Chimera 1.9 - Dual/Triple NVIDIA GeForce with Stock DSDT!

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by tonymacx86, Mar 24, 2012.

  1. fwood

    fwood

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte z68xp-ud4
    CPU:
    i7 2600k @ 4,2ghz
    Graphics:
    PNY Quadro FX 4600
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Mar 27, 2012 at 5:40 PM #21
    fwood

    fwood

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte z68xp-ud4
    CPU:
    i7 2600k @ 4,2ghz
    Graphics:
    PNY Quadro FX 4600
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Please...let me understand! :eek:
    I have two different nvidia ( a 9600gt and a quadro fx 4600), i have two pciexpress slots on my motherboard but it dosen't support nvidia sli tecnology (only ati crossfire). So, to have two nvidia card working together ..i need:
    1/ a motherboard supporting Sli
    2/ two nvidia twice
    Right??
    Since my motherboard dosen't support SLI...if i put the second vga (9600gt) it will work just to have other monitor working? I use a efi string in boot.plist for my quadro, so i can remove it using the last chimera on snow leopard ? :eek:

    Anyway this is a great work!! :clap: :clap: :clap:
    if i can't use it now...surely ill use on my new hardware !
     
  2. Solidww

    Solidww

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,116
    Motherboard:
    GA-X58A-UD5
    CPU:
    i7-970
    Graphics:
    GTX560Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 27, 2012 at 5:44 PM #22
    Solidww

    Solidww

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,116
    Motherboard:
    GA-X58A-UD5
    CPU:
    i7-970
    Graphics:
    GTX560Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    So, if this is true then just add the 8800GT to the board and it will work with the GTX 285. Wow, awesomeness :clap:
    Will I need to set the GTX285 to the first PCIX16 slot still and the 8800GT to second slot or can they be reversed?
    Can I also just install the new NVIDIA support or a full reinstall is required? :crazy:
     
  3. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,441
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 27, 2012 at 5:44 PM #23
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,441
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    No SLI strap necessary- it just works- but keep in mind many mATX boards don't have two x16 PCIe slots.

    @ALL: Post your results!
     
  4. Mate94

    Mate94

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3,604
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P5Q
    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5750
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Mar 27, 2012 at 5:45 PM #24
    Mate94

    Mate94

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3,604
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P5Q
    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5750
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Close enough... and it's a great deterrent example. If you want 6 monitors, you will need to get three nVidia cards. I mean it's very pricey if somebody want high performance.

    Thanks for enlightenment.
     
  5. Mate94

    Mate94

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3,604
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P5Q
    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5750
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Mar 27, 2012 at 5:46 PM #25
    Mate94

    Mate94

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3,604
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P5Q
    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5750
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Don't look at me... :lol:
     
  6. karacho

    karacho

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,723
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z97M-D3H
    CPU:
    Core i5-4690K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon RX 560 Pulse 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Mar 27, 2012 at 5:50 PM #26
    karacho

    karacho

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,723
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z97M-D3H
    CPU:
    Core i5-4690K
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon RX 560 Pulse 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    ...who knows? ;)
     
  7. Hexa

    Hexa

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Motherboard:
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    CPU:
    i7-3930K
    Graphics:
    XFX Radeon HD 6870 Black Edition V2 1GB
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 27, 2012 at 5:59 PM #27
    Hexa

    Hexa

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Motherboard:
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    CPU:
    i7-3930K
    Graphics:
    XFX Radeon HD 6870 Black Edition V2 1GB
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    before the processor with no name

    there are now
    Over deze Mac.png

    Thanks Macman and tonymacx86
     

    Attached Files:

    • Over deze Mac.png  (80.2 KB, 825 views)
  8. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,441
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 27, 2012 at 6:07 PM #28
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,441
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Yay! Sandy Bridge-E Xeon id'd :D :thumbup:
     
  9. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,441
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 27, 2012 at 9:18 PM #29
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,441
    Motherboard:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Had a chance to test Unigine 'Heaven' Benchmarks on Windows 7 / Mac OS X 10.7.3 today.

    Specs:
    Asus P8P67 Pro
    Core i5-2500K
    GeForce GTX 460 768mb
    GeForce GTS 450 1GB
    (SLI Strapped)

    Windows 7 (OpenGL)
    [​IMG]

    Mac OS X (OpenGL)
    [​IMG]

    Windows 7 (Default DX11)
    [​IMG]


    Edit- GTX 460 only
    Mac OS X (OpenGL)
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 28, 2016
  10. kissandtellMAC74

    kissandtellMAC74

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    227
    Motherboard:
    MSI x58 pro-E
    CPU:
    intel Xeon 5650 (3.8 ghz)
    Graphics:
    Gainward Geforce gtx 950
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Mar 27, 2012 at 10:21 PM #30
    kissandtellMAC74

    kissandtellMAC74

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    227
    Motherboard:
    MSI x58 pro-E
    CPU:
    intel Xeon 5650 (3.8 ghz)
    Graphics:
    Gainward Geforce gtx 950
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I don't understand yet: two graphic cards (even different models) that work simultaneously and multiply their power? Or just a way to use multiple monitors or different card with different OSX versions?

    thank you
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice