Clover HDMI audio for NVIDIA & AMD cards. Easy way.

Discussion in 'HDMI Audio' started by ok1ok1, Oct 22, 2014.

  1. Lonelytanker

    Lonelytanker

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    Mobo:
    HP Elite 8300 CMT - Intel Q77 Express
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Graphics:
    GTX 950
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 11, 2016 at 12:12 AM #121
    Lonelytanker

    Lonelytanker

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    Mobo:
    HP Elite 8300 CMT - Intel Q77 Express
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Graphics:
    GTX 950
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have a GTX 950 on El Cap. HDMI audio works fine when the kext is loaded through /S/L/E but not if I delete it there and copy it to the EFI partition (under 10.11 or other).

    I guess I shouldn't worry since I can get it working through /S/L/E, but I'm curious why Cover won't inject/load it.

    Thanks!
     
  2. ok1ok1

    ok1ok1

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    Desktop
    CPU:
    I5
    Graphics:
    Gforce 650 TI
    Oct 17, 2016 at 1:46 AM #122
    ok1ok1

    ok1ok1

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    Desktop
    CPU:
    I5
    Graphics:
    Gforce 650 TI
    Firstly make sure you're installing it to the correct EFI folder. Some systems use extra/efi folder on their system partition while others reference an EFI partition. Try removing the 10.12 folder. In sierra the kext needs to be placed in the "other" folder. I also had to restart my system twice.
     
  3. scordinskyc

    scordinskyc

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Nov 6, 2016 at 2:00 AM #123
    scordinskyc

    scordinskyc

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Hello,

    Just wanted to check up on this to be absolutely clear. And I know that this is a discussion forum for those who have Hackintoshes, generally speaking. But I'm running into an issue with DP/HDMI audio output. Heretofore, I had a PC graphics card installed on my Mac Pro 4,1 (flashed to a 5,1), a Nvidia Geforce 650 Ti Boost. I got audio output over HDMI by installing HDMIAudio-1.1.kext and it worked splendidly. I moved up to an AMD RX480 recently, and I can no longer select the HDMI device for audio output. It is connected a DP to HDMI 2.0 converter (only so I can have 2160p60 output on my 4K TV). But I have also connected it directly to the card's HDMI port as well. Additionally, I see that that there's no driver installed for this in System Profiler.

    pci1002,aaf0:

    Type: Audio Controller
    Driver Installed: No
    MSI: No
    Bus: PCI
    Slot: Slot-1
    Vendor ID: 0x1002
    Device ID: 0xaaf0
    Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x1682
    Subsystem ID: 0xaaf0
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    Link Width: x16
    Link Speed: 2.5 GT/s​

    I was speculating that the RX480's PCI ID numbers aren't included in the HDMIAudio.kext package. My thought was to rip apart the HDMIAudio.kext and put in vendor and device IDs that are mentioned in the above printout. (I am not a device driver developer!) Does anybody have any ideas about how to tackle this?
     
  4. DanDRuiz

    DanDRuiz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 16, 2016 at 5:00 AM #124
    DanDRuiz

    DanDRuiz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi all - I've tried using this to get HDMI Audio out, but no dice. I originally was using the HDMI Audio from the intel 530 GPU on my i5-6600k CPU, but just picked up an Nvidia GTX 970. I had to add a section to the config.plist for AppleGraphicsDevicePolicy because my monitor was going to sleep mode during the boot, and that allowed me to get functioning video output. But I can't seem to get HDMI Audio output from my GTX 970, even installing this HDMIAudio 1.1 kext to s/l/e or EFI. Any ideas? I've attached my current config.plist to see if anyone can point something out that I missed. Thanks!!!
     

    Attached Files:

  5. shangjun2x

    shangjun2x

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    10.12.0
    CPU:
    i7-3700
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Nov 20, 2016 at 12:53 AM #125
    shangjun2x

    shangjun2x

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    10.12.0
    CPU:
    i7-3700
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Does it work with RX480?
     
  6. B-San

    B-San

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    410
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    HD 4000
    Nov 24, 2016 at 1:07 AM #126
    B-San

    B-San

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    410
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    HD 4000
    Works with my GTX970 via displayport into a 34" ultrawide Samsung. Running 10.10.5; I opened the .dmg file then installed HDMIAudio.kext via Ketx Wizard before rebuilding cache and repairing disk permissions. Oh yeah, still running Chimera on the rig as well.
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2016
  7. boobajoob

    boobajoob

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    GA-H170-Gaming 3
    CPU:
    i5 6400
    Graphics:
    GTX 750 Ti
    Dec 16, 2016 at 12:23 AM #127
    boobajoob

    boobajoob

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    GA-H170-Gaming 3
    CPU:
    i5 6400
    Graphics:
    GTX 750 Ti
    :headbang: Works great on 10.12.2 with a 750Ti! Thank you so much!
     
  8. nerddd

    nerddd

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Dec 18, 2016 at 7:17 PM #128
    nerddd

    nerddd

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Hey, I also upgraded from El Capitan to Sierra and found that I had lost hdmi audio having used this kext solution successfully on el cap.

    I finally got this working again on Sierra though. After having put the kext in "Other" and nothing happening I cleared the Clover config.plist from any AppleHDA related kext patches. I had some stuff in there related to previous os x releases, and clearing that up made the hdmi output appear again after reboot!
     
    iMosa3da666 likes this.
  9. iMosa3da666

    iMosa3da666

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    X58A-UD3R
    CPU:
    i7-950 3.07
    Graphics:
    GTX 770 4 GB
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 23, 2016 at 4:20 PM #129
    iMosa3da666

    iMosa3da666

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    X58A-UD3R
    CPU:
    i7-950 3.07
    Graphics:
    GTX 770 4 GB
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thank you. I had the same issue and now it is fixed.
     
  10. gotojanoo

    gotojanoo

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Ivy 3570K
    Graphics:
    HD6870
    Dec 28, 2016 at 5:51 PM #130
    gotojanoo

    gotojanoo

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Ivy 3570K
    Graphics:
    HD6870
    can you please advise how u made it work? I am still struggling. i exactly followed OP's guide but no luck. Also using nvidia web drivers
     

Share This Page