Clover HDMI audio for NVIDIA & AMD cards. Easy way.

Discussion in 'HDMI Audio' started by ok1ok1, Oct 22, 2014.

  1. TonuxMan

    TonuxMan

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97n wifi
    CPU:
    i5 4460
    Graphics:
    GTX 750
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 6, 2016 at 11:05 AM #121
    TonuxMan

    TonuxMan

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97n wifi
    CPU:
    i5 4460
    Graphics:
    GTX 750
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi, no way to make it work with sierra... it was ok with 10.11 but since I've updated to sierra it doesn't work (GTX 750), on EFI folder I've created a 10.12 folder and put the keyxt in that folder and in "other" folder, any idea ?
     
  2. southlegend

    southlegend

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Intel 6700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1070 & GT 710
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Oct 8, 2016 at 9:49 PM #122
    southlegend

    southlegend

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-UD5-TH
    CPU:
    Intel 6700K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1070 & GT 710
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Worked perfectly on 10.11.6 and took less than 2 minutes to do!

    Thank you!
     
  3. poiromaniax

    poiromaniax

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte-Z170-GAMING-K3
    CPU:
    i5 3.3GHz 6600
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GT 740
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 9, 2016 at 4:16 PM #123
    poiromaniax

    poiromaniax

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte-Z170-GAMING-K3
    CPU:
    i5 3.3GHz 6600
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GT 740
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
  4. Lonelytanker

    Lonelytanker

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Mobo:
    HP Elite 8300 CMT - Intel Q77 Express
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Graphics:
    GTX 950
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 11, 2016 at 12:12 AM #124
    Lonelytanker

    Lonelytanker

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Mobo:
    HP Elite 8300 CMT - Intel Q77 Express
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Graphics:
    GTX 950
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have a GTX 950 on El Cap. HDMI audio works fine when the kext is loaded through /S/L/E but not if I delete it there and copy it to the EFI partition (under 10.11 or other).

    I guess I shouldn't worry since I can get it working through /S/L/E, but I'm curious why Cover won't inject/load it.

    Thanks!
     
  5. ok1ok1

    ok1ok1

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    Desktop
    CPU:
    I5
    Graphics:
    Gforce 650 TI
    Oct 17, 2016 at 1:46 AM #125
    ok1ok1

    ok1ok1

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    Desktop
    CPU:
    I5
    Graphics:
    Gforce 650 TI
    Firstly make sure you're installing it to the correct EFI folder. Some systems use extra/efi folder on their system partition while others reference an EFI partition. Try removing the 10.12 folder. In sierra the kext needs to be placed in the "other" folder. I also had to restart my system twice.
     
  6. scordinskyc

    scordinskyc

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Nov 6, 2016 at 2:00 AM #126
    scordinskyc

    scordinskyc

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Hello,

    Just wanted to check up on this to be absolutely clear. And I know that this is a discussion forum for those who have Hackintoshes, generally speaking. But I'm running into an issue with DP/HDMI audio output. Heretofore, I had a PC graphics card installed on my Mac Pro 4,1 (flashed to a 5,1), a Nvidia Geforce 650 Ti Boost. I got audio output over HDMI by installing HDMIAudio-1.1.kext and it worked splendidly. I moved up to an AMD RX480 recently, and I can no longer select the HDMI device for audio output. It is connected a DP to HDMI 2.0 converter (only so I can have 2160p60 output on my 4K TV). But I have also connected it directly to the card's HDMI port as well. Additionally, I see that that there's no driver installed for this in System Profiler.

    pci1002,aaf0:

    Type: Audio Controller
    Driver Installed: No
    MSI: No
    Bus: PCI
    Slot: Slot-1
    Vendor ID: 0x1002
    Device ID: 0xaaf0
    Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x1682
    Subsystem ID: 0xaaf0
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    Link Width: x16
    Link Speed: 2.5 GT/s​

    I was speculating that the RX480's PCI ID numbers aren't included in the HDMIAudio.kext package. My thought was to rip apart the HDMIAudio.kext and put in vendor and device IDs that are mentioned in the above printout. (I am not a device driver developer!) Does anybody have any ideas about how to tackle this?
     
  7. DanDRuiz

    DanDRuiz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 16, 2016 at 5:00 AM #127
    DanDRuiz

    DanDRuiz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi all - I've tried using this to get HDMI Audio out, but no dice. I originally was using the HDMI Audio from the intel 530 GPU on my i5-6600k CPU, but just picked up an Nvidia GTX 970. I had to add a section to the config.plist for AppleGraphicsDevicePolicy because my monitor was going to sleep mode during the boot, and that allowed me to get functioning video output. But I can't seem to get HDMI Audio output from my GTX 970, even installing this HDMIAudio 1.1 kext to s/l/e or EFI. Any ideas? I've attached my current config.plist to see if anyone can point something out that I missed. Thanks!!!
     

    Attached Files:

  8. shangjun2x

    shangjun2x

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    10.12.0
    CPU:
    i7-3700
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Nov 20, 2016 at 12:53 AM #128
    shangjun2x

    shangjun2x

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    10.12.0
    CPU:
    i7-3700
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Does it work with RX480?
     
  9. B-San

    B-San

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    406
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    HD 4000
    Nov 24, 2016 at 1:07 AM #129
    B-San

    B-San

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    406
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    HD 4000
    Works with my GTX970 via displayport into a 34" ultrawide Samsung. Running 10.10.5; I opened the .dmg file then installed HDMIAudio.kext via Ketx Wizard before rebuilding cache and repairing disk permissions. Oh yeah, still running Chimera on the rig as well.
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2016
  10. boobajoob

    boobajoob

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    GA-H170-Gaming 3
    CPU:
    i5 6400
    Graphics:
    GTX 750 Ti
    Dec 16, 2016 at 12:23 AM #130
    boobajoob

    boobajoob

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    GA-H170-Gaming 3
    CPU:
    i5 6400
    Graphics:
    GTX 750 Ti
    :headbang: Works great on 10.12.2 with a 750Ti! Thank you so much!
     

Share This Page