Contribute
Register

Core i7 X58 chipset compatability (Gigabyte & Asus Mobo's).

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
X58
CPU
Graphics
iGPU
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi,

Found the install guide to be spot on. Could not perform installation using a Gigabyte Mobo which I'm surprised by as I'd understood they're generally regarded as compatible with Hackintosh installs but whether this is a BIOS failing that X58 chipset issue I'm not sure.

Managed to install onto an SSD using an X58 Sabertooth Mobo rig but cannot get the OS to boot.

Any suggestions on what to check for and where I'm possibly going wrong with the install would be appreciated.

I'm a newbie to this therefore apologies should rookie mistakes have been made so to speak.

Thank you.

What is the boot error?

First step: Fill in the details in your profile regarding mobo, firmware version, etc. Keep in mind that some boards have rev 1 and rev 2 versions, which may need different settings if there are slight component differences... and need the correct DSDT files from here to work properly.

Second step: Post your exact installation process here, along with whatever settings you used, including any BIOS changes or images of your BIOS settings.

I think we will better be able to help if you do this.

First step: Fill in the details in your profile regarding mobo, firmware version, etc. Keep in mind that some boards have rev 1 and rev 2 versions, which may need different settings if there are slight component differences... and need the correct DSDT files from here to work properly.

Second step: Post your exact installation process here, along with whatever settings you used, including any BIOS changes or images of your BIOS settings.

I think we will better be able to help if you do this.

Hi, Thank you rabbit74 & justr for your replies (apologies for not spotting the responses).