Contribute
Register

Gigabyte X299X - Catalina Support

Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
235
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X-Designare-10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Radeon Pro WX 7100
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@TheBloke
Question about the DigiCal TS3 Pro.
So I got it today, and first booted with my Sonnet Thunderbolt on TB Port 1, CalDigit on TB Port 2 [No Displayport Connected]
When getting in OC and selecting the Boot Drive, Apple logo shows up and reboot system, with BIOS Error.
Changed the ports so CalDigit on TB Port 1 and Sonnet on TB Port 2, System boots fine.
CalDigit is seen in IOREG and fully connected.

Then system shutdown, plugged the DP from the GPU to DP In of the TB 1 Port and Screen on DigiCal.
Getting image on the screen, when OC and selecting Boot drive, got Apple logo and directly system reboot with BIOS Error and this stays happening.

Is this the so called Boot BUG of the BIOS ?
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
272
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
AMD 6900XT
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
@TheBloke
Question about the DigiCal TS3 Pro.
So I got it today, and first booted with my Sonnet Thunderbolt on TB Port 1, CalDigit on TB Port 2 [No Displayport Connected]
When getting in OC and selecting the Boot Drive, Apple logo shows up and reboot system, with BIOS Error.
Changed the ports so CalDigit on TB Port 1 and Sonnet on TB Port 2, System boots fine.
CalDigit is seen in IOREG and fully connected.

Then system shutdown, plugged the DP from the GPU to DP In of the TB 1 Port and Screen on DigiCal.
Getting image on the screen, when OC and selecting Boot drive, got Apple logo and directly system reboot with BIOS Error and this stays happening.

Is this the so called Boot BUG of the BIOS ?
If the system shuts down 8-10 seconds after you start booting, and when it comes back you get a BIOS error (and if you check the BIOS, you'll see your RAM XMP is not applied, and any overclock settings you might have had are not applied) then that's definitely the BIOS boot bug.

Most likely the reason you are seeing it with some TB configs and not others is that the bug is timing related. If boot happens quicker, you can avoid the bug. So anything that slows down booting - as having an extra TB device connected could do - can trigger it. For example on my system I found the bug always triggered once I added my Intel X520 10GBe NIC; presumably its UEFI drivers slowed down the firmware enough to cause the bug to always trigger.

This can be avoided in one of two ways:

1. Set ConnectDrivers=false in OpenCore config.plist. This avoids the bug, but also prevents the loading of HfsPlus.efi, meaning you can't boot DMGs like the macOS installer. But it won't be an issue for booting an existing installation.

2. Use the patched OC 0.6.7 I uploaded last month - this allows ConnectDrivers=true.

I've applied the patch for OpenCore 0.6.8 and am using it myself, but I haven't uploaded it here yet. I'll try and do that later today.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
235
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X-Designare-10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Radeon Pro WX 7100
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, cool, thanks for the info, yeah, I only did a testing RAM overclock, from 3200 to 3466 and when entering BIOS and safe it, that't what pops-up when saving.

All the drives are APFS formatted. HFS will work when OS is loaded I guess ? Just not in OC if 'ConnectDrivers=false'
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
272
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
AMD 6900XT
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Ok, cool, thanks for the info, yeah, I only did a testing RAM overclock, from 3200 to 3466 and when entering BIOS and safe it, that't what pops-up when saving.

All the drives are APFS formatted. HFS will work when OS is loaded I guess ? Just not in OC if 'ConnectDrivers=false'
Yes, ConnectDrivers=false only affects OpenCore's ability to boot from HFS. Unless you have some ancient macOS install on HFS, in practice the only effect you're likely to notice is that you can't boot the macOS Installer, which is HFS. But once the OS is installed on APFS it can be booted, and once booted everything will work normally.

Therefore setting ConnectDrivers=false could be a long term solution for us: if/when we need to do a new install, we set it back to True, put up with the BIOS boot issue while installing (after it's rebooted once, the next boot will always work - until you go into the BIOS and hit F10 to re-save BIOS settings), then once installed set it to False again and everything will work normally. Making a new macOS install should be a very rare thing to do once the OS is installed (personally I never do it, even when moving to a new drive or system, as I use Carbon Copy Cloner to clone my existing install.)

However we also have the patch which allows full normal OC usage. For now at least - one day it may no longer apply cleanly, depending on how the OpenCore code changes over time. I'd love to see it permanently included in OpenCore but it's @JTR 's work and he doesn't seem to have the time to submit it to Acidanthera at the moment.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
235
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X-Designare-10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Radeon Pro WX 7100
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Or Apple should do AFPS for Install drives Problem solved

Me personally prefer a clean install if I go to a new MacOS version...
For Audio software Pro Tools, it's better in my Eyes
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
272
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
AMD 6900XT
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Ugh, not for me. I've got 5+ years of installed apps and preferences for those apps. I've not done a fresh install since El Capitan, and all three of my hacks are using the same installation - so I know all of them have the same apps, and are configured in the same way.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
235
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X-Designare-10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Radeon Pro WX 7100
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
yeah, it's mine vision

But thanks for the info, will try it tomorrow.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
235
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X-Designare-10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Radeon Pro WX 7100
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, it was the solution to my problem :)

Just one thing I notice is that the I’m not getting a readout if my CPU temps and FAN Speeds, while the GPU is showing everything.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
272
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
AMD 6900XT
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Just one thing I notice is that the I’m not getting a readout if my CPU temps and FAN Speeds, while the GPU is showing everything.
Install Intel Power Gadget then use HWMonitorSMC2. iStat Menus provides some info as well, but not all.

This also requires VirtualSMC.kext + SMCProcessor.kext + SMCSuperIO.kext

1619596777348.png
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2013
Messages
44
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10900X
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Accordingly with this page, Gigabyte just (2021/04/27) released a new BIOS, F3f for X299X DESIGNARE 10G.
Interestingly, they don't show any previous F3 BIOSes, probably because we all know they're hella buggy.


If anyone is brave enough to upgrade, please let us know if it fixes anything.
My system is heavily used for now; can't afford a downtime.

Just in case it disappears, attaching it here, but encourage you to download it from the source.

The checksum of the file I uploaded was calculated as following:

shasum -a 256 -b mb_bios_x299x-designare-10g_f3f.zip

The checksum is
466557f1cc4fb82692500f32f0c50a3bdf71b9df550ed39d7fc73dc9b65e1691 *mb_bios_x299x-designare-10g_f3f.zip

Use at your own risk. Again, it's best to download form the link above.
 

Attachments

  • mb_bios_x299x-designare-10g_f3f.zip
    7.5 MB · Views: 5
Top