Contribute
Register

What Is The Recommend i7 Board For Hackintosh?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
I want an i7 rig - what board is the current champ as far as EVERYTHING working with not much effort? I'm new to the Hack world and while I can follow a guide - why not start with something that 'just works'.

I would like 8-12 gigs of ram and a nice video card mainly used for photography and video editing. I would like at least 6 SATA ports on my board - may not use them all but I want to have them for future expansion. I will also be dual-booting into Windows 7 64.

Thank you,

John

Which i7 are you planning on using? If it's the 1156 socket model then any of the Gigabyte P55 boards are great. The GA-P55-UD2 that I use is the same as the site's creator (which means that it'll be easy to get it running). You can get up to 16 GB of RAM in it and it has plenty of SATA.

That processor is for the 1366 socket so it uses motherboards with the X58 chipset. I've heard that people have gotten it running with Tony's boot CD, but you might have to use patched kernels instead of the vanilla kernel. Audio and Ethernet are the same as in many P55 boards, so you won't have much issues there. I'd take a look at the Gigabyte boards at newegg if you're going to go the X58 route:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=2010200280%2050001314%201070545356&name=LGA%201366

It should work as long as you make sure that the audio codec and ethernet solution on the board you're going for are supported in OS X.

But as adamsmasher said, you won't be able to run vanilla kernel unless you get a Xeon instead of a Core i7.

Thanks guys.... so I understand this - going with an i5 will be more compatible with OSX? I would really like the speed and extra cores of the i7 since I will be doing graphics.

Thanks,

John

thelostswede said: