Contribute
Register

Wifi - TP-Link TL-WN951N - 64bit not working

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 21, 2010
Messages
75
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD3R 2.0 FH
CPU
i7 930 @ 3.8GHz
Graphics
HD 5770
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Evildemon989 said:
angelnieves said:
Evildemon989 said:
Not with your i7 it won't. Read the thread before you post, because I saw you posted on the insanelymac forum thread, and your answer is right there in the first post. ;)

i tried that method and it didnt seem to workout.
You didn't see the first post quote of RichBUK?:

it seems any i5/i7 hackintosh gets kernel panics with PCI based atheros ethernet devices.

I have a dlink DWA547 and it does the exact same thing. The same hardware and system disk did not KP when it was running with a P45 chipset and E8400 processor. Upgraded to an i7 and now it crashes. Setting Hyperthreading off and CPUS=1 stops it crashing but screws performance.

Suspect we need 10.6.3 to fix it as the i7 iMacs have a different build of OSX than 10.6.2

yeah i saw that after i submitted that last post. do you have any recommendations on compatiple OOB adapters that I can purchase?
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Messages
55
Motherboard
Apple MacBook Pro 15" Retina Mid 2014
CPU
1x 2,5-GHz quad-core Intel Core i7-processor (Turbo Boost 3,7 GHz) 256KB L2 cache, 6MB L3 cache
Graphics
1x Intel Iris Pro & 1x NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M met 2 GB GDDR5
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I had no luck either. Funny thing is, after my first install the TL-WN951N was working! Kinda. First time I got a KP when I clicked on the airport icon. Second time I got a KP when the AirPort Util listed available networks. Third time I could even login on a network and internet worked!

Sadly, I had to reinstall my system and now the card doesn't even show up anymore.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
39
Motherboard
Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows Server 2008, Mac OS
CPU
i5
Graphics
5870
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi all,

I've got the same WiFi card TL-WN951N and the computer hangs after clicking on Air icon. Is any chance to run it in 32bit????

I've tried to delete AppleHPET and also i've installed 2 kexts a it was mention in this topic before but without success. Any ideas how to get this work??? or shall i just buy another WiFi card.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
101
Motherboard
Blach
CPU
Blacjh
Graphics
fefe
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
lucas_kiwi said:
Hi all,

I've got the same WiFi card TL-WN951N and the computer hangs after clicking on Air icon. Is any chance to run it in 32bit????

I've tried to delete AppleHPET and also i've installed 2 kexts a it was mention in this topic before but without success. Any ideas how to get this work??? or shall i just buy another WiFi card.
Considering it hasn't gotten fixed yet, and it's been a fairly long time, I suggest you buy another card.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
39
Motherboard
Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows Server 2008, Mac OS
CPU
i5
Graphics
5870
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
thanks for your respond. Do you know what would be the best wireless card to buy ?
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Messages
55
Motherboard
Apple MacBook Pro 15" Retina Mid 2014
CPU
1x 2,5-GHz quad-core Intel Core i7-processor (Turbo Boost 3,7 GHz) 256KB L2 cache, 6MB L3 cache
Graphics
1x Intel Iris Pro & 1x NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M met 2 GB GDDR5
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Watch out with the DWA-556, I'm having no luck with it under 32bit.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
1
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Any solution for this with the 10.6.6 patch? I bought this based on search results saying that it worked. Found out later it had problems with i5/i7 :(
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2011
Messages
79
Motherboard
ASRock x79 Extreme4
CPU
E5-1650 v2
Graphics
GTX 760
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
well, lets say that in 64 bit is working but 2 minutes after starting up the computer i get a kernel panic. The network is functional during those 2 minutes though...
Im running 10.6.7, i dont have any kexts installed for this card or for the Atheros chipset.
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Messages
6
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Ranger
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 580
same here, bought the card to find out that it won't work with i7 cpu...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top