Direct Update to macOS Sierra using Clover

Discussion in 'Sierra Desktop Guides' started by tonymacx86, Sep 20, 2016.

  1. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,295
    Mobo:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 20, 2016 at 5:45 PM #1
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,295
    Mobo:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    [​IMG]
    Direct Update to macOS Sierra using Clover

    Established Clover users on OS X El Capitan who wish to update directly to macOS Sierra can do so just like a regular Mac would. This fully native method requires no USB creation or preparation.

    Before you begin, we strongly recommend performing a full backup of your existing system using Carbon Copy Cloner. By doing this, you can always go back to your working OS X El Capitan installation.

    1. Download the latest version of Clover from sourceforge and update your existing Clover install.

    2. Open Clover configuration folder on the root of your system drive or EFI Partition using EFI Mounter v3. Copy FakeSMC.kext and any other extra necessary kexts to /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/. If you need essential kexts, download them here.

    Screen Shot 2016-09-10 at 7.48.54 AM.png

    3. Download Install macOS Sierra Application from the Mac App Store. When complete, the app will open. Please note, the Application will disappear after use.

    4. Choose system drive for install (Example: Macintosh HD). When complete, the computer will automatically reboot.

    5. When Clover boot screen appears, choose Boot macOS Install option (Example: Boot macOS Install from Macintosh HD). Choosing your system drive will go back to your previous installation without updating. Press spacebar to enter Boot Options and choose Without Caches option and/or Inject Kexts option then Boot Mac OS X with selected options.

    6. Complete the installation process. When complete, the computer will automatically reboot.

    7. When Clover boot screen appears, choose Boot Mac OS X option (Example: Boot Mac OS X from Macintosh HD). The computer will then complete the update.

    :thumbup:

    Related:

    macOS Sierra is Now Available on the Mac App Store
    Some Broadcom mini-PCIe Devices Unsupported in macOS Sierra
    macOS Sierra Does NOT Boot with MacPro3,1 MacPro4,1 System Definitions

    Apple Releases macOS Sierra 'Golden Master' GM Candidate to Beta Testers
    macOS Sierra Upgrade Available on September 20th
    macOS Sierra Public Beta 7 is Now Available
    macOS Sierra Public Beta 6 is Now Available
    macOS Sierra Public Beta 5 is Now Available
    macOS Sierra Public Beta 4 is Now Available
    macOS Sierra Public Beta 3 is Now Available
    macOS Sierra Public Beta 2 is Now Available
    macOS Sierra Public Beta is Now Available
    How to Create a macOS Sierra Public Beta Installation USB
    NVIDIA Releases Alternate Graphics Drivers for macOS Sierra 10.12 Beta
    Introducing the macOS Sierra Critter!
    Sierra Desktop Support
    Sierra Desktop Guides
    Sierra Laptop Support
    Sierra Laptop Guides
    Apple Reveals macOS Sierra at WWDC - Available Fall 2016
    tonymacx86 Clover Theme
     
    JCMunsonII, 108212, Inrik and 22 others like this.
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 27, 2016
  2. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,175
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 20, 2016 at 5:46 PM #2
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,175
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Here's how I did the backup of beta Sierra.

    Required: Formatted spare drive with an empty EFI partition. Copy Copy Cloner (CCC) or SuperDuper.
    :ch:Clone (backup) your current OS X partition to the backup drive.
    :ch:Open the Terminal and execute the following command:
    Code (Text):
    diskutil list
    :ch:Find your EFI partitions from the output of the above command:
    disksXs1 > your current installation EFI partition
    disksYs1 > your backup EFI partition​
    :ch:Mount each EFI partition using EFI Mounter v3 - be sure to keep track of which EFI is what as they will both mount on your Desktop as EFI.
    :ch:Copy the EFI folder (within the EFI partition) from the installation drive to the EFI partition of the backup drive.​
    You can test your backup by booting into your BIOS, selecting the Backup drive as your boot drive, save and boot to the Backup drive. Everything should work fine. If so, reboot into the BIOS, re-select the installation drive, save and boot into the installation drive.
     
    Flexter and gumerson like this.
  3. dungeonseeker

    dungeonseeker

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Mobo:
    MSI Z170A Gaming M7
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 6700K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G
    Sep 20, 2016 at 6:11 PM #3
    dungeonseeker

    dungeonseeker

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Mobo:
    MSI Z170A Gaming M7
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 6700K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G
    Whats Audio & Nvidia driver support like?
     
  4. corei3cpu

    corei3cpu

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Messages:
    622
    Mobo:
    Generic Intel
    CPU:
    Intel i3
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GT 610, Dual HDMI, 1366x768
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 20, 2016 at 8:05 PM #4
    corei3cpu

    corei3cpu

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Messages:
    622
    Mobo:
    Generic Intel
    CPU:
    Intel i3
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GT 610, Dual HDMI, 1366x768
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Did not work for me. I had a message during install of upgrade " can't install from null ".
    When it rebooted back into clover I had no "boot macOS install" option.

    So I had to boot back into El Capitan.
     
    GuitarGuy77 and continued like this.
  5. carljharris3141

    carljharris3141

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170X-UD5
    CPU:
    4.01 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 960 4GB FTW GAMING ACX 2.0+
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Sep 20, 2016 at 8:17 PM #5
    carljharris3141

    carljharris3141

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z170X-UD5
    CPU:
    4.01 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 960 4GB FTW GAMING ACX 2.0+
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Wondering if folk can help. I've downloaded Sierra and tried to install. Upon reboot via Clover the 'Boot macOS Install' option does not show up. And therefore the machine just boots right back into the old El Capitan install. Tried a few times with the same result.

    In terms of system, I have fixed the system definition to iMac 14,2 and it shows up in About This Mac as a 27-inch, Late 2013 iMac. I am using Clover Configurator version 4.32.0 which I think is the latest one (hitting check for updates says that this is the newest version available).

    Any ideas on how to fix this? Thanks in advance.
     
  6. SwagBrah

    SwagBrah

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Mobo:
    ASUS H97M-E
    CPU:
    Intel i5 4460
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 750 2GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Windows Phone
    Sep 20, 2016 at 11:06 PM #6
    SwagBrah

    SwagBrah

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Mobo:
    ASUS H97M-E
    CPU:
    Intel i5 4460
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 750 2GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Windows Phone
    I'm getting "Cannot unmount disk for repair" or something similar.
    14,2 iMac def
    Trying again right now.
     
    xqf9725 likes this.
  7. AnterD

    AnterD

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Messages:
    110
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD7-TH
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    GTX 980 Reference
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Sep 20, 2016 at 11:53 PM #7
    AnterD

    AnterD

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Messages:
    110
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD7-TH
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    GTX 980 Reference
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    did as said. mac restarted, loading bar appeared. After loading (took a while) a grey screen appeared with the marble of doom :beachball: ... Then I waited some time, got fed up and shut the mac down (holding power button) ... My El Cap still works.

    Any ideas?
     
    denimdude likes this.
  8. VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,678
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 20, 2016 at 11:55 PM #8
    VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,678
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Did you boot without cache? did you put kexts in EFI/Clover/kexts/other? How does your L/E look?
     
  9. S0ul

    S0ul

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Sep 21, 2016 at 12:02 AM #9
    S0ul

    S0ul

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Same happened to me. Added the FakeSMC to Clover "Other" folder.
     
  10. VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,678
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 21, 2016 at 12:08 AM #10
    VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,678
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    How does you're L/E look?
     
    AssFIT likes this.

Share This Page