Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte AORUS Z370 Gaming 7 - i7-8700K - Nvidia GeForce GT740, Uadio Apollo 8

Joined
Jun 2, 2015
Messages
109
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 Gaming 7
CPU
9980XE
Graphics
Gigabyte 5700XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
jsconiers Build:
Gigabyte AORUS Z370 Gaming 7 - i7-8700K - Nvidia GeForce GT740

Components

GIGABYTE Z370 AORUS Gaming 7 Motherboard
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813145036

Team T-Force Dark 32GB 2x16GB DDR4-3000 32GB DDR4
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820313878

Intel i7-8700K Coffee Lake 6 core 3.7 Processor
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819117827

Cool Master ML240L RGB Processor Liquid Cooler
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=2YM-0004-00015

Sapphire Vega 64
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B074HCCWW9/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

BENQ EW3270u Display (Dual display)
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078HWBGH5/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

Fractal Design Refine R5 Black Window Silent ATX Case
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811352049

Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series 850W 80+ Gold Power Supply
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817151188

Apple Thunderbolt 3 to 2 adapter
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MQ26QIY/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

Samsung 850 EVO 1TB 2.5 SSD
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00OBRFFAS/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

Samsung 970 EVO 2TB M2 SSD
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CJ58654/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

Gigabyte Alpine Expansion Card Thunderbolt 3
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0722SV69N/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

OSXwifi Bluetooth/ WiFi PCIe Card (You can build this yourself much cheaper but I was in a rush)
http://www.osxwifi.com/apple-broadc...-bluetooth-4-0-with-adapter-for-pc-hackintosh

LG Blu-ray Optical Disk Drive
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00VXK7MYI/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

LG Electronics 14x SATA Blu-ray Internal Rewriter without Software, Black
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B007VPGL5U/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

Seagate 4TB Barracuda SATA 6Gb/s 256MB Cache 3.5-Inch Internal Hard Drive (ST4000DM004)
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071WLPRHN/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01M4KGTNI/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

Syba Low Profile PCI-Express 1394b/1394a
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002S53IG8/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

Corsair LED Fan
http://www.microcenter.com/product/484801/LL120_RGB_120mm_Case_Fan

HP SSD EX920 M.2
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0795Z97K7/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

Logitech C920 Web Cam
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B006JH8T3S/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

Intel X520-D2 Dual port 10gb Ethernet Card (purchased on eBay see instructions below)
https://ark.intel.com/products/39776/Intel-Ethernet-Converged-Network-Adapter-X520-DA2



Already Owned

Zotac Nvidea Geforce GT 740 Graphic Card
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814500340

Crucial CT960M500 SSD
2 monitors 23´ (Asus 1080p)
UAD Apollo 8 Thunderbolt
MPC Renaissance (connected via USB)
Roland Fantom G8 Keyboard (connected via USB)
Mac Wired Keyboard
Creative VF0790 Webcam
Logic Pro



UPDATED A FEW COMPONENTS
GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB (Required Nvidia web drivers install)
64GB of RAM: Bought another set for 64GB total.
Corsair LED Fan: More cooling.
Syba Firewire Card for firewire ports. Works out of the box.
Added an HP SSD EX920 M.2 Cloned my boot drive over. Will now use the other SSD for windows and backups.
Added a Logitech C920 Camera for webcam
Added X520-DA2 10gb Network card
Added Sapphire Vega 64 Video card. it replaced the 1050 TI and worked out of the box with no changes.
Upgraded to Mojave 10.14 then 10.14.1 then 10.14.3 without any issues.
Upgraded to 2TB 970 SSD
Upgraded to 2 BenQ EW3270U Displays running at 4K

Comments

Trying to build the ultimate workstation to work with UAD Apollo and two UAD-2 Satellites. Logic Pro, Adobe Suite, etc. The system works flawlessly. Had an issue with waking up from sleep but adding the kext from colder to EFI resolved. Small secondary 320GB 2.5 SATA drive has Windows 10 install, but it has been removed as I don't run windows.


Summary

macOS and Windows 10 are fully compatible to hardware changes and re-arrange themselves with the new components. Everything just worked after first time boot.
In OS X all hardware is working with FakeID method for Coffee Lake to Kaby Lake spoofing.Could not get Onboard Ethernet to work but I admit I didn't try very hard as I already had WiFi card working.
Motherboard audio work. (I use the UAD anyway)
It´s super silent. (great for a recording studio)
Updating to 64GB of memory, replacing hard drive with M2, and getting a better graphics card once prices go down.
Upgraded to 10gb Card for faster network connection
Updated Video card to Vega64
Updated to Mojave Release and all patches

Note: If you upgrade from High Sierra to Mojave please remember to down load and install new version of VLC, libdvdread, libdvdnav, and libdvdcss. (brew install libdvdread libdvdnav libdvdcss dvdrtools dvd\+rw-tools after you have done brew update and brew upgrade ) This fixed my problem and now encoding is correct.

IMPORTANT!!!!
BIOS SETTIGS ARE VERY IMPORTANT!!!!!!

BIOS Settings
1 Save & Exit → Load Optimized Defaults
2 M.I.T. → Advanced Memory Settings Extreme Memory Profile(X.M.P.) : Profile1
3 BIOS → Fast Boot : Disabled
4 BIOS → LAN PXE Boot Option ROM : Disabled
5 BIOS → Storage Boot Option Control : UEFI
6 Peripherals → Trusted Computing → Security Device Support : Disable
7 Peripherals → Network Stack Configuration → Network Stack : Disabled
8 Peripherals → USB Configuration → Legacy USB Support : Auto
9 Peripherals → USB Configuration → XHCI Hand-off : Enabled
10 Chipset → Vt-d : Disabled
11 Chipset → Wake on LAN Enable : Disabled
12 Chipset → IOAPIC 24-119 Entries : Enabled
13 Peripherals → Initial Display Output : PCIe 1 Slot
14 Chipset → Integrated Graphics : Disabled


Post Configuration

1. Use MultiBeast for boot loader and onboard sound if you need it. You will need the wake driver as well. Screenshots of my Bios will be coming shortly.

2. Install Nvidia Graphics if needed.

3. Setup Trim for Ssd drives: sudo trimforce enable

4. Setup Intel X520 10GB network card: Please refer to this post as this is where I pulled my instructions.
A. Create a bootable live linux disk and boot off the Dvd after inserting the card into the system.
(I used Fedora others have used Ubuntu. For me Ubuntu kept hanging )
B. Locate what the 10gb card came up as using "ifconfig -a"
C. BACKUP EEPROM (DO THIS!): ethtool -e ethX raw on > ethX.bin (hint if you have a usb thumb drive and can be saved there.
D. Determine Vendor, Device, and subsystem IDs
lspci -nn -vvv | grep Ethernet
01:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Intel Corporation 82599ES 10-Gigabit SFI/SFP+ Network Connection [8086:10fb] (rev 01)
Subsystem: Intel Corporation Ethernet Server Adapter X520-2 [8086:7a11]
01:00.1 Ethernet controller [0200]: Intel Corporation 82599ES 10-Gigabit SFI/SFP+ Network Connection [8086:10fb] (rev 01)
Subsystem: Intel Corporation Ethernet Server Adapter X520-2 [8086:7a11]


E. FIND THE RELEVANT OFFSETS!
By running the following command and eyeballing the offsets I've discovered that these are the two values on my Intel X520-DA2 card:
ethtool -e eth1 | less (or run the command but | grep for 320)
"0x0320: 03 00 1f 00 00 00 00 2b 03 13 11 7a 86 80 a6 10"

So, if we start at offset 0x0320 you would count 0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,a,b,c,d,e,f for each pair of digits.
The values we need to change are 11 at 0x032a and 7a at 0x032b. We can remove the 0 to shorten to 0x32a and 0x32b

F. Change the offset values (please be aware that on my cards and other the card is actually enp0s0 & enp0s1 and not eth1)
COMMAND WE NEED TO USE TO CHANGE OFFSET VALUES:
ethtool -E ethX magic 0x<device id><vendor id> offset 0x<offset> value 0x<value>
So, for an Intel X520-DA2 (8086:10fb), to set subsys ID of 0x000a we would run:
sudo ethtool -E eth1 magic 0x10fb8086 offset 0x32a value 0x0a
sudo ethtool -E eth1 magic 0x10fb8086 offset 0x32b value 0x00
sudo ethtool -E eth2 magic 0x10fb8086 offset 0x32a value 0x0a
sudo ethtool -E eth2 magic 0x10fb8086 offset 0x32b value 0x00

In order to allow the ethtool to write to the EEPROM you need the magic value specific to your card, which is: 0x<device id><vendor id>
The command below will show these values:
lspci -nn -vvv | grep Ethernet
NOTE these are not the Subsystem values, they are the device and vendor IDs, in this case 10fb and 8086.
Here's a useful reference:

G. Reboot system
H. (OPTIONAL) Boot into windows if possible and disable Boot Prom as it may cause problems
In order to do this you will need to download Intel's BOOTUTIL and run the following command on a Windows PC:
https://downloadcenter.intel.com/do...s-Boot-Utility-Preboot-Images-and-EFI-Drivers

bootutil -nic=1 -FLASHDISABLE
bootutil -nic=2 -FLASHDISABLE

I. Install small tree driver and reboot again.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 2, 2015
Messages
109
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 Gaming 7
CPU
9980XE
Graphics
Gigabyte 5700XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
These are the current bench marks. This week I'm overclocking the CPU ~5GHZ, updating the system to 64GB of ram, 1TB Samsung 960 Pro M2 and will provide an updated benchmark. Also looking for a better graphics card capable of driving two 4k monitors.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2018-03-12 at 12.35.31 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2018-03-12 at 12.35.31 AM.png
    87.1 KB · Views: 737
  • Screen Shot 2018-03-12 at 12.40.05 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2018-03-12 at 12.40.05 AM.png
    65.8 KB · Views: 808
Joined
Dec 9, 2016
Messages
46
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus VIII Hero
CPU
Intel I7 6700K 4.00GHz
Graphics
NVidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
These are the current bench marks. This week I'm overclocking the CPU ~5GHZ, updating the system to 64GB of ram, 1TB Samsung 960 Pro M2 and will provide an updated benchmark. Also looking for a better graphics card capable of driving two 4k monitors.

HI!
Can you give me some advice?
Did you have any problem using a 3.0. Pen drive for your installation (no USB2 ports) or you used a 2.0 USB pen drive on one USB 3 port?
Any news about your overclocking of the CPU?
I see that you have OC RAM as well.
More that 2666 MHz is refered as O.C. On the mobo specs...
Any specific BIOS seting for that? Or the motherboard simply detects and runs that frequency modules?
Thanks
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2015
Messages
109
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 Gaming 7
CPU
9980XE
Graphics
Gigabyte 5700XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
HI!
Can you give me some advice?
Did you have any problem using a 3.0. Pen drive for your installation (no USB2 ports) or you used a 2.0 USB pen drive on one USB 3 port?
Any news about your overclocking of the CPU?
I see that you have OC RAM as well.
More that 2666 MHz is refered as O.C. On the mobo specs...
Any specific BIOS seting for that? Or the motherboard simply detects and runs that frequency modules?
Thanks

Hi,
I had no problem using the the 3.0 or 2.0 ports. I've booted the system off Lexar and Dark Traveler USB drives that are 3.0 in both the 2.0 and 3.0 slots without a problem. You can also boot off a usb c drive as well. I have not overclocked yet. Make sure you add extra thermal paste to your CPU cooler. When I do this weekend I will use these as a reference to get to 5.0GHZ:

https://overclocking.guide/gigabyte-z370-overclocking-coffee-lake/


I upgraded the video card to a 1050 TI gaming for better graphics, upgraded to 64GB of memory, and added an additional fan in preparation of overclocking. Overclocking to 5.0 GHZ with settings should be here this weekend. When my 960 Pro gets here I'll move it to M2 and that will be it.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2016
Messages
46
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus VIII Hero
CPU
Intel I7 6700K 4.00GHz
Graphics
NVidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,
I had no problem using the the 3.0 or 2.0 ports. I've booted the system off Lexar and Dark Traveler USB drives that are 3.0 in both the 2.0 and 3.0 slots without a problem. You can also boot off a usb c drive as well. I have not overclocked yet. Make sure you add extra thermal paste to your CPU cooler. When I do this weekend I will use these as a reference to get to 5.0GHZ:

https://overclocking.guide/gigabyte-z370-overclocking-coffee-lake/


I upgraded the video card to a 1050 TI gaming for better graphics, upgraded to 64GB of memory, and added an additional fan in preparation of overclocking. Overclocking to 5.0 GHZ with settings should be here this weekend. When my 960 Pro gets here I'll move it to M2 and that will be it.

Thanks for the link :)
What was your memory choice for the oc upgrade?
Gpu upgrade was easy?
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2015
Messages
109
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 Gaming 7
CPU
9980XE
Graphics
Gigabyte 5700XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Do not under any circumstances purchase the p981 flash drive. It’s the OEM version of the new Samsung 970 pro. I purchased the 1tb version at what I thought was a good price. My system has been unstable since it was installed. Making it your boot drive does not work. Other threads are out there saying you could do an install to a different drive then clone to the nvme drive. I haven’t tried it. Removing it and going back to the standard 2.5 ssd.

On the good side over clocking is easy and stable. I’m up to 5GHz
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2016
Messages
46
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus VIII Hero
CPU
Intel I7 6700K 4.00GHz
Graphics
NVidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Help!!!
I cannot access the pen drive.
Have no option to select other OS on BIOS setings and my EFI partition does not get recognized.
I have the latest BIOS F5 installed.
Any ideas.
Already tried booting with USB 2 and USB 3 pen drives...

Components
...

I cannot access the EFI partition on the USB drive
BIOS version is the latest - F5
Which USB port did you use.
i already tried using USB 2 and USB 3 pen drives and cannot install OSX
My OS options on BIOS only accept Win 8/10 and Win 8/10 W...
Can you help me?

SOLVED
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 2, 2015
Messages
109
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 Gaming 7
CPU
9980XE
Graphics
Gigabyte 5700XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The BIOS version I am running is F5. At first I was on F2, then after the whole NVME disaster I had to re-install so I took the time to update the BIOS on the motherboard, Thunderbolt card and 1050 GTX. You do not have to select other OS on BIOS. Mine says Win 8/10 as well. I have used USB 2 and USB 3 ports and USB 2 and USB 3 usb drives to boot off. My Case has front USB 2 and 3 ports and those are the ones I usually use as its easier for me to pull the drive after the install. Although I have used the rear 3.0 port once as well. Either your BIOS settings are incorrect or your USB drive is not setup correctly. If you hit F12 during the bootup, the BIOS should give you options to boot off of. You must choose the UEFI (on my BIOS it gives me the pen drive twice...one says EFI the other doesn't do not choose the one that doesn't say EFI). If its not showing I would assume the USB drive is not setup correctly. you can also go into the BIOS and it will show you the boot order. It is very important to check your BIOS settings and your USB drive.

Help!!!
I cannot access the pen drive.
Have no option to select other OS on BIOS setings and my EFI partition does not get recognized.
I have the latest BIOS F5 installed.
Any ideas.
Already tried booting with USB 2 and USB 3 pen drives...



I cannot access the EFI partition on the USB drive
BIOS version is the latest - F5
Which USB port did you use.
i already tried using USB 2 and USB 3 pen drives and cannot install OSX
My OS options on BIOS only accept Win 8/10 and Win 8/10 W...
Can you help me?
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2016
Messages
46
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus VIII Hero
CPU
Intel I7 6700K 4.00GHz
Graphics
NVidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Had to use Unibeast version 8.0.0 instead of the latter to get the pen drive recognised with 2 partitions...
only one of the USB 2 ports on the front of the case is working fine with the installation.
now I can install the OSX...
Thanks for your reply.
 
Top