Final Cut Pro X - Which Graphics Card

Discussion in 'Buying Advice' started by marcing, Apr 15, 2015.

  1. rwillett

    rwillett

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    650
    Mobo:
    Z97Z-UD5H
    CPU:
    i4790K 4.4Ghz
    Graphics:
    2 x R9 280X Vapor-X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Aug 23, 2016 at 10:04 PM #51
    rwillett

    rwillett

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    650
    Mobo:
    Z97Z-UD5H
    CPU:
    i4790K 4.4Ghz
    Graphics:
    2 x R9 280X Vapor-X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    For some circumstances (well only two I can think of), dual 5770's would be better than a 280X.

    1. If you have a genuine Mac Pro, dual 5770's would be better in the PCI slots as a 5770 doesn't draw as much current (approx 50%) of a 280X. A Mac Pro has limits on the current draw and a 280X significantly exceeds that draw. There are websites that tell you it is possible doing some clever electrical stuff with alternate PSU's supplying power to the card but I'm simply not technical enough to judge one way or another. Easiest solution is to put 2 x 5770's in.

    2. You want to drive more monitors. Two 5770's could be (depending on the card) be able to drive more monitors than a single 280X.

    The above logic goes for triple 5770's as well.

    Rob
     
  2. H94

    H94

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD5H-BK
    CPU:
    i7 4790k
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte G1 GTX 970
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Aug 29, 2016 at 9:49 AM #52
    H94

    H94

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD5H-BK
    CPU:
    i7 4790k
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte G1 GTX 970
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Nvidia mainly uses OpenGL and CUDA for GPU accelerated workflow. While FCPX only takes advantages of OpenCL, a part where Nvidia don't care and optimize much. It is recommended to use AMD Graphics card for FCPX.
     
  3. rna23

    rna23

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon W3680
    Graphics:
    SAPPHIRE R9 280X
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 16, 2016 at 10:08 AM #53
    rna23

    rna23

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon W3680
    Graphics:
    SAPPHIRE R9 280X
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hello,

    I use FCP 7 and FCP X on a hackintosh. I had very good experiences with a Sapphire Radeon R9 280x. Now I use a R9 290x and it is noticeably faster, but the computer hangs time to time and I suspect it may be because of the GPU ... But it handles 4K like a charm. I am thinking if there is anything more stable with a simillar performance. But the 280x was anyhow a great performer.
     
  4. richardp1512

    richardp1512

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    87
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170MX
    CPU:
    I7 6700k
    Graphics:
    HD 530 IGFX; GIGABYTE RX 460
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 16, 2016 at 10:51 AM #54
    richardp1512

    richardp1512

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    87
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170MX
    CPU:
    I7 6700k
    Graphics:
    HD 530 IGFX; GIGABYTE RX 460
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi there, I specifically stayed out of the Graphics "rat-race" until the appearance of A) Sierra and B) The AMD RX 460 (Gigabyte 4gb version), which has virtually OOB support in Sierra. I have had good results with this combination and FCP X (the whole reason for my HACK) and the cards are less than buying an R9 280x which i still find hard to beleive, but I reckon i could still sell the card for 2/3 what i paid for it if anything better materialises.

    I say this because I am enthused by the apparent support of "Vega 10" chipset code that has appeared in the latest Sierra builds, which is appearing in the upcoming RX 490 thus allowing me to skip the 470's and 480's (with limited support and success) and perhaps be able to use a real top-end card for FCP X at long last.

    For anyone reading this, I am still a real newcomer to the Hackingtosh world, so don't criticise me too harshly if what i am saying is wrong, but hopefully this is a plan that i may be able to follow after reading many, many a page here on tonymacx86!
     
    resere likes this.
  5. resere

    resere

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    CPU:
    i7 990x
    Graphics:
    460 gtx
    Nov 20, 2016 at 11:10 PM #55
    resere

    resere

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    CPU:
    i7 990x
    Graphics:
    460 gtx
    @richardp1512
    Hi, with RX 460 u didn't need the igpu? i mean can boot without intel graphics?
    and DVI port is ok? or just DP?
    10x!
    PS I'm thinking of a gpu upgrade on i7-990x/x58 with gtx 460 1Gb (2 cards, which freezes often.. driving me mad force me working in premiere or vegas), to something like RX 460 or R9 280x. And from yosemite to sierra in the same time.
    Obviously i do NOT have intel graphics integrated.
    I'll work in FCP X 1-2k usually.

    Anyone who can help, i appreciate!
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2016
  6. richardp1512

    richardp1512

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    87
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170MX
    CPU:
    I7 6700k
    Graphics:
    HD 530 IGFX; GIGABYTE RX 460
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 21, 2016 at 9:15 AM #56
    richardp1512

    richardp1512

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    87
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170MX
    CPU:
    I7 6700k
    Graphics:
    HD 530 IGFX; GIGABYTE RX 460
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi resere

    Unfortunately no as i do have igpu so I yes I do need intel gfx to boot - but all ports working OK.
     
    resere likes this.
  7. divneet

    divneet

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Nov 22, 2016 at 4:52 PM #57
    divneet

    divneet

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    2

    hey , i need help with building a over a top pc , no budget limitation , any help would be appreciated .
     
  8. velovelovelo

    velovelovelo

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    73
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z97x UD3H
    CPU:
    i7 4790k
    Graphics:
    Sapphire RX 480 8GB (Reference)
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 27, 2016 at 12:59 AM #58
    velovelovelo

    velovelovelo

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    73
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z97x UD3H
    CPU:
    i7 4790k
    Graphics:
    Sapphire RX 480 8GB (Reference)
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    New issue - I've been running my R9 280x with no issues in FCPX 10.2.2 and 10.2.3 for the last year. I just updated to 10.3 and the app opens without issue, but as soon as I try to open a library (either an existing one that was updated for 10.3, or a brand new one I created in 10.3) the app crashes instantly. Today I tried removing the graphics card, and that fixed it. FCPX 10.3 runs just fine.

    Any thoughts on this?
     
  9. rwillett

    rwillett

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    650
    Mobo:
    Z97Z-UD5H
    CPU:
    i4790K 4.4Ghz
    Graphics:
    2 x R9 280X Vapor-X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Nov 29, 2016 at 8:43 PM #59
    rwillett

    rwillett

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    650
    Mobo:
    Z97Z-UD5H
    CPU:
    i4790K 4.4Ghz
    Graphics:
    2 x R9 280X Vapor-X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mine works fine, so can't comment. What does the console say?
     
  10. rwillett

    rwillett

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    650
    Mobo:
    Z97Z-UD5H
    CPU:
    i4790K 4.4Ghz
    Graphics:
    2 x R9 280X Vapor-X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Nov 29, 2016 at 8:43 PM #60
    rwillett

    rwillett

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    650
    Mobo:
    Z97Z-UD5H
    CPU:
    i4790K 4.4Ghz
    Graphics:
    2 x R9 280X Vapor-X
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    No budget limitations? easy, buy a top of the range new Mac Pro with max cores and max RAM.

    Rob
     
    Adrian B likes this.

Share This Page