4530S WiFi whitelist

Discussion in 'HP ProBook 4530s' started by BigDonkey, Mar 19, 2012.

  1. Micky1979

    Micky1979

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    440
    Motherboard:
    HP DV7-6190sl
    CPU:
    2630qm
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000+AMD 6770m
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Apr 29, 2012 at 12:18 AM #41
    Micky1979

    Micky1979

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    440
    Motherboard:
    HP DV7-6190sl
    CPU:
    2630qm
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000+AMD 6770m
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    This was the first guide I've found on the net and it's really very usefull, but it cannot be applied for the new Broadcom chips (94313, 943224, 943225, 94330).

    [/quote:15eeyfqx]
    Sorry, you're right!
    I unwisely exchanged for another model as above.

    However, looking here and there, I found this program:
    http://rweverything.myweb.hinet.net/

    I have installed it in Windows, and seems to give very much information ...
    If you want to try, do you think might be helpful to get a file (for Atheros AR9285 card) to be written to EEPROM?
    This program is used to edit the bios of the PC (he can read binary directly from hardware, and you can easily find the subsys id)
    (http://forums.mydigitallife.info/threads/29789-RW-Everything-Latest-News)

    PS (Speaking on the phone with HP Service, the operator has confirmed to me that withelist are the same for HP BIOSes. He argues that to have a specific model of wifi card, you can use HP's external partners, asking for a specific card.

    Obviously the most interesting would think the Atheros, but unfortunately I'm not sure on what operators said :lol: :lol: :lol: )
     
  2. Micky1979

    Micky1979

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    440
    Motherboard:
    HP DV7-6190sl
    CPU:
    2630qm
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000+AMD 6770m
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 8, 2012 at 2:52 PM #42
    Micky1979

    Micky1979

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    440
    Motherboard:
    HP DV7-6190sl
    CPU:
    2630qm
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000+AMD 6770m
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    For my bios no error at boot, but RSA signed bios reset CMOS when saving settings.
    There are two keys (which no one has found) in Insyde Flash Utility (RSA version), but also in CMOS. By extracting the bios directly from the chip (with a dedicated program), the bios is fully decrypted, then the problem is not flash, but the signature check on it!


    I assume you have bios F20 (sp54862), I've attached "module whitelist" in your bios.

    Unbelievable, but your bios is not encrypted!
    seems should be more easier to hack, no RSA signed=no CMOS reset=no semibrick
    ...... if you are able to do the recovery procedure with a usb key, maybe you can do all the tests you want, you can read the wifi id and subsys well, id flipped in hex. Simply replace one or more, replacing id is much less invasive (with a part number easier to buy).
    How to know the new id? turn on your laptop and then stops booting, insert new wifi card, and then proceed with the boot, lspci et voilà!

    Now I'm at work (it's morning here), tonight I try to give more information

    EDIT

    to compile a new bios, need to create a APCI report with RW - Read & Write (.rw extensions) and new wifi id (vendor + subsys), within a short time, compiled the new F20 bios files ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  3. BigDonkey

    BigDonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Motherboard:
    HP-4540S
    CPU:
    i5-3210M
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Jun 8, 2012 at 4:25 PM #43
    BigDonkey

    BigDonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Motherboard:
    HP-4540S
    CPU:
    i5-3210M
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Thanks Micky1979

    It will take me some time to setup the whole environment.

    I've got
    - BIOS F.0A (I've seen link to it somewhere on forum)
    - Phoenixtool 1.96 (will look for version 2.02)
    - Hex Workshop
    - original Windows 7 hard drive with BIOS recovery F.04 (I will create USB versions for F.04 F.0A and F.20)
    - RW report (at this point not sure what is this needed for)

    It seems like in the file attached there are 3 instances of device id. Did you replace every single occurance? What option need to be checked to compile BIOS back?

    EDIT:
    found link to F.0A (thanks Greg)
    http://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp54001-54500/sp54030.exe
     
  4. Micky1979

    Micky1979

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    440
    Motherboard:
    HP DV7-6190sl
    CPU:
    2630qm
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000+AMD 6770m
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 8, 2012 at 4:51 PM #44
    Micky1979

    Micky1979

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    440
    Motherboard:
    HP DV7-6190sl
    CPU:
    2630qm
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000+AMD 6770m
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    This is a F.04 bios' withelist (not encrypted too :thumbup: )

    ....After i'll post a tool

    EDIT


    RW reports, perhaps not needed in this case, but he compares what you have in your original bios (SLIC table in the first place) by comparing the new and the old, very important:

    I would be happy that everything is ok on a new build
     

    Attached Files:

  5. BigDonkey

    BigDonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Motherboard:
    HP-4540S
    CPU:
    i5-3210M
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Jun 8, 2012 at 5:54 PM #45
    BigDonkey

    BigDonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Motherboard:
    HP-4540S
    CPU:
    i5-3210M
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    OK

    I've got following 4530S family BIOS 68SRR recovery files:
    F.04 F.09 F.0A F.20
    Ready to do some flashing.

    I've also got two half-size mini-pcie Broadcom cards
    BCM 4313 and BCM 43224

    Linux lspci command reveals following vendor, device id's

    BCM4313 14E4:4727 103C:1483
    BCM43224 14E4:4353 103C:1509

    Hex search inside posted rom module shows 2 occurrences for BCM4313 and 1 occurrence for BCM43224
    BCM4313 passes whitelist check
    BCM43224 fails check with error message "WLAN module not supported".

    As an exercise I'm going to replace BCM4313 id's with BCM43224 to see if it passes boot check.
    Replacing using Hex Workshop following hex string:

    E4 14 27 47 3C 10 83 14 with
    E4 14 53 43 3C 10 09 15

    Micky1979 how do I compile all files back into BIOS ?
     
  6. eleron

    eleron

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Motherboard:
    hp 450 g2
    CPU:
    i5-4210U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4400 1366x768
    Jun 8, 2012 at 7:43 PM #46
    eleron

    eleron

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Motherboard:
    hp 450 g2
    CPU:
    i5-4210U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4400 1366x768
    Hi,I`ve tried this method http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index. ... pic=278208 (without "_")some time ago but could`t flash the patched bios.I am using bios F20 ,may be with earlier version you will have more luck.
     
  7. Micky1979

    Micky1979

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    440
    Motherboard:
    HP DV7-6190sl
    CPU:
    2630qm
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000+AMD 6770m
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jun 8, 2012 at 7:46 PM #47
    Micky1979

    Micky1979

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    440
    Motherboard:
    HP DV7-6190sl
    CPU:
    2630qm
    Graphics:
    Intel HD3000+AMD 6770m
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    First of all, you know that this is really dangerous for Your PC! Who uses this is all at your own risk, without complain if something goes wrong! So the best way to be sure to recover your PC if it does not work anymore:

    http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsuppor...Id=101&prodSeriesId=3688712&prodTypeId=321957

    In the link above is the actual recovery procedure, which works well for me. Unfortunately for you, I do not know, then search your and TRY first.
    This is very important, because if the bios is broken, nothing will work:

    - no reflash original in Windows (why not turn on the PC)

    - no usb key (with dos boot system, as above)


    only recovery procedure!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!




    Unpack your bios biosfile.exe with 7zip or Winrar, now begins:

    Open Phoenixtool as Administrator Phoenixtool and locate your original bios files, and wait for unpacking. after it has decompressed, choose "other" as the Manufacture and then HP files. HP files for "SLIC Files", and "SLP Files" (included in Phoenixtool) and RW acpi report (make it with RW-Everything) :

    [​IMG]

    Phoenixtool, after have said where are the certificates, will attempt to say how they should call the file to recover the bios:

    [​IMG]

    "SMC.BI" is the real name of the file for a real emergency bios recovery? Only you know (look in HP site)




    After the dump has finished, obviously don't close phoenixtool, because now everything is in memory! so you must seek your whitelist (BC6F4AC5-F86D-8BA2-4C4A-7645994EC631_2_574.ROM) and make a copy of which make the changes.

    Once this is done press "Advance" and put checkmarks to allow Phoenixtool, to wait and make the changes inside the folder to "DUMP".

    [​IMG]

    Press "Done" and then "GO"

    After a few moments of processing, Phoenixtool will stop, and allow you to make changes, at which point we will replace the withelist:

    [​IMG]

    Go forward until the message that everything is ok, and the bios is ready and will tell us where to find it and how it is called:

    [​IMG]


    I assume that to be used, you must rename as the original, when used with the installer.

    With the recovery procedure of the bios, you do have to find as it should be called the bios file!

    There is just try to flash


    thank to Andy for this fantastic and unique tool
     

    Attached Files:

  8. BigDonkey

    BigDonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Motherboard:
    HP-4540S
    CPU:
    i5-3210M
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Jun 8, 2012 at 8:46 PM #48
    BigDonkey

    BigDonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Motherboard:
    HP-4540S
    CPU:
    i5-3210M
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Thank you.

    I followed the steps and replaced the whitelist module with altered one. Phoenix tool successfully created new BIOS. I used that to create new ROM.CAB. Flash tool recognized it and flashing began.
    On the boot "Caps Lock" started blinking and nothing else happened. I had my recovery drive so I pulled it and restored the laptop back.
    Tried again by creating another BIOS file and the same thing occurred. It seems that our Probooks are resistant to flashing. I will try different options and report back.

    Thank you Micky1979. Procedure helped me a lot. Now I can experiment with my bios.
     
  9. Dewitts

    Dewitts

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,161
    Motherboard:
    HP Probook 4530s
    CPU:
    i5 2410m
    Graphics:
    HD3000 & Radeon 6490m
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 10, 2012 at 12:19 AM #49
    Dewitts

    Dewitts

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,161
    Motherboard:
    HP Probook 4530s
    CPU:
    i5 2410m
    Graphics:
    HD3000 & Radeon 6490m
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
  10. BigDonkey

    BigDonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Motherboard:
    HP-4540S
    CPU:
    i5-3210M
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Jun 10, 2012 at 4:19 AM #50
    BigDonkey

    BigDonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Motherboard:
    HP-4540S
    CPU:
    i5-3210M
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Thanks!
    I'm checked the forum and created the USB drive from the link posted. Not all files work for Probook.
    Most of it relates to altering SLP, SLIC for people who bought laptops without Win7. Don't see much for BIOS changes yet.
    I will keep on reading.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice