Another G4 Power Mac Mod (Sandy Bridge)

Discussion in 'PowerMac G4' started by Olli73, Mar 8, 2013.

  1. zombillano

    zombillano

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Mobo:
    HG-H61M-HD2
    CPU:
    g2030
    Graphics:
    GeForce 210
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iBook, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Oct 30, 2015 at 7:41 PM #21
    zombillano

    zombillano

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Mobo:
    HG-H61M-HD2
    CPU:
    g2030
    Graphics:
    GeForce 210
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iBook, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Do you know if your method of cleaning the case works with other apple products? I mean, iPods (like the acrylic in the ipod Video, iPod Photo, etc, etc) or in the iMac G5? even with the first version of Macbook?

    Greetings!
     
  2. Kronos87

    Kronos87

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    May 15, 2016 at 7:03 PM #22
    Kronos87

    Kronos87

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Hey thanks for this post. I soldered the powerboard button thing like you did, but I do not now where to put the LED jumper on. Is it just one cable? For me it looks like so. First I put it onto the HHD LED pin on the mobo. The result was, when I pressed the power button, the led flashed. Now I put it onto the power LED pin and there is no light.
    Thank you very much
     
  3. DifferentComputers

    DifferentComputers

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170M-D3H
    CPU:
    i5 6600 3.3Ghz
    Graphics:
    Intel 530
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    20th Anniv. Mac, iMac, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 7, 2017 at 9:40 PM #23
    DifferentComputers

    DifferentComputers

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170M-D3H
    CPU:
    i5 6600 3.3Ghz
    Graphics:
    Intel 530
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    20th Anniv. Mac, iMac, Plus, Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hope the OP is still reading here. From your pics, it looks like you have routed some of your cables outside the case but inside the plastic shell. Got any pictures? I'm planning to do the same, at least for those cables that end up at the outside edge of the open case.
     
  4. Olli73

    Olli73

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 OSX10.6.8 & 10.9.2
    CPU:
    i5 2500k@3.6GHz
    Graphics:
    ASUS EN210 Silent DI 1GD3/V2 LP 1024MB
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    eMac, iBook, iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Feb 4, 2017 at 3:17 PM #24
    Olli73

    Olli73

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 OSX10.6.8 & 10.9.2
    CPU:
    i5 2500k@3.6GHz
    Graphics:
    ASUS EN210 Silent DI 1GD3/V2 LP 1024MB
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    eMac, iBook, iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sorry for being so late... I only drop by every now and then. To answer Your question, no, i did not put any of the cables between the inner case and outer plastic shell. But i want to do that at some point, probably when i put in a new board... I was thinking on it though and if i´m going to do it i will need to cut some openings through the door as the cables are either too thick or openings are in the wrong places etc. . I also want more ventilation, which definitely requires cutting...

    Olli
     
    DifferentComputers likes this.

Share This Page