Contribute
Register

Building a Hackintosh that can boot Windows 7 but need help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone,

I’m looking to build a hackintosh (Mountain Lion, Mavericks, Yosemite, El Capitan, any one of these I don’t mind) that can also boot Windows 7. I need something fairly powerful as I will be using it for video editing on Adobe Premiere and gaming, but I am a complete noob when it comes to building a computer.

I have been researching for about 2 weeks now and I’m still confused :(

I have a list of parts but I don’t know if they will be compatible.

CPU - Intel Core i7-4820K (3.70Ghz) or Intel Core i7-2600k (3.40Ghz)

Motherboard - no clue????

GPU - Nvidia GeForce GTX 960 2GB or 4GB?

Ram - going to need 16gb but not sure to go with DDR3 PC12800 1600MHz 240 Pin or DDR4 PC17000 2133MHz 288 Pin

Storage - WD Blue WD10EZEX 1 TB 3.5" SATA along with a WD Purple WD20PURX 2TB 3.5" SATAIII

Cooler - Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO CPU Air Cooler

Power supply - Corsair CP-9020048 600W (not sure if 600W is enough or too much)

Case - CiT Venom Mesh Gaming Case with Black Interior and 12cm Blue LED Fan

The biggest problem I was having was finding a motherboard that would be compatible. I have checked this site and the recommended ones are very expensive. I don’t know if it is because I live in England, but the motherboards that are recommend are like £300+??? I’m probably just a moron and am looking at the wrong thing but I would appreciate anyone who could help me out with this :)

Thanks very much,

Paul

Hi everyone,

I’m looking to build a hackintosh (Mountain Lion, Mavericks, Yosemite, El Capitan, any one of these I don’t mind) that can also boot Windows 7. I need something fairly powerful as I will be using it for video editing on Adobe Premiere and gaming, but I am a complete noob when it comes to building a computer.

I have been researching for about 2 weeks now and I’m still confused :(