Contribute
Register

Direct Update to macOS Sierra using Clover

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,446
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
IIRC, the newer versions of CCC do copy the EFI partition. But, I'm not sure. Try it. If it doesn't copy the EFI partition, mount both EFI partitions and copy the /EFI/ from the installation drive to the backup drive's EFI partition. No big deal.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2011
Messages
29
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD5-B3
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 6870
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iMac, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm trying to install. When I click restart on the installation program, an extra HD in clover with Macos install doesn't show up.
What to do about that?
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2017
Messages
7
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3
CPU
Intel Core i5-6400
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 970
Mac
MacBook Air, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm trying to do a clean reinstall of macOS Sierra on my already set-up CustoMac. I lost my existing UniBeast flash drive, so do I use this method with a standard Sierra install flash drive or do I make a new UniBeast drive? Thanks!
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,446
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm trying to do a clean reinstall of macOS Sierra on my already set-up CustoMac. I lost my existing UniBeast flash drive, so do I use this method with a standard Sierra install flash drive or do I make a new UniBeast drive? Thanks!
What does Post #1 say to do? :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2016
Messages
29
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UDH5
CPU
Intel i7-3770k
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GTX 560Ti
Mac
MacBook
Classic Mac
Classic, iMac, LC, Performa, Power Mac, Quadra
Mobile Phone
Other
Joined
Mar 3, 2017
Messages
66
Motherboard
Msi z170a krait gaming x3
CPU
Intel i7 6700k
Graphics
EVGA Gtx 1070 sc sli
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
image.jpg
I keep getting this and can’t get past it at all :/
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 3, 2017
Messages
66
Motherboard
Msi z170a krait gaming x3
CPU
Intel i7 6700k
Graphics
EVGA Gtx 1070 sc sli
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I would just get a Apple logo with a white circle loading and then it freezes I have a gtx 1070 msi z170a krait gaming x3 and i7 6700k
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2012
Messages
5
Motherboard
Dell 9020 USDT
CPU
i7-
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Did you boot without cache? did you put kexts in EFI/Clover/kexts/other? How does your L/E look?
Thank you for your post, I was having the grey screen/beachball, added FakeSMC viola all good with the install.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Messages
10,965
Motherboard
GA-H77N-WIFI
CPU
Core i7-3770
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Mac
MacBook, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Thank you for your post, I was having the grey screen/beachball, added FakeSMC viola all good with the install.
Without FakeSMC in EFI/Clover/kexts/other you will not be able to enter the installer.
 
Top