Contribute
Register

Testing Thread: Skylake Platform in OS X

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 27, 2011
Messages
44
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170 Gaming G1 Rev 1.0
CPU
i7 6770K
Graphics
GTX 1080ti
Mac
  1. iMac
Intel 10 Series chipsets SATA work along with Asmedia 106 SATAs. Gigabyte Z170X Gaming G1/ i7 6770k all good. Build write up soon. Just sorting some SSDT stuff out.
 

Attachments

  • working-series-10-chipset.jpg
    working-series-10-chipset.jpg
    154 KB · Views: 178
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
326
Motherboard
HP 14-CE0501NA
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
When you have removed all PCI entries, use the same command until you only have one HD entry pointing to \EFI\CLOVER\CLOVERX64.EFI

Boot into OS X, mount your EFI partiton and RENAME the EFI/BOOT folder to something else like BOOT.BAK

Now you should not get any more entries.

My understanding is that this is caused by a bug in the AMI UEFI, which is adding a PCI boot entry every time it sees EFI/BOOT/BOOTX64.EFI, but by adding the /EFI/CLOVER/CLOVERX64.EFI (which is the same as the other) and removing EFI/BOOT/BOOTX64.EFI, we are circumventing the bug.


Hmmm renaming the BOOT folder to BOOT.BAK makes my system non-bootable.

I am getting the notorious "Insert boot media"... etc screen. As if there were no bootloader installed.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2012
Messages
199
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
RX-580
Yep same here when i tried it.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
304
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU
I5-6600K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hmmm renaming the BOOT folder to BOOT.BAK makes my system non-bootable.

I am getting the notorious "Insert boot media"... etc screen. As if there were no bootloader installed.

You said earlier that it worked, if it did, did you change your disk config in ANY way?

The fix is very depending on the exact disk config when you do it.

I have attached a picture from clover on my machine using the "bcfg boot dump" command.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0001.jpg
    IMG_0001.jpg
    703.8 KB · Views: 158
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
326
Motherboard
HP 14-CE0501NA
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
You said earlier that it worked, if it did, did you change your disk config in ANY way?

The fix is very depending on the exact disk config when you do it.

I have attached a picture from clover on my machine using the "bcfg boot dump" command.


Yes it did work - it did remove the booting options from my F12 boot device menu. I forgot to rename the folder though (shy) ... and when I did it did not detect a boot device at all. Do you want some pictures from my screen?
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
304
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU
I5-6600K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes it did work - it did remove the booting options from my F12 boot device menu. I forgot to rename the folder though (shy) ... and when I did it did not detect a boot device at all. Do you want some pictures from my screen?

Yeah, would be easier for me to see what is going on.

Did you have a way to recover?

Should probably have asked you to make a USB key to have another way of booting.

Also do you have a Windows install on your system?
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
57
Motherboard
HP Envy X360 15m-CN00xx
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
HD 620
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So I've made some pretty good progress on my first Hackintosh and here's my consolidated efforts:


SYSTEM
  • Processor: Intel Core i5-6500
  • Motherboard: Gigabyte Z170MX Gaming 5 (F1 BIOS)
  • Memory: G.Skill Ripjaw 4 series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4-2400
  • SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 120GB
  • SSD: Sandisk 120GB (unplugged, Windows 10 installed)
  • HDD: Seagate 1TB (unplugged, NTFS formatted)
  • HDD: Seagate 3TB (unplugged, unformatted)
  • Monitors: 2 Acer 23" 1080p displays. HDMI and DVI connections

SETUP


Hello everyone,

I have the The GA-Z170mx-Gaming 5 Board, I have everything working except sleep. I cannot map my usb 3.1 ports because I do not have any usb 3.1 devices and when I connect something to the usb 3.1 port it is recognized, but does not show up in ioregistry as a HS or SS device but under "AppleUSB20XHCIPort@00200000" I am using a GTX 650 for my graphics so all is well on that side, although sometimes I have to change the os version to 10.11 in clover during boot to avoid KP's
my usb-ssdt does not have usb 3.1 mapping because I could not determine the ports

Thank you

Just to update.

Fixed:
- Sleep Wake fixed by unplugging USB - Corsair H110i water cooling.
- Shutdown Fixed in config.plist by activating ShutdownFIX.
- Bluetooth Trackpad is working was only signal issue

Sleep now works thanks to Matey, I am also using the Corsair H110i Water Cooler which was causing sleep not to work. I excluded HS11 from my available usb, it is the internal usb header my cooler is connected to.

*Now I only need to fix the no audio after sleep issue*

Preface:

ready-made kext for 1150 on Gigabyte GA-Z79MX-gaming 5 and similar motherboards.
View attachment 146742

Link to download codec-commander:
https://github.com/Dolnor/EAPD-Codec-Commander (click download zip)

Audio after sleep now works with the help of a post from Tigersoul925, after installing the CodeCommander kext I had to restore the appleHDA kext in S/L/E and run Multibeast 8.0.1 to install only the Audio, your process may vary.

Thank you all, My system is working without any noticeable issues.

*I updated the attached config.plist and USB header layout with improved description.*
*As pointed out by Rehabman, USBinjectall is not optional, it is required. SSDT do not need be named sequentially.*
 

Attachments

  • About this mac.png
    About this mac.png
    59.3 KB · Views: 205
  • Geekbench 64bit.png
    Geekbench 64bit.png
    119 KB · Views: 182
  • Active USb devices.png
    Active USb devices.png
    185.4 KB · Views: 190
  • USb Device in 3.1 port.png
    USb Device in 3.1 port.png
    151.8 KB · Views: 173
  • SSDT-USB-GA-Z170MX-Gaming 5.aml
    888 bytes · Views: 111
  • USB Header z170MX.rtfd.zip
    74.8 KB · Views: 74
  • config.plist
    7.8 KB · Views: 219
Joined
Dec 17, 2015
Messages
1
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello, Help please...
I am tring first boot on asrock Z170 and GTX980ti.
i finished install OS 10.11.2 to hackintosh machine, then i did reboot after installing nvidia web driver.
but screen went to sleep mode with black screen...
I can see USB and System Drive icons on clover menu though, could not login from both.

How do i login mac os desktop by clover again?
Also, should I login from either icon for fix config file?

sorry noob question...
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2015
Messages
69
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170MX Gaming 5
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello everyone,

I cannot map my usb 3.1 ports because I do not have any usb 3.1 devices and when I connect something to the usb 3.1 port it is recognized, but does not show up in ioregistry as a HS or SS device but under "AppleUSB20XHCIPort@00200000"

The 3.1 ports seem to be on a different controller. I don't know a ton about it. You can see my discussion about it with RehabMan in the USB thread. I haven't messed around with my hackintosh in awhile because of the graphics. I'll probably end up getting a discrete graphics so I can use it fully and I'll get back into tweaking the hack's functionality.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
326
Motherboard
HP 14-CE0501NA
CPU
i5-8250U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
Yeah, would be easier for me to see what is going on.

Did you have a way to recover?

Should probably have asked you to make a USB key to have another way of booting.

Also do you have a Windows install on your system?


This time around it worked!! Last time when I renamed the boot directory it started acting as if I unplugged all disks. This time around it is booting just fine. Strange...

Note: I did reinstall in the meantime and re-formatted the drive. And no - I did not have Windows on it - it was a fresh SSD.

Anyway - Now that that problem is out of the way I'll try and figure out sound.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top