Contribute
Register

Asus X299 - Support

Joined
Mar 12, 2012
Messages
102
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
I9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey guys,

I have a Gigabyte X299, and, because the KGP thread is closed, I am posting this here :

Mobo : Gigabyte X299 Designare EX
GPU : AMD Radeon VII MSI
PSU : Corsair RM850x
RAM : 32Go Corsair

The main features is working very fine, I have more than 50K score in Luxmark but I have some little issue :

1) The bottom Ethernet port isn't working with IntelMausiEthernet.kext, only the first one.
2) When it sleeps, I need to reboot because of a kernel Panic
3) I tried a lot of things but TB3 hotplug isn't working.

Thank you !
I think you are missing a couple of kexts in your config file. Have you considered following KGP's guide and do a clean build? Or maybe just read through it you may find the answer. It gets confusing but it will teach you a lot.
Also post a copy of your "EFI/Clover/Config file".

Sorry I can't be more help.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,397
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey guys,

I have a Gigabyte X299, and, because the KGP thread is closed, I am posting this here :

Mobo : Gigabyte X299 Designare EX
GPU : AMD Radeon VII MSI
PSU : Corsair RM850x
RAM : 32Go Corsair

The main features is working very fine, I have more than 50K score in Luxmark but I have some little issue :

1) The bottom Ethernet port isn't working with IntelMausiEthernet.kext, only the first one.
2) When it sleeps, I need to reboot because of a kernel Panic
3) I tried a lot of things but TB3 hotplug isn't working.


1) You will need the SmallTree kext for the other port on that mobo. (See attached)

2) Sleep is always buggy in general on all Hackintoshes and very picky. Can you post your EFI so we can see what you have going on there? It's best to have a clean and streamlined config file and EFI folder.

3) Hotplug for TB3 is also buggy.
 

Attachments

JimmyS

Retired
Joined
Oct 16, 2012
Messages
143
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299-Deluxe
CPU
i7-7820X
Graphics
Vega 56
Mobile Phone
iOS
Anyone else having their sleep broken with combination of Clover r4961 + VirtualSMC 1.0.5
Or with OpenCore release 0.0.3 + VirtualSMC 1.0.5?

With either of these combinations, the machine no longer enters S3 sleep. In syslog I can see following:
Code:
2019-06-10 15:52:39.646488+0300Â  localhost kernel[0]: (AppleACPIPlatform) System sleep prevented by THSS
2019-06-10 15:52:39.646492+0300Â  localhost kernel[0]: (AppleACPIPlatform) System sleep prevented by THSS

A previous release of Clover (r4945) was fine with VSMC 1.0.5 and also OpenCore 0.0.2 +VSMC 1.0.4 were fine.

I tried removing THSS device from the SSDT, but then sleep was prevented by PMCR. Then I removed PMCR too, and that let the machine go to sleep again, but on wake there is a KP and it seems that GPU is no longer powered up and I had to recycle power to get the machine to even post again. So yeah, not a clever move. But since I have no clue I allow myself to try anything basically :crazy:

Any ideas how to proceed?

Ps. Clover r4961 + FakeSMC 3.5.2 is fine, sleep works again. Would like to get OC + VSMC 100% working though.
FYI, this is now solved.
Fixed by @vit9696 in VirtualSMC master.
 
Joined
May 23, 2019
Messages
8
Motherboard
Ga-x299-Designare EX
CPU
i9-7920X
Graphics
AMD Radeon VII
Hello,

Thank you for you replies, I will try SmallTree and let you know @izo1.
Here is my clover folder.

Thank you all for your help.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 23, 2019
Messages
8
Motherboard
Ga-x299-Designare EX
CPU
i9-7920X
Graphics
AMD Radeon VII
@izo1 IntelSmalltree works for my dual ethernet ! Thank you !
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,397
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hello,

Thank you for you replies, I will try SmallTree and let you know @izo1.
Here is my clover folder.

Thank you all for your help.
Here's a cleaned up EFI folder for you. I used to have your MOBO, so had an older folder I could look at for reference. Note that I also set up your USB Kext so you don't need to use a USB Limit patch, which makes upgrading OS updates much easier and cleaner. The Designare EX has a ton of USB hubs so if you see that some of your USB ports are not showing up (which shouldn't be an issue) let us know and we can figure it out and modify your USB kext.

Also I am just following your specs, the 7920x and Radeon VII...unless any hardware changed, this should be good to go.

As a precaution, always keep a backup of your current working EFI before you swap it out with any other one. And always have a Windows partition installed on a separate drive for easy troubleshooting (such as mounting an EFI folder, swapping stuff out, etc)....and also it's best to have a clone of your main OS. I personally use CloneZilla to do a 1:1 copy of the boot drive to a secondary drive (which I am using as external now, but always disconnected)...this way if the main OS drive goes down I can boot from the clone. Or clone back to the main NVME to "restore" to a working state. One downside with CloneZilla is that both the main and clone drive must be the same exact size, so if it's 1024MB the clone has to be 1024MB as well...

Also for controlling the audio/brightness controls, you can use MonitorControl (Just have it auto start on login). I am able to control the volume and brightness on my LG38U99 with a Apple Magic Spacegray Keyboard.

Also you might need to enter your current UUID into the config.plist under config.plist > SMBIOS > SmUUID by running this in the terminal and then copy/pasting the string into your config file. This will help with iMessage issues.

Code:
uuidgen
Good luck and enjoy
 

Attachments

Joined
May 23, 2019
Messages
8
Motherboard
Ga-x299-Designare EX
CPU
i9-7920X
Graphics
AMD Radeon VII
@izo1 Thank you very much ! I will try it and let you know
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2018
Messages
191
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Anybody else here updated the X299 Sage/10G to the latest BIOS released and got major slowdowns? I had to revert back to the older one.
 
Top