Contribute
Register

Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980 startup crash

Joined
Oct 11, 2015
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170XP-SLI
CPU
Intel I7-6700K @ 4.0 GHz
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 980 G1
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Well hello

I'm kinda new here, but after intensively searching, I cannot find a solution to my problem.

I have built my own PC (Check my signature for specs), and everything works perfectly except two things:

- Onboard sound (not a big deal)
- the Nvidia Card

I installed the Nvidia Webdrivers (346.03.06f01) and CUDA (7.5.26). My problem is, I can not use two screens, because MacOS crashes almost instantly (and does not reboot).
If I use only one screen, it works perfectly. It's an HDMI 1600x9000 Acer screen, and I am trying to make it work with a VGA screen (using a VGA to DVI adapter).

Last thing, even if I get accelerated GFX, Nvidia tells me I'm using the OSX drivers (See attachement below)

I'm using the MacPro3,1 sysdef, and I have the nvda_drv=1 and dart=0 boot flags. I'm running on Skylake, and that is pretty it... If you need more information, I'll be happy to send it. Thanks a lot for your help! :D

Broller
 

Attachments

  • Capture d’e?cran 2016-04-21 a? 23.49.27.png
    Capture d’e?cran 2016-04-21 a? 23.49.27.png
    28 KB · Views: 143

nobodynose

Moderator
Joined
Sep 30, 2012
Messages
4,117
Motherboard
ASRock Z370M Pro4
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. iMac
  3. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Well hello

I'm kinda new here, but after intensively searching, I cannot find a solution to my problem.

I have built my own PC (Check my signature for specs), and everything works perfectly except two things:

- Onboard sound (not a big deal)
- the Nvidia Card

I installed the Nvidia Webdrivers (346.03.06f01) and CUDA (7.5.26). My problem is, I can not use two screens, because MacOS crashes almost instantly (and does not reboot).
If I use only one screen, it works perfectly. It's an HDMI 1600x9000 Acer screen, and I am trying to make it work with a VGA screen (using a VGA to DVI adapter).

Last thing, even if I get accelerated GFX, Nvidia tells me I'm using the OSX drivers (See attachement below)

I'm using the MacPro3,1 sysdef, and I have the nvda_drv=1 and dart=0 boot flags. I'm running on Skylake, and that is pretty it... If you need more information, I'll be happy to send it. Thanks a lot for your help! :D

Broller

The problem is your VGA to DVI adapter and VGA monitor. OS X does not support analog VGA, and you can get some pretty baffling results trying to use it, such as the behavior you are seeing. Switch to a display with a DVI, HDMI, or DisplayPort input and you'll be able to use the second display.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2015
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170XP-SLI
CPU
Intel I7-6700K @ 4.0 GHz
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 980 G1
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
The problem is your VGA to DVI adapter and VGA monitor. OS X does not support analog VGA, and you can get some pretty baffling results trying to use it, such as the behavior you are seeing. Switch to a display with a DVI, HDMI, or DisplayPort input and you'll be able to use the second display.

Okay! Thanks a lot. I will try that. Also, what about the setting then? Why does it reset to OSX setting? Thanks!

P.S. Then how does it work with my MacBook Pro?
 

nobodynose

Moderator
Joined
Sep 30, 2012
Messages
4,117
Motherboard
ASRock Z370M Pro4
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. iMac
  3. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Okay! Thanks a lot. I will try that. Also, what about the setting then? Why does it reset to OSX setting? Thanks!

P.S. Then how does it work with my MacBook Pro?

Perhaps I misunderstood what you were doing - what I meant is that OS X doesn't support analog VGA output (i.e. the VGA port on your graphics card). As far as I know, you can use an active DVI to VGA adapter to connect the DVI output to a VGA monitor (someone correct me if I'm mistaken).

Not sure about the other question - maybe you should try removing the Nvidia drivers and reinstalling.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,781
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
VGA adaptors do kinda work in OS X. VGA to DVI etc are problematic id recommend not using VGA in any way don't get why Graphics cards, Motherboards have VGA in this day and age anyway. OS X doesn't have no support for analog output. Use either DVI, HDMI, DisplayPort, mDP. Ive known these crappy adaptors to cause kernel panics even reboot loops on official macs so id fully recommend stay away from them.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2015
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170XP-SLI
CPU
Intel I7-6700K @ 4.0 GHz
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 980 G1
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
VGA adaptors do kinda work in OS X. VGA to DVI etc are problematic id recommend not using VGA in any way don't get why Graphics cards, Motherboards have VGA in this day and age anyway. OS X doesn't have no support for analog output. Use either DVI, HDMI, DisplayPort, mDP. Ive known these crappy adaptors to cause kernel panics even reboot loops on official macs so id fully recommend stay away from them.

Okay. Gotta try this now. Thanks!
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2015
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170XP-SLI
CPU
Intel I7-6700K @ 4.0 GHz
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 980 G1
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Perhaps I misunderstood what you were doing - what I meant is that OS X doesn't support analog VGA output (i.e. the VGA port on your graphics card). As far as I know, you can use an active DVI to VGA adapter to connect the DVI output to a VGA monitor (someone correct me if I'm mistaken).

Not sure about the other question - maybe you should try removing the Nvidia drivers and reinstalling.

It's a DVI-D (I guess) to VGA. The screen works perfectly if I plug it after my CustoMac has boot, but not if it is already plugged, while another screen is plugged. on HDMI. DVI-D to VGA works perfectly all alone.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,781
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Top