Contribute
Register

[Success] Music Production w/ Sierra + GA-Z170X-GAMING 7 + GTX 1050 Ti + Thunderbolt Guide

Joined
Dec 20, 2017
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte - GA-Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
Intel - Core i7-7700K
Graphics
EVGA - GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iMac, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Were you ever able to get iMessage working? Running into not being able to sign in.
Finally got my "broadcom" board in the mail (seems bootleg if you ask me, but whatever, it works) and after a bit of doing, I got iMessage working using all "idiots" guide found on this site. That said, in the last couple weeks, following the 10.13.3 update, I basically started over to deal with some of the dead-ends the 17,1 profile was causing me. I'm now using 14,2 and things seem much easier. If you end up having any trouble with the iMessage set-up, do let me know-- there's a step at the end, the part about installing the NVRAM emulation ("EmuVariableUefi-64" and "Install RC scripts on the target volume") which, as it turns out are essential for our board.

... that and of course making sure you have the intel ethernet port working too, which isn't in Insalada's original post, but I think we know that, right?
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2018
Messages
31
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X Gaming 7
CPU
intel i7 - 6700
Graphics
Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1080 G1
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Finally got my "broadcom" board in the mail (seems bootleg if you ask me, but whatever, it works) and after a bit of doing, I got iMessage working using all "idiots" guide found on this site. That said, in the last couple weeks, following the 10.13.3 update, I basically started over to deal with some of the dead-ends the 17,1 profile was causing me. I'm now using 14,2 and things seem much easier. If you end up having any trouble with the iMessage set-up, do let me know-- there's a step at the end, the part about installing the NVRAM emulation ("EmuVariableUefi-64" and "Install RC scripts on the target volume") which, as it turns out are essential for our board.

... that and of course making sure you have the intel ethernet port working too, which isn't in Insalada's original post, but I think we know that, right?
Ahhh, good to know, thanks!

I was actually able to use the MLB and ROM numbers pulled of a very old Mac Pro 3,1 that I own and I haven't run into any issues with iMessage not working. It seems to work really well doing it that way so I didn't even bother messing with going though the whole 'idiots guide' thing.

The only thing left I'm trying to do now is get all the USP ports working...I have 2 x 3.0 and 2 x 2.0 on the front of the case.. they they are giving me really low speeds or don't work at all.

Oh also, I'm having a shutdown issue. When I go to shutdown sometimes it just hangs on my desktop, I don't have any finder menu options and I have to force a power cycle just to get the computer to turn off. It happens about 70% of the time.

Did you run into any of these yet?
Thanks man!
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2017
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte - GA-Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
Intel - Core i7-7700K
Graphics
EVGA - GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iMac, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Benjamin— I don’t have the shutdown or any obvious USB issues, though I did find my usb3 performance lackluster compared to an esata connection when I was editing off an external drive. I chalked it up to usb data transfer being packet based as opposed to streaming a la esata or thunderbolt. Anyhow, I’m curious to know, if you did profile your ports speed, what tool(s) you used to do so. I’d be happy to compare if you’ve got a test I can run.

Also curious, what system profile are you using?
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2018
Messages
31
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X Gaming 7
CPU
intel i7 - 6700
Graphics
Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1080 G1
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Benjamin— I don’t have the shutdown or any obvious USB issues, though I did find my usb3 performance lackluster compared to an esata connection when I was editing off an external drive. I chalked it up to usb data transfer being packet based as opposed to streaming a la esata or thunderbolt. Anyhow, I’m curious to know, if you did profile your ports speed, what tool(s) you used to do so. I’d be happy to compare if you’ve got a test I can run.

Also curious, what system profile are you using?
I'm using system profile 17,1 and it's been fine for me so far (minus the shutdown and USP port issues)
I actually didn't go about the process of profiling which USP ports I'm using or anything like that.. I basically just found someone on here with the same exact mobo who uploaded a copy of their USBInjectAll.kext and SSDT-USB.aml which I copied into the appropriate destinations. Then I looked at my system profile to and just sorta got a rough idea of the speed at which I was copying large video files, how quickly they were copying to get a rough idea. I should actually use a tool to get a better idea.

I was able to clone my drive over to a new Samsung NVMe M.2 860 EVO drive today and it's be a super fast upgrade with everything working great (knock on wood)
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2011
Messages
37
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
just reading through thread. audio works fine with same Gaming 7 mobo.
What was your process of updating to high sierra to fix the volume control.
You only get volume control if the output device supports it. Internal speakers gives the control, digital out doesn't. You should try selecting some other audio devices to see if any behave differently.
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2011
Messages
1
CPU
i3
Hi There,

After some struggling I finally got my hackintosh for music production (and a little bit of gaming in a dual boot windows partition). What I did might help you as all components are pretty new.

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z170x-Gaming 7: Overall, because of the thunderbolt port we'll need to connect the Apollo Quad interface
CPU: Intel Skylake i7 6700
Graphic card: EVGA Nvidia Geforce GTX 1050 Ti SC
RAM: Ballistix Sport DDR4 16Gb
SSD1: Samsung 850 Evo 250Gb
SSD2: SanDisk SDSSDA 120Gb
HD: Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM0100 1Tb
Power supply: Enermax Max Pro 600W
Cooler: Master Hyper 212X
Bluetooth: iogear GBU521W6
Case: Nox Hammer MC (didn't expect to be so cool BTW)
4k Monitor: HP Envy 27s
Apple Magic Mouse + Apple Keyboard (First version)

*All components have been acquired on Amazon (Spain)

Let's start with the guide!

1) Download Sierra from App Store and keep it in the original path (Apps folder) [I did this with a MacBook]
2) Create the Clover Installation USB selecting Sierra, UEFI, and no injection with UniBeast following the famous guide: Create a Bootable USB Drive with UniBeast
3) Download these apps and place all of them in a new folder on your Clover USB:
4) Download last BIOS version from here and place that file into a previously formatted USB as FAT32
5) Enter BIOS with USB plugged in and flash it with Q-Flash
6) Restart and enter BIOS choosing all these options (Very important to check/uncheck all of these)
* OS: Win8 HQ
* CMS Disable (very important to get the graphic card working properly)
* Peripherals > Select PCI Slot 1 (if you put the graphic card there, as it is the x16 pci express port)
* Peripherals > Disable internal graphics
* Chipset > VT-d > Disabled
* Chipset > Wake on Lan > Disabled
* BIOS > Full Screen LOGO Show > Disabled
* BIOS > Storage Boot Option Control > UEFI
* Peripherals > Thunderbolt (TM) Configuration > Security Level > No Security
* Peripherals > Super IO Configuration > Serial Port > Disabled
* Peripherals > USB Configuration > XHCI Hand-off > Enabled

7) Now we are ready to go. Save changes and exit. Insert the clover USB, enter BIOS again and choose it in Boot override (last screen) Be patient, takes a while to got it loaded. Before start the installation, go to Utilities/Disk Utility and create the partition in your primary drive (Samsung SSD). It must be OS X Extended (Journaled) and GUI Partition. Follow Sierra installation steps. DO NOT login into your iCloud account.

8) When it is installed, run Multibeast which you inserted into your clover usb before and choose these options:
* Quickstart -> UEFI Boot Mode
* FakeSMC
* Atheros ethernet 2200 series 100
* USB: Increase Max Port Limit & Generic USB 3.0 support
* Inject Nvidia Web
flag! (very important) [although you could do it later through config.plist]
* System Definitions: iMac 17,1 This is the only one supporting Skylake so far
(Nothing else!)

9) Now restart and start from your Sierra OS in the clover screen (should be as default)

10) Download 10.12.4 Combo update and install it. This is because I run into several graphic card drivers problems with the latest version 10.12.5, so I kept in 10.12.4. Restart.

11) Download Nvidia Web Drivers (Pascal support!) for 10.12.4 (not 10.12.5!). Install it.
12) Go to Preferences and Nvidia Pane, and choose NVIDIA Driver. Restart.
13) You will see NVIDIA Driver is not chosen yet, and OS X Driver is still selected though. Then run Clover EFI Bootloader v2 you downloaded before, and before start installation select Customize. Check the option EmuVariableUefi-64 within Drivers64Uefi. Proceed.
14) After restart you will likely see a black screen right after Apple Logo. Don't worry. Restart again keep pressing Control+Control+Command and just a hit on Power button of your case. If this is not working just force a restart.
15) In the clover boot screen go to options before Sierra is loaded. In Boot Args add this: nv_disable=1
16) When you enter in your ugly/slow desktop with no graphic acceleration download the AGDFix v1. There is a newer 1.3 version but it gave me several problems and didn't work in the end, so I used version 1.
17) Now you have the most important, a fluid usable desktop with the official drivers. You can test its powerful through Cinema Benchmark for Mac.
18) At this point I did all the steps through the HDMI cable, from now on wards I switched to DisplayPort cable to get 60hz on the 4k Monitor. Choose your desired resolution in Preferences > Displays
19) Place the SSDT-i7-6700.aml you got before renamed as SSDT.aml into your EFI Partition, Clover, Extra folder.
20) Modify your config.plist (EFI Partition > Clover > config.plist) and add this piece of code in the KextToPatch array:

Code:
     <key>KextsToPatch</key>
                <array>
[B]                        <dict>
                                <key>Comment</key>
                                <string>Skylake APIC fix, discovered by Pike R. Alpha</string>
                                <key>Find</key>
                                <data>
                                wegQD7bw
                                </data>
                                <key>Name</key>
                                <string>AppleAPIC</string>
                                <key>Replace</key>
                                <data>
                                vhcAAACQ
                                </data>
                        </dict>[/B]
Warning! Check after modifying it is correct with an editor like PlistEdit Pro I like to use.

* RAM) Recognized perfectly

* Ethernet) This motherboard has 2 Ethernet ports. The above one works out of the box, so I wouldn't use any kext if I were you, just plug Ethernet cable on that port. You will see in Windows it doesn't happen in that way, but we will talk about it later on.

* Thunderbolt) Also works without any driver BUT, in order to get it working more stable, which is a very important word when it comes to work with audio, you will need to flash the thunderbolt port:

* Flashing the thunderbolt port) Unfortunately you can only do this on Windows. So what I did first is the Windows Installation in dual boot that I wrote down below. After Windows is installed, download FW Thunderbolt Tool. (Too bad that original drivers are not in the Gigabyte website for this high-end mobo....unacceptable). Install and flash. As simple as feed a pig. Take into account that it is a known issue in hackintosh the lack of plug&play thunderbolt, so you will need to power your thunderbolt device [Apollo Quad in my case] before power on your computer. (Aggg)

* Fix shutdown) When shutdown you will notice that the computer wakes up and starts again. To fix this just mount your EFI partition with EFI Mounter in your USB. Go to EFI/Clover/ and open the file config.plist with Clover Configurator. In the ACPI section just check FixShutDown. Job done!

* Bluetooth) We want our apple mouse and keyboard to work, don't we. This IOGear USB works out of the box BUT it must be connected in the front USB ports of your case, otherwise it will be disconnected eeeevery restart, and that is a pain in the ass. AND I advice you to buy a USB extension cable because unless that IOGear is in front of your mouse/keyboard, it'll be a lot laggish. (Is that why is so cheap?)

* Windows DUAL Boot) It would be nice to have a windows partition with the sole purpose of gaming a little bit sometimes to take advantage of the graphic card, wouldn't be! AND for updating your thunderbolt port, which I strongly recommend. So just follow this guide to get windows installed. Take into account you'll need something like Rufus as the USB must be UEFI! When windows is installed, you will need the LAN drivers you'll find in the Gigabyte site, BUT: There are 2 Ethernet ports, if you want to use the same as your Sierra partition is using, you will need to install the BigFoot one! Otherwise, you can install the Intel one (below) but you will need either plug another Ethernet cable or find a valid kext for your Sierra. It's up to you, but I'd go for the BigFoot one (tested at 300mb/s)

* Audio) I didn't bother with audio as I am using the Apollo card, BUT, if you want your internal audio working, it'll be a bit trickier than the rest. You can follow this guide , but taking into account you won't have volume control. Or you can follow this one, with volume control. I didn't do any. If you find an easier way please let me know.

Enjoy your brand new hackintosh.
This Guide helped me so much
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
57
Motherboard
GB Z370-HD3P
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS,
Hi everybody: I have this perfect configuration as second hack..... Anyone succeded in dual monitor with an gtx1050?
I have a problem After booting (no signal) and if I plug my second monitor after login, I have a 1 second black screen every 30 seconds.....
I have EmuVariablesUefi and RC scripts installed, I’m using Lilu, AGDPfix.app, nVidia Web Driver.....
And 1 hdmi and 1 DP....
I really don’t know what else I can do.....
Thank you, Stefano
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2017
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte - GA-Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
Intel - Core i7-7700K
Graphics
EVGA - GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iMac, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi everybody: I have this perfect configuration as second hack..... Anyone succeded in dual monitor with an gtx1050?
I have a problem After booting (no signal) and if I plug my second monitor after login, I have a 1 second black screen every 30 seconds.....
I have EmuVariablesUefi and RC scripts installed, I’m using Lilu, AGDPfix.app, nVidia Web Driver.....
And 1 hdmi and 1 DP....
I really don’t know what else I can do.....
Thank you, Stefano
Yep. This fixes it: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/solved-black-screen-with-dual-monitor-connected.223082/
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2018
Messages
29
Motherboard
Gigabyte H270 gaming 3
CPU
intel 17 7700
Graphics
n/a
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
@insalada Is mainstage working for you, I get an error and it asks to reopen the app, but I can’t open it. Any ideas?
 
Top