mount capacitor. Given the fact that Z490 Vision D replacement boards are going to be very difficult to find, I cannot recommend this course of action.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
19,435
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
... But if I removed device-id set to 709D0000, and kept alcid=11 in boot args, audio worked.

...
Thanks for reporting this. Commenting out device-id=709D0000 seems to do the trick. This property was originally added for Catalina users, I believe, because that version of macOS does not support Comet Lake audio device ID.
 
Top