Contribute
Register

[Success] Radeon RX 6800 XT - Big Sur

Joined
May 29, 2012
Messages
581
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. LC
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@tedyun
First I would configure your iGPU to act only as accelerator for the system. Here is the DeviceProperties from my system with i9-10900k, but ig-platform-id is actually from Coffee Lake.
Also what SMBIOS are you using for your system?

View attachment 529006


Thanks, I'll try that. I used CaseySJ's framebuffer patch guide to get my iGPU working. I rarely use the output, and it only comes in useful in cases like this when I'm troubleshooting the dGPU. I normally use the dGPU for all video.

I'm using iMac19,1
 
Joined
May 29, 2012
Messages
581
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. LC
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@tedyun
Your config looks ok to me. Don't know why you see two device-ids in IOReg. I've noticed that your IOReg has a lot less info compared to my. Check what kexts you have loaded and if WEG is indeed working:

kextstat | grep -v com.apple


View attachment 529017:

I'll check if WEG is loading.

I believe the differences in the IOReg entry is because the driver for the card is not loading (due to the spoof not working correctly). Using the older dGPU (and the same ACPI path), the GFX0 entry has a lot more information.

Thanks

Ted
 
Last edited:

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,572
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
I'll check if WEG is loading.

I believe the differences in the IOReg entry is because the driver for the card is not loading (due to the spoof not working correctly). Using the older dGPU (and the same ACPI path), the GFX0 entry has a lot more information.

Thanks

Ted
Rather than changing the BRG0 to eGPU just add eGPU to the SSDT.

PCI0.PEG0.PEGP.EGPU.GFX0,

I think you need the BRG0 naming to get the device to change?

You may also try getting rid of the EGPU using a SSDT or open core setting? This way you could follow what the others have done in a simple fashion..
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2014
Messages
65
Motherboard
ASUS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Hey fellas any of you have experience with 2 6800/6900 XT opus?
 
Joined
May 29, 2012
Messages
581
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. LC
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Rather than changing the BRG0 to eGPU just add eGPU to the SSDT.

PCI0.PEG0.PEGP.EGPU.GFX0,

I think you need the BRG0 naming to get the device to change?

You may also try getting rid of the EGPU using a SSDT or open core setting? This way you could follow what the others have done in a simple fashion..


Thanks for the reply @Gigamaxx.

I'm afraid I'm a bit lost!

My IOReg shows an ACPI path as PCI0.PEG0.PEGP.EGP0.GFX0, so I tried to edit the "generic" example SSDT-BRG0.aml file that OpenCore includes in their release by editing the dsl file and compiling.

If I understand you correctly, you're suggesting to directly edit the example SSDT-BRG0.aml file, rather than going through the process of working with the dsl file, then compiling? I will try this.

I'll report back.

Thanks

Ted
 
Joined
May 29, 2012
Messages
581
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. LC
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for the reply @Gigamaxx.

I'm afraid I'm a bit lost!

My IOReg shows an ACPI path as PCI0.PEG0.PEGP.EGP0.GFX0, so I tried to edit the "generic" example SSDT-BRG0.aml file that OpenCore includes in their release by editing the dsl file and compiling.

If I understand you correctly, you're suggesting to directly edit the example SSDT-BRG0.aml file, rather than going through the process of working with the dsl file, then compiling? I will try this.

I'll report back.

Thanks

Ted


Incremental progress....

Well, editing the base aml file to substitute EGP0 where BRG0 didn't solve the trick. I'm still getting 2 device-id's, one with the 73af and the other with 73bf.

Interestingly, I disabled the aml, then deleted the DeviceProperties entry. Restarting, the bridge was labeled "pci-bridge" similar to adrigm10 here. Then, I transferred the original SSDT-BRG0.aml file and enabled it in the ACPI (but didn't spoof the DeviceProperties entry yet), restarted, and voila! The bridge was named BRG0! Excitedly, I put the entry into the DeviceProperties ...and....

Same problem :( two device-id's

I tried resetting the NVRAM to no avail.

Argh! I don't know why I'm getting two device-id's...
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2011
Messages
21
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-A II
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Workgroup Server
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I just installed RX 6900 XT red devil and it start working without any patches, but that card recognized as RX 5700 XT. When I start FCPX, it works perfect with metal acceleration, significant faster then any my earlier graphic card. I think that bad recognition doesn‘t influence on speed, but I would like right recognition. Any sugestion?
 

Attachments

  • mac pro info.jpg
    mac pro info.jpg
    80.4 KB · Views: 54
Joined
May 29, 2012
Messages
581
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. LC
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I just installed RX 6900 XT red devil and it start working without any patches, but that card recognized as RX 5700 XT. When I start FCPX, it works perfect with metal acceleration, significant faster then any my earlier graphic card. I think that bad recognition doesn‘t influence on speed, but I would like right recognition. Any sugestion?

It’s just a cosmetic thing. To fix it, I think you have to add a definition of your card in your DeviceProperties of your config.plist

You need to get the path of your card using Hackintool or gfxutil then add an entry.

Are you on OpenCore or Clover?
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2011
Messages
21
Motherboard
Asus Prime X299-A II
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Workgroup Server
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It’s just a cosmetic thing. To fix it, I think you have to add a definition of your card in your DeviceProperties of your config.plist

You need to get the path of your card using Hackintool or gfxutil then add an entry.

Are you on OpenCore or Clover?
Thank you. In the meantime I solved this thing. I find in OC some flag for rx 5700 and I disable it. Now everything is OK.
 
Joined
May 29, 2012
Messages
581
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. LC
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I got the XTXH card working by following Rocket88's post here.

I'm not getting any signal out of the HDMI port, but I'll take it!

Hoping that Apple will eventually support the 73AF cards....
Image 9-16-21 at 8.01 PM.jpeg
 
Last edited:
Top