Chimera Boot Issue with Time Machine Disks

Discussion in 'Chimera Bug Reports' started by MTB, May 27, 2014.

  1. MTB

    MTB

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 650 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    LC, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 27, 2014 at 3:20 AM #1
    MTB

    MTB

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 650 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    LC, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    In several places around these forms are threads about an issue involving Chimera spontaneously failing to boot on systems with large Time Machine drives. On a previously working system, not undergoing any sort of upgrade, Chimera will hang on the \|/- text spinner as long as the offending drive is connected to the system. This issue affects both internal and external drives, and most users report it on drives larger than 1 TB.

    Here are a couple of threads detailing the issue, amongst others:
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/chimera-b...out-presence-internal-time-machine-drive.html
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/mavericks...-ud5h-doesnt-reach-bootloader.html#post783235

    Several years ago, the accomplished hu45ndP4k proposed a patch:
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/chimera-a...angs-if-usb-time-machine-hdd-present-fix.html

    However, it appears that his fix has not yet made its way into the main Chimera trunk.

    Evidence suggests that this bug has existed in Chimera/Chameleon for many years, but is becoming more prevalent now as more and more users have large Time Machine drives. Is there anything that we can do to move this issue forward?
     
  2. sodom76

    sodom76

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 rev. 2 (FB)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 920
    Graphics:
    nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti
    Jul 6, 2014 at 10:24 AM #2
    sodom76

    sodom76

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 rev. 2 (FB)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 920
    Graphics:
    nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti
    This startet happening to me today, too... a fix would be highly appreciated.
     
  3. bman4789

    bman4789

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce 760
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 14, 2014 at 3:59 AM #3
    bman4789

    bman4789

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce 760
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, SE
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    This started happening with me as well. I unplugged the SATA power cable from my internal 1 TB HDD used only for Time Machine, and then Chimera loaded instead of being stuck on "-" or "\".
     
  4. GabeDamien

    GabeDamien

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus V Gene
    CPU:
    Intel 3770K @ 4.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX 670 DCII 2GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 18, 2014 at 10:20 PM #4
    GabeDamien

    GabeDamien

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus V Gene
    CPU:
    Intel 3770K @ 4.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    Asus GTX 670 DCII 2GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Please fix this… I could reformat my TM drive, but then I'd lose all my backups! That's not a solution, that's a (bad) workaround. In the meantime I'm operating sans hourly backups… not good.
     
  5. MTB

    MTB

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 650 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    LC, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 21, 2014 at 7:13 AM #5
    MTB

    MTB

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 650 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    LC, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Don't hold your breath for a quick fix -- this bug has been sitting untouched for quite a while now. I'm afraid you're stuck erasing your backups or buying another drive.
     
  6. rkerr1699

    rkerr1699

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    Mac OS 10.7
    CPU:
    2.8 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    GeForce 9500 GT
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 20, 2015 at 12:06 AM #6
    rkerr1699

    rkerr1699

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    Mac OS 10.7
    CPU:
    2.8 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    GeForce 9500 GT
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Just had this issue happen to me. I did not find this thread until after I found the issue after an embarrassing number of hours of frustration. In case this happens to someone else, here is what happened to me:

    1. Had a fully functioning 10.10.2
    2. Through the App Store, upgraded to 10.10.3
    3. Following the restart during the update, computer did not boot.
    3a. Did not get to the Chimera screen
    3b. Would not boot to my carbon copy backup drive
    3c. Would not boot to my USB stick
    4. Searched here and elsewhere for things like (placing these here in case others do similar searches):
    4a. "hackintosh will not boot to chimera"
    4b. "stuck at spinning cursor"
    4c. "hackintosh chimera will not launch"
    4d. "hackintosh upgrade to 10.10.3 no boot"
    4e. None of those brought me here and not of the threads I did find provided a solution
    5. Thought maybe I had a hardware failure that was coincident with the upgrade. Long shot, but was at a loss. So I created and tried to boot from an Ubuntu DVD. Boot worked fine, Ubuntu fully functional
    6. Stuck for a while
    6a. Not hardware, Ubuntu boots
    6b. Can't be related to 10.10.3, system is not getting that far
    6c. Can't change settings in Chimera, system is not getting that far
    6d. Can't boot from daily clone, gets the same result as main boot disk
    6e. Can't boot from USB stick, gets the same result as main boot disk
    7. Decided to disconnect every cable from the CPU except for PS2 keyboard and monitor and tried to boot
    8. Boot success!
    9. Reconnected 1 device at a time and rebooted after each
    10. Isolated the issue to my Western Digital USB 1TB hard drive which is my Time Machine backup disk
    11. With the WD disconnected and a booted up and fully functioning 10.10.3, I connected the WD. Connected fine so I kicked off a backup. Worked fine.
    12. Decided to try a restart with the WD connected and functional. Did not work. Pulled the WD, restarted, all good.

    So, if something like this happens to you, disconnect your Time Machine drive and try to reboot.

    Hope it works!

    Not sure what I am going to do about my Time Machine backups. Guess I will need to plug the WD in after each boot and remember to unplug it before a reboot. Anyone have a better solution than that?
     
  7. rkerr1699

    rkerr1699

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    Mac OS 10.7
    CPU:
    2.8 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    GeForce 9500 GT
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 20, 2015 at 12:24 AM #7
    rkerr1699

    rkerr1699

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    Mac OS 10.7
    CPU:
    2.8 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    GeForce 9500 GT
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
  8. MTB

    MTB

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 650 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    LC, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 22, 2015 at 9:52 PM #8
    MTB

    MTB

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Core i5-3570K
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 650 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    LC, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Possible solutions:
    1. Reformat affected Time Machine drive and hope the corruption doesn't happen again
    2. Unplug/replug before each boot (only works if affected Time Machine drive is external)
    3. Update org.chameleon.Boot.plist to force it to scan only one drive (will break dual boot)
    4. Switch to the Clover bootloader

    For me:
    1. Reformat worked, then problem recurred a couple months later — FAIL
    2. My TM drive is internal — FAIL
    3. I dual boot OS X and Win7 from two SSDs — FAIL
    4. Clover works great — SUCCESS
     

Share This Page