Contribute
Register

A story with a happy ending... I hope...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Z97mx Gaming 5
CPU
I5-4690k
Graphics
290 & 290x crossfire
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi guys,

im pretty new to hackintoshing and I am having issues with the post installation. I might be failing because of being a complete noob so I expect and hope that you guys are able to help.

Computer spec:

windows 10
AMD 290 and 290x (using the 290 for the hackintosh)
i5 4690k
gigabyte z97mx - gaming 5
1x 8gb Kingston
120gb sandisk ssd (windows)
32gb sandisk ssd (hackintosh)
2x hdd's for storeage

After having issues formatting the ssd for hackintosh I replaced the saga cable and got El capital installed and running.

however the graphics are in a bit of a bad way. They are not smooth and often corrupt a webpage with static.
i have followed every guide available for r9 290 cards but I have had no luck. This could be however caused by my lack of understanding of clover configure. Every change I do does not seem to do anything and the Mac is seeing the gpu as a 7mb unit.
also every time I open clover it says "cannot find efi partition" I mount every time I make changeds but maybe I its not booting from that?

someone please enlighten me. :) I think the clover problem is more likely to be the issue as I I have read and tryed every Internet forum post on the 290.

after this we can address my other issues ;)

cheers
david

Well, I've had some smaller issues with clover and with the gpu on my first attempts too.

First: Did you install the correct Clover Version for your board? In my case (with a MSI H97 - which is really similar to the Z97 Chipset/boards) I got everything running with the UEFI-Version (Clover_v2.3k_r3320-UEFI).
So installing El Capitan, booting from USB into your System, installing UEFI-Clover, mounting the newly installed EFI-Partition and editing the CLOVER/config.plist to your needs ... reboot. done.