Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] macOS Mojave | Asus Sabertooth X99 | i7 5820k | 32 GB RAM | RX Vega 56

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 14, 2013
Messages
7
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth x99
CPU
6800k
Graphics
geforce gt630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've got the same problem
but chikorita157 and Brad5126 have success with sabertooth x99
still waiting for their answers...
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
22
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. iMac
  3. Performa
  4. Power Mac
  5. PowerBook
  6. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
For it to work, you need to mount the EFI partition on the flash drive you generated and copy those files to the EFI/Clover folder, not to the partition that contains the installation files. You can mount the EFI partition using the EFI Mounter v3. You copy these files to the clover folder in the EFI folder (kext files goes into the kext/12.12 folder in the clover folder) and the config.plist file in the root of the clover folder. Then you should be able to boot into the installer.

If you need any clarification (i.e screenshots of how it should look like), let me know.

As for 12.12.04 update, you need to update Clover to r3994 or newer. Otherwise, none of the kexts in the clover Bootloader will get injected, causing Wifi, sound and ethernet not to work.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2013
Messages
5
CPU
i7-5820K
Graphics
GTX 980 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Been looking for some info for my exact setup for awhile (5820K, 980TI, and a Sabertooth X99 motherboard). I was able to follow your setup to install macOS Sierra. However, booting seems hugely hit-or-miss (half the time immediately stopping due to "couldn't allocate runtime area", and occasionally dying/crashing after "IOConsoleUsers: gIOScreenLockState").

After installation, I was able to run Multibeast, Clover Configurator and install the Nvidia Web Drivers (which version did you install?). But afterwards, it took a dozen reboots to get back into macOS, and even then, OS X Driver was selected, not Nvidia. Upon selecting Nvidia and rebooting, I can no longer get back into the system.

Guessing I fat-fingered something post-install but not sure what...
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,782
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Your motherboard's BIOS isn't preserving NVRAM to maintain the Nvidia driver setting. That problem is fixable. See Problem 6 in this Nvidia problem solving thread.

MultiBeast v9.1.0+ can install the EmuVariableUefi-64 for you so you don't have to use the standard Clover installer. At the Clover boot screen, tap the keyboard's SpaceBar, check the box for "nv_disable=1" and click on "boot with these options."

Run MultiBeast just selecting the following:
Bootloaders > Clover v2.4k r4063 UEFI Boot Mode + Emulated NVRAM
Customize > Graphics Configuration > NVIDIA Web Drivers Boot Flag
Build > Install​
Now reboot.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 30, 2013
Messages
5
CPU
i7-5820K
Graphics
GTX 980 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for the response. :)

So at this point, I have virtually everything working (except iMessage, but that's a separate Apple ID issue; works fine with my wife's ID, so yay!) with this machine. This is easily the best Hackintosh setup I've had to date, so huge, huuuuuge thanks to OP and the Tonymac community in general.

That said, the only thing still causing wonkiness (and maybe this just how it is) is the screensaver and sleep. Starting the screensaver causes a freeze about half the time (often within a few seconds) and sleep seems to shut down my machine, and refused to start back up after (took about a dozen tries before I finally got the machine to boot back up again).

Any advice for getting those working slightly more smoothly? I can live without either, tbh, but since I've gotten so much working, it wouldn't be right to push my luck. :p
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
22
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. iMac
  3. Performa
  4. Power Mac
  5. PowerBook
  6. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have issues with sleep not working, and it's something that is hard to set up with most hackintosh. I am still looking for a solution to that. But the freezing issue with the screensaver might have to be with the sleep time settings as I have the screensaver on and it never freezes.

Aside from that, I upgraded the video card from a 980 TI to a EVGA nVidia GTX 1070 8GB Hybrid card since the 980 Ti runs hot since it's a reference model and the Pascal drivers are out.

Bechmarks with GTX 1070
Novabench: 1680 RAM: 228, CPU: 1250, GPU: 134, Disk: 68
Cinebench
2017-06-26_16-50-37.png


Luxmark:
2017-06-26_16-49-13.png


Civ 6
Graphics Test:
gpubenchmark.jpg


AI Test: (Added recently)
aibenchmark.jpg


Heaven:
FPS:127.3
Score:3207
Min FPS:13.2
Max FPS: 315.9
Mode: 1920x1080 fullscreen
Quality: High
Tessellation: Moderate
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 24, 2016
Messages
10
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth TUF X99
CPU
Intel Core i7 5960x
Graphics
NVIDIA Titan X (Pascal)
Mobile Phone
Hey there,

I have a very similar system to this, details of which can be found on my profile. I would like to apologise from the cross post, as this was posted in its own thread a long while ago, however the advice I was given was to just obtain another GPU for installation. When I saw this thread I had a glimmer of hope, but the problem is exactly the same as before. I have followed the instructions to the letter, and copied the files where required.

When using the safe mode switch ( -x ), the system hangs:
safemode.jpg


When not using the safe mode switch, the system restarts at [pci configuration begin]:
std.jpg


I am very confused as to what the issue could be. I have also run optimised defaults in the BIOS, and reset back the options mentioned in the thread, to no avail. I have never been able to get to the first install screen. It has always hung or restarted on this system before I could get anywhere with it.

I would appreciate any help, thanks for your time!

- Jack
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
22
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. iMac
  3. Performa
  4. Power Mac
  5. PowerBook
  6. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey there,

I have a very similar system to this, details of which can be found on my profile. I would like to apologise from the cross post, as this was posted in its own thread a long while ago, however the advice I was given was to just obtain another GPU for installation. When I saw this thread I had a glimmer of hope, but the problem is exactly the same as before. I have followed the instructions to the letter, and copied the files where required.

When using the safe mode switch ( -x ), the system hangs:
View attachment 271441


When not using the safe mode switch, the system restarts at [pci configuration begin]:
View attachment 271442


I am very confused as to what the issue could be. I have also run optimised defaults in the BIOS, and reset back the options mentioned in the thread, to no avail. I have never been able to get to the first install screen. It has always hung or restarted on this system before I could get anywhere with it.

I would appreciate any help, thanks for your time!

- Jack

When I have the chance, I will create a copy of my EFI folder. It's probably something with the configuration or something.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2016
Messages
10
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth TUF X99
CPU
Intel Core i7 5960x
Graphics
NVIDIA Titan X (Pascal)
Mobile Phone
When I have the chance, I will create a copy of my EFI folder. It's probably something with the configuration or something.

Thanks! That will be awesome.

I did try copying the EFI folder over from the one that was at the beginning of the thread but by doing that the USB was no longer bootable.

- Jack

Edit: I just tried with the PCI=off switch and it seems to do the same thing. This time is says under PCI configuration begin "Console 800x600" but still reboots. Something seems a bit strange here...
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top