Contribute
Register

Direct Update to macOS Sierra using Clover

Joined
Dec 20, 2013
Messages
2
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm getting "Cannot unmount disk for repair" or something similar.
14,2 iMac def
Trying again right now.
This is happening to me as well. i7 2600 iMac 14,2. Any idea how to fix this?
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2015
Messages
7
Motherboard
MSI Z97A GAMING 7 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard
CPU
Intel Core i7-4790K 4.0GHz Quad-Core Processor
Graphics
MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4G Golden Edition
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Anyone with issues ( not seeing the macOS install ) you need to mount the EFI then update as suggested.
So I've fixed the booting issue. Realised that one doesn't just need to update Clover (from the Clover Menu) but also one needs to update the Clover Bootloader -- loading Clover, then mounting EFI then Install/Update Clover. So now I can reboot and it shows the option to Boot Install.

However, now it hangs on install with the following (in verbose mode). Appreciate suggestions -- am entirely stuck! :) ThanksView attachment 211068

Same issue here! Maybe my kexts are not updated. I'll continue to try again later.
 
Joined
May 9, 2016
Messages
87
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Did not work for me. I had a message during install of upgrade " can't install from null ".
When it rebooted back into clover I had no "boot macOS install" option.

So I had to boot back into El Capitan.



Firstly update Clover Configurator -- Run it, the on the menu (top left) hit update Clover,... Then run Clover and Mount the EFI (bottom left). After you've mounted EFI then select the Update option in the bottom left of the Clover Configurator window. This will update the boot loader of your machine. After that is done, save, then reboot. You should then see the Install Option come up.

Basically what's not explained well in the documentation is that updating the boot loader is a different and additional activity from updating Clover itself. Hope that helps. Cheers, Carl
 
Joined
May 9, 2016
Messages
87
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
So I've fixed the booting issue. Realised that one doesn't just need to update Clover (from the Clover Menu) but also one needs to update the Clover Bootloader -- loading Clover, then mounting EFI then Install/Update Clover. So now I can reboot and it shows the option to Boot Install.

However, now it hangs on install with the following (in verbose mode). Appreciate suggestions -- am entirely stuck! :) ThanksView attachment 211068


So I managed to fix this. What I did was firstly to enable viewing of hidden files in Finder.

defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles YES
killall Finder

Then mounted the EFI partition using Clover Configurator. Then I went to the Main Drive\Library\Extensions -- a folder that was hidden before -- and copied *all* the kexts into the EFI\Clover\kexts\other directory.

Following that I rebooted, selected the Install option and Sierra successfully installed.

It's blown out the NVIDIA drivers and also the HDA sound. The former doesn't appear to be available yet. Presumably it'll take them a day or so to issue an update? Appreciate advice on how to fix the HDA sound. Totally lost all sound. Thanks
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,671
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You can use the Nvidia Sierra Beta web drivers with the 900 series until Nvidia releases updated drivers.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2015
Messages
15
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-H97-D3H LGA 1150
CPU
Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell Quad-Core 3.3 GHz
Graphics
GIGABYTE Radeon R9 390
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Firstly update Clover Configurator -- Run it, the on the menu (top left) hit update Clover,... Then run Clover and Mount the EFI (bottom left). After you've mounted EFI then select the Update option in the bottom left of the Clover Configurator window. This will update the boot loader of your machine.

I'm like stuck here, I went by the guide and updated the clover boot loader first, now I can't mount the EFI Partition (with clover configurator and EFI Mounter v3...) I can see the partition in terminal when I do diskutil list but I can not mount it to put kexts in the "Other" folder... What should I do here?

I'm soooooo glad that I re-made my El Capitan installer before doing this!!
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2014
Messages
155
Motherboard
ASUS Q500A (Clover)
CPU
i5 3210M/HM76
Graphics
HD 4000/1366x768
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I will confirm I have this working when enabling kext, verbose, web graphics enabled, and without cache selected.

My only issue right now is that I can't seem to get my video card to display color correctly. Installed the beta graphics card and my blues and reds are all mixed up.

I'm using Mac Pro 5,1 profile

I can confirm that this method WORKS!!! Updated to macOS Sierra on ASUS Q500A, display panel on System Preferences not working, will continue testing to see what other things do and dont work.
 
Joined
May 9, 2016
Messages
87
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Anyone with issues ( not seeing the macOS install ) you need to mount the EFI then update as suggested.


Same issue here! Maybe my kexts are not updated. I'll continue to try again later.


solve this.. please try the following:

So I managed to fix this. What I did was firstly to enable viewing of hidden files in Finder.

defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles YES
killall Finder

Then mounted the EFI partition using Clover Configurator. Then I went to the Main Drive\Library\Extensions -- a folder that was hidden before -- and copied *all* the kexts into the EFI\Clover\kexts\other directory.

Following that I rebooted, selected the Install option and Sierra successfully installed.
 
Joined
May 9, 2016
Messages
87
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
You can use the Nvidia Sierra Beta web drivers with the 900 series until Nvidia releases updated drivers.
Thanks. Yes those work well -- using them now. So video is now working. Sound (HDA) has been blown out as has protected video content which I had working in El Capitan using the Shiki.kext. Appreciate any advice on sound: it took me ages with El Capitan to get that working and frustrating now it's not :)
 
Top