Contribute
Register

X299 Big Sur Support

Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,553
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yesterday I changed the RAM and after a few hours ...
View attachment 486760

Can you post your EFI zip?

If it works longer now due to new ram then we're getting somewhere now. It may be related to bad RAM sockets and so on, but lets take a look at your EFI now.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2010
Messages
445
Motherboard
Asus Pro WS x299 Sage II
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You can't set negative offset by using -, negative offset is set by a normal multiplier in the negative offset box.



They just bump specced the iMac with RDNA, I wouldn't be surprised if they bump spec the Mac Pro like they did the iMac Pro too with newer parts. The base will probably be 10core and then they'll put RDNA2 GPUs on the base model because right now it's still Polaris. They have to make new MPX modules for every update.


I am saying I cannot put any value in those fields they are grayed out, it skips over those fields cannot even land in them to change any value period! :)
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,553
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am saying I cannot put any value in those fields they are grayed out, it skips over those fields cannot even land in them to change any value period! :)

That is weird. Sync All Core can't be turned on?
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2010
Messages
445
Motherboard
Asus Pro WS x299 Sage II
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
That is weird. Sync All Core can't be turned on?

Yes I can set that field to all the options in that menu, but the fields for the two negative offsets that are set to 0 cannot be changed, they are locked at 0.

Edited OMG I thought I was suppose to enter the values in each field that was set to 0 when it fact I was literally suppose to type the value into both AUTO fields above. Another user error, maybe tweak the guide a little make note to type right over auto to enter the values.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,553
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes I can set that field to all the options in that menu, but the fields for the two negative offsets that are set to 0 cannot be changed, they are locked at 0.

No idea, might be a bug in your BIOS. Never seen such a problem.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2010
Messages
445
Motherboard
Asus Pro WS x299 Sage II
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No idea, might be a bug in your BIOS. Never seen such a problem.

Figured it out I have to type the number literally over Auto. If I don't want any overclock do I still need to set this to 3 and 2? Thanks!
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2010
Messages
445
Motherboard
Asus Pro WS x299 Sage II
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
RX 5500 XT
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Anyone using a BCM94360CD wifi/BT card and adapter? Have you noticed in the Bios under System Agent/PEG Configuration its not actually recognized as taking up a slot, even tried different slots but its just not being recognized or populated just looks empty, the red LED is on meaning its powered but once it boots into MacOS, it functions perfectly.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,553
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Figured it out I have to type the number literally over Auto. If I don't want any overclock do I still need to set this to 3 and 2? Thanks!

You can also use +/- on the keyboard I think, besides writing numbers in, that's how ASUS works. I think it caps out at 8/8, they are just offsets after all.

If you don't want to do anything, type in Auto in both. Test benchmarks in Auto mode and then 3/2 to see what it does to heat/wattage/speed, it's kind of up to you to figure this out, there is no perfect solution.
 

Ellybz

Retired
Joined
Apr 16, 2017
Messages
417
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 WU-8
CPU
I9-7980Xe
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Because I still see a lot of people using value "0" on their scan policy; here's my method to get the proper value:
( Resulting in less crowded options in the Bootpicker )

Let’s say your config has Windows (NTFS) & MacOS (APFS) on Satas & NVMe Drives, but you’d also like to scan your USB for OS Installation purpose.
1- Enter your Calculator in MacOS ( to enter Programmer mode press: CMD+3 )
this window will appear:

Screen Shot 2020-09-04 at 11.34.03.png

2- Without entering any numeric values, click on the desired binary value ( in front of the arrow ) to switch it from 0 to 1 ( 0= False / 1=True )
By doing so the big Hex value will appear:

ScreenShot Hexa.png

Now we have:
FSL + DL+ APFS+NTFS+SATA+SAS/Mac NVMe +NVMe+USB. = 0x2B0903
0 + 1 + 8 + 11 + 16 + 17 + 19 + 21 = 0x2B0903
( Note that if the ESP Value = 0 ( Bit10 ) no EFIs will be scanned.)

3- Converting that HEX value to Decimal ( Any Hex Converter will do )
0x2B0903 -> 2820355
Your New Scan Policy is now: 2820355

Done!
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2020-09-04 at 11.34.16.png
    Screen Shot 2020-09-04 at 11.34.16.png
    681 KB · Views: 98
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 18, 2017
Messages
1,008
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
2 X VEGA 56
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Because I still see a lot of people using value "0" on their scan policy; here's my method to get the proper value:
( Resulting in less crowded options in the Bootpicker )

Let’s say your config has Windows (NTFS) & MacOS (APFS) on Satas & NVMe Drives, but you’d also like to scan your USB for OS Installation purpose.
1- Enter your Calculator in MacOS ( to enter Programmer mode press: CMD+3 )
this window will appear:

View attachment 486896
2- Without entering any numeric values, click on the desired binary value ( in front of the red arrow ) to switch it from 0 to 1 ( 0= False / 1=True )
By doing so the big Hex value will appear:

View attachment 486897
Now we have:
FSL + DL+ APFS+NTFS+SATA+SAS/Mac NVMe +NVMe+USB. = 0x2B0903
0 + 1 + 8 + 11 + 16 + 17 + 19 + 21 = 0x2B0903
( Note that if the ESP Value = 0 ( Bit10 ) no EFIs will be scanned.)

3- Converting that HEX value to Decimal ( Any Hex Converter will do )
0x2B0903 -> 2820355
Your New Scan Policy is now: 2820355

Done!
Just great ! :thumbup:
 
Last edited:
Top