Contribute
Register

System Freezes; Screens go to one black one white. (Solved)

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
11,251
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Well maybe it did lead to or isolate the crashes... I never really wanted to admit that maybe it was the monitors or rather running two of them. When I got home I plugged the RX 560 in and put the second monitor on it. It booted no problem with both monitors One on the Vega 64 and one on the RX 560


Wow sees the card as Radeon RX 560 but Mac sees it as Radeon pro 555 the card is RX 560

Broke DRM
Preview Works
iTunes Music --- Wow: Did not crash after a few hours
Installed Parallels --- It also in the past had been running during crashes, ran it with wow and music for about an hour.
Installed iTunes on Parallels/Windows Running it with wow for about 45 mins watching a movie from Parallels.

So as long as it does not crash I guess I will be using it like this Currently my config is:

Mac Pro 6,1 no WG, no Lilu, No IGPU, No Renames (not really sure how I would do those) I tried reading the custom SSDT post that was totally confusing.

Parallels in coherence running windows for DRM content. :banghead::banghead:


@markmac no I do not have working any hardware encoding decoding.
I know you don't like using WhateverGreen, but there are quite a few users on my Z370 build thread who use multi-monitors with iMac18,3, IGPU, and WhateverGreen.

If you want to try the renames, here's how to do it:
Screen Shot 2018-10-06 at 7.48.56 AM.png


Using Parallels for DRM is a brilliant workaround.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
1,181
Motherboard
ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F
CPU
I5-8600K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I know you don't like using WhateverGreen, but there are quite a few users on my Z370 build thread who use multi-monitors with iMac18,3, IGPU, and WhateverGreen.

If you want to try the renames, here's how to do it:
View attachment 355681

Using Parallels for DRM is a brilliant workaround.
It is not that I do not like using it... it is more I have seen no value in using it. The crashes happen "iMac18,3, IGPU, and WhateverGreen". I will keep on testing the current configuration and see if the crashes come back. But at this point I feel like the problem is the dual 4k Monitors.

As you have proved to me it is not WG even though I blamed it. like I blamed the sound driver so the USB sound was not needed. However, the sound from this USB Sound blaster G5 is so so much better.

The iGPU always broke DRM so if the crashes happened with it enabled it was a no win on that.

I am not sure that it is brilliant but I do know that at some point I tested iTunes under Parallels before but the crash still happened.

I have tried three completely different CPU, Video, Cards, Memory, hard drives, power supplies, and mother boards. I have tried as many different configurations as I could come up with I removed the computer from the UPS it was plugged into. I even patted my head and rubbed my belly and still the crashes came. The only thing that was the same throwout the entire process was the 2 4k monitors.

As for the renames I know how to do the DSDT patching my problem is that I have Vega 64 in PEGP or at least what has been PEGP.. and the RX 560 in the port below it but what is that port? is it also PEGP? and the thread I was looking at said it should be GFX1 and GFX2 but I am not sure how that would be done in Clover.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
11,251
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
It is not that I do not like using it... it is more I have seen no value in using it. The crashes happen "iMac18,3, IGPU, and WhateverGreen". I will keep on testing the current configuration and see if the crashes come back. But at this point I feel like the problem is the dual 4k Monitors.

As you have proved to me it is not WG even though I blamed it. like I blamed the sound driver so the USB sound was not needed. However, the sound from this USB Sound blaster G5 is so so much better.

The iGPU always broke DRM so if the crashes happened with it enabled it was a no win on that.

I am not sure that it is brilliant but I do know that at some point I tested iTunes under Parallels before but the crash still happened.

I have tried three completely different CPU, Video, Cards, Memory, hard drives, power supplies, and mother boards. I have tried as many different configurations as I could come up with I removed the computer from the UPS it was plugged into. I even patted my head and rubbed my belly and still the crashes came. The only thing that was the same throwout the entire process was the 2 4k monitors.

As for the renames I know how to do the DSDT patching my problem is that I have Vega 64 in PEGP or at least what has been PEGP.. and the RX 560 in the port below it but what is that port? is it also PEGP? and the thread I was looking at said it should be GFX1 and GFX2 but I am not sure how that would be done in Clover.
You will need to look in IORegistryExplorer to see how the RX 560 is named.

Yes, I forgot you are using MacPro6,1 system definition... In that case, you should be using GFX1 and GFX2.

GFX1 = 47465831
GFX2 - 47465832
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
1,181
Motherboard
ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F
CPU
I5-8600K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
You will need to look in IORegistryExplorer to see how the RX 560 is named.

Yes, I forgot you are using MacPro6,1 system definition... In that case, you should be using GFX1 and GFX2.

GFX1 = 47465831
GFX2 - 47465832
Yea but would they both be PEGP ----->GFX1 and 2 ?

Guess you answered that but I think they are both PEGP when I looked there
 

Attachments

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
11,251
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yea but would they both be PEGP ----->GFX1 and 2 ?

Guess you answered that but I think they are both PEGP when I looked there
No, it shouldn't be. You have to look in IORegistryExplorer to see how the RX 560 is named or use WhateverGreen and let it do the renaming for you.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
1,181
Motherboard
ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F
CPU
I5-8600K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
No, it shouldn't be. You have to look in IORegistryExplorer to see how the RX 560 is named or use WhateverGreen and let it do the renaming for you.
I used WG it did not name them GFX1 or GFX2 however I could change it and make sure. I took it out and everything seemed the same. I added an image to the previous post.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
11,251
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I used WG it did not name them GFX1 or GFX2 however I could change it and make sure. I took it out and everything seemed the same. I added an image to the previous post.
WhateverGreen should be renaming it automatically... Instead of searching for AMD, try searching for PEG or GFX in IORegistryExplorer.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
1,181
Motherboard
ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F
CPU
I5-8600K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
WhateverGreen should be renaming it automatically... Instead of searching for AMD, try searching for PEG or GFX in IORegistryExplorer.
I am gong to bed I will put it back in later and search them again but I do not remember finding GFX at all outside of being in the driver name, and PEG finds pretty much the same stuff as display or AMD.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
1,181
Motherboard
ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F
CPU
I5-8600K
Graphics
RX580
Mac
Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
WhateverGreen should be renaming it automatically... Instead of searching for AMD, try searching for PEG or GFX in IORegistryExplorer.
Sorry yes WG renames them to GFX but only semi right it names the Vega GFX0@0 while it names the 560 GFX1@1. Here are two screen shots one with WE one with out. Let me ask you in the second shot it looks like one of the items is named display@0 is that the name I would change? I mean I guess I could change it myself but I am not sure how much I am up to breaking things today.

Just want to be sure

Change display to GFX1 Find 646973706c6179 Replace 47465831
Change PEPG to GFX 2 Find 50454750 Replace 47465832
 

Attachments

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
11,251
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Sorry yes WG renames them to GFX but only semi right it names the Vega GFX0@0 while it names the 560 GFX1@1. Here are two screen shots one with WE one with out. Let me ask you in the second shot it looks like one of the items is named display@0 is that the name I would change? I mean I guess I could change it myself but I am not sure how much I am up to breaking things today.

Just want to be sure

Change display to GFX1 Find 646973706c6179 Replace 47465831
Change PEPG to GFX 2 Find 50454750 Replace 47465832
No. As far as I know, the ACPI names should only be 3 or 4 characters. You may need to use the other rename method that uses ACPI path.

Screen Shot 2018-10-06 at 5.27.54 PM.png
 
Top