Contribute
Register

[FIX] HD4200/HD4400/HD4600/HD5600 on 10.11+

Joined
Apr 26, 2017
Messages
22
Motherboard
Dell 14R-5437(Clover)
CPU
i5-4200u/ H8x/P8x
Graphics
HD4400 (0A16 Haswell-ULT GT2) /GT740M,1366X768
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
You should check to see if you have an IMEI device.
You can use 'lspci -nn' in Linux Terminal to see all PCIe devices.
you're right .I have no IMEI device. I fixed board ,so I give up.
thank you very much ,RehabMan
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,155
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
you're right .I have no IMEI device. I fixed board ,so I give up.
thank you very much ,RehabMan

Yes... IMEI is required... and you cannot expect to run macOS/OS X if you have non-existing IMEI (eg. broken hardware setup).
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,781
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
You should try to reflash latest BIOS from Dell.
Make sure your CPU is not ES/QS (they do not have IMEI).

I believe that the ES/QS chips are factory samples. I've came across a lot of these on eBay. Am I correct in saying? I'm also guessing that having ES/QS chips don't allow the MEI controller to load.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,155
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I believe that the ES/QS chips are factory samples. I've came across a lot of these on eBay. Am I correct in saying? I'm also guessing that having ES/QS chips don't allow the MEI controller to load.

It seems that most ES/QS chips do not have IMEI.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2014
Messages
55
Motherboard
Lenovo Y700-15ISK
CPU
I7-6700HQ
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
greatings guys

i have been using this method for accelerated graphics, but few days back my Lenovo laptop with HD4600 updated it self to 10.12.3 and now when i plug HDMI cable, it reboots the whole system. any ideas of the course? thank in advanced
 
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,155
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
greatings guys

i have been using this method for accelerated graphics, but few days back my Lenovo laptop with HD4600 updated it self to 10.12.3 and now when i plug HDMI cable, it reboots the whole system. any ideas of the course? thank in advanced

Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting"
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/

It is probably due to incorrectly implemented or not implemented HDMI-audio.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...o-sandy-ivy-haswell-broadwell-skylake.189495/
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2017
Messages
15
Motherboard
Phoenix 15U530FJ | Haswell-ULT | H8x/P8x
CPU
Core i5-4210u Haswell
Graphics
Intel HD 4400
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi dear RehabMan and everybody!!
Good news1
Today user vit9696 released a new anti-freeze solution Safari for hd4400 hd4600. For this you need to download two kexts.
https://sourceforge.net/projects/intelgraphicsfixup/
https://github.com/vit9696/Lilu/releases

But that's not all good news he also solved the problem with broken trailers and videos in itunes. For this you just download this kext
https://github.com/vit9696/Shiki/releases

all the kexts I downloaded in the folder /Volumes/EFI/EFI/CLOVER/kexts/10.12/
for mavericks this /Volumes/EFI/EFI/CLOVER/kexts/10.9
Im tested on Mavericks 10.9.5 and Sierra 10.12.3 its work for me, vit9696 suggests that this solution help absolutely everyone!!

ps RehabMan This patch works with VoodooHDA.kext

Sierra 10.12.5 here, Intel HD 4400. Playback freeze is fixed! Now I can enjoy picture-in-picture videos as well. Thank you!!
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2015
Messages
29
Motherboard
MSI Z370m Mortar
CPU
i5-9600k
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
Is this method still valid for High Sierra for HD 4400? Thx
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2015
Messages
29
Motherboard
MSI Z370m Mortar
CPU
i5-9600k
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
yes is still work

Thanks. Got it to work.

The only difference for me is that the Legacy/CMS mode must be enabled in BIOS (which wasn't necessary in my case before High Sierra) to avoid the garbled login screen after boot (which can also be fixed by closing the lid and opening it again after every boot if the Legacy/CMS mode is not enabled). After that no issues with either approach.

So choice seems to be between doing that open/close of lid after every boot or getting that retro VGA startup interface till end of boot. :0

Unless there is some other fix I am not aware of.
 
Top