Contribute
Register

Gigabyte X299X - Catalina Support

Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
126
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I had a different SMBIOS, which I believe prevents that from being an option IIRC. I also had less ports active which I actually needed. I did try yours, but it didn't help with my particular situation, so I figured I'd bite the bullet and attempt my own version, which did eventually lead to a good result. Either way, thanks for all the hard work you've put into this already!
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
237
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X-Designare-10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Radeon Pro WX 7100
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
only thing I now need to complete the system: the CPU xD
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2010
Messages
51
Motherboard
Gigabite X299X DESIGNARE 10G
CPU
i9-10940X
Graphics
Gigabyte RX5700XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Anyone know how to control the fan? I already set the the fan in bio to 'Silent' but when I do even just some simple graphic and iStats only show cpu just around 40 degree, but the fan run so loud, some say this board is noisy is that true?
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
237
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X-Designare-10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Radeon Pro WX 7100
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@TheBloke what are you’re bios settings?

got the CPU, so I can finish the system finally
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
237
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X-Designare-10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Radeon Pro WX 7100
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm getting 'System Clock Problem' errors.
I guess that's RTC problem?

What's the fix for it ?
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
237
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X-Designare-10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Radeon Pro WX 7100
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Never mind, that I fixed.

But here comes the Thunderbolt issue.
So I'm using an Avid HDX Card in a Sonnet Echo III Chassis,
this is the new version with an internal switch specific for HDX.

What I'm having of issues with the old system system, that if an SSDT for Hotplug is enabled,
the drivers can't see the card.
But when disabling the SSDT the drivers see the card.

So for some reason the SSDT is making issues.

Is there someone who can help me out...
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
272
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
AMD 6900XT
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Never mind, that I fixed.

But here comes the Thunderbolt issue.
So I'm using an Avid HDX Card in a Sonnet Echo III Chassis,
this is the new version with an internal switch specific for HDX.

What I'm having of issues with the old system system, that if an SSDT for Hotplug is enabled,
the drivers can't see the card.
But when disabling the SSDT the drivers see the card.

So for some reason the SSDT is making issues.

Is there someone who can help me out...
This is the latest Thunderbolt SSDT for our MB, from the HackinDROM site. It's slightly different to the one previously uploaded in this thread, and seems to give a better result in that it correctly renames all devices in IoReg and the original one did not. I haven't noticed any practical difference yet.

If this doesn't work you might need to do the full firmware flash.
 

Attachments

  • SSDT-TB3-HackinDROM.aml
    6.1 KB · Views: 14
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
237
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X-Designare-10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Radeon Pro WX 7100
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,
I can tell you that I had an Titan Ridge Card with flashed firmware in the other system.
And that it had the same problem.
So flashed firmware or not,
with injected SSDT for HP not working Audio Card
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
272
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
AMD 6900XT
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi,
I can tell you that I had an Titan Ridge Card with flashed firmware in the other system.
And that it had the same problem.
So flashed firmware or not,
with injected SSDT for HP not working Audio Card
Ah, not sure then. I do know there are some TB3 audio interfaces that don't yet work on a Hack - devices from Antelope for example. There was a report on another site that a method had been found to make it work, but no details yet.

I don't know if your Avid might be the same as that.

You'd best speak to CaseySJ, he's the TB3 expert around here.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
237
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X-Designare-10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
Radeon Pro WX 7100
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yeah, I know about that fix and I’m in touch with that person.
But I will send you PM
 
Top