CPU
i5-3570K
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
First of all - I am a total newbie to the Hackintosh world.
I have a brand new build - as per my profile, and as per the "pro" build suggestions here on tonymacx86.

My plan was to run Mountain Lion - and migrate my existing data and apps from my 10.6.8 Snow Leopard - Macbook Pro. It is an early 2007 build, not capable of running ML. I am doing a lot of graphics and was getting tired of the limited Ram and screen size too!

I managed to get Snow Leopard installed on my Hackintosh and functioning on one of the HDrives - using iBoot for Ivy Bridge on a CD, however it would not boot from the HD using Easybeast thereafter. Then I restored from my CCClone - external drive backup - to the same HD. That install seems to be functioning although I have not attempted to get the proper Video, Audio or wireless functioning.

Using Disk Utility from within that install, I formatted the second drive - and attempted to use my Unibeast prepped USB stick to install Mountain Lion. It got to the part where it wants to reboot and then when it attempts to do so I get a Kernel Panic error. I have no idea what to do from here !

MY FIRST QUESTION is - with the hardware I have, will Snow Leopard actually USE the 32 GB of Ram I have, even though it only shows 4GB in the "about this Mac" - it does all show under the hardware list for the memory.

MY SECOND QUESTION - what would I need to do to get that drive to boot into that install of Snow Leopard.

My THIRD QUESTION - what would I need to do to get Mountain Lion installed and functioning ?

Many thanks for input if you have some.

Ruth

There is absolutely no support for Ivy Bridge chipsets/CPUs in the 10.6.x Snow Leopard kernel.

You cannot install and run Snow Leopard on Ivy Bridge and boot from HDD.