Contribute
Register

Radeon RX 4XX/5XX standalone system, AMDRadeonX4250.kext (GVA support H264) does not support HEVC HW

Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
969
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
familygw and macnb,

Thank you for posting your OpenCore configurations. I think we're chomping at the bit
in here, waiting for Sniki's new version. I'm also using Opencore 0.5.8 and looked through
your configurations.

I didn't see any of the patches equivalent to fix HPET from use of CorpNewt's SSDTTime.
Do you think those are not necessary?

Also, I noticed that you're using FakeSMC instead of VirtualSMC. Is that just for the sensors,
or did you find some other benefit? It seems like VirtualSMC is the only one supported as
we go forward.

Thanks again for any comments you may have.

Lisa
For my motherboard, did not need any patches in ACPI except the USB2 patch (EH01 & EH02).
I even disable the SAT0 to SATA patch - just cosmetic as macOS does not care.
In the Clover days, I had my own "fully cleaned" DSDT but for this motherboard, but with OC I don't use the DSDT at all and just need the EC, PLUG and NVMe SSDT's.
I can even boot Windows from OC.

Regarding FakeSMC, yes the only reason I use that instead of VirtualSMC is because I use iStat and VirtualSMC does not support it well with it's sensors. OC will support FakeSMC I'm pretty certain.
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2010
Messages
589
Motherboard
Asus Z87 Maximus Gene VI
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi!, I've a system similar to you.
Check my EFI configuration (I'm using OpenCore instead Clover).

Geekbench 4 results: avg 138K OpenCL / avg 116K Metal
DRM: Safari OK (Netflix without issues), Music, Apple TV, etc. OK.
AirPlay: OK
HVEC: OK
H.264: OK
FCPX: No issues
USB: OK

View attachment 469424View attachment 469425

My video card is a Gigabyte Radeon RX 580 G1 with 8GB, and I'm spoofing the ATY,Part/ATY,Card/ATY,Rom/Vendor/Device in conjunction with WEG (I include a copy from config.plist file with these configs, check the file config-with-vga-config.plist); I heard that the Sapphire are natively recognised by macOS (plus WEG), so maybe you'll not need it.

For better results, use the iMacPro1,1 SMBIOS (I've included these configuration in the attached zip).

Hope this helps you!

@familygw, I am looking to switch over to Open Core as well. How are your USB ports mapped? I did not see the AML fiile or a USB kext in your EFI folder.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
969
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
@familygw, I am looking to switch over to Open Core as well. How are your USB ports mapped? I did not see the AML fiile or a USB kext in your EFI folder.

There's a fairly good guide to moving from Clover to OpenCore here. Worth reading it first.
I first ported to OC on a USB stick - just to make sure I can boot correctly.
Once "working" you can then copy the EFI over Clover (after backing up Clover EFI first ;))
 
Joined
May 27, 2013
Messages
168
Motherboard
GA-Z390 AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@familygw, I am looking to switch over to Open Core as well. How are your USB ports mapped? I did not see the AML fiile or a USB kext in your EFI folder.

Hi @CyCLoBoT, as @macnb said there is a good guide of how to 'move to OC' but I suggest to start from scratch following this guide for your system (Haswell): https://dortania.github.io/OpenCore-Desktop-Guide/config.plist/haswell.html (and as @macnb said as well, try and put your changes into a USB stick to find a 'stable' version).

Regarding the USBMap, there is a tool (https://github.com/corpnewt/USBMap) which will help you (mentioned on Doraina's guide). I tried to map my ports but at the end I decided to hide the EHCx (using ssdt SSDT-EHCx_Off.aml), plus the XhciPortLimit patch from OC. The ssdt SSDT-PLUG-2.aml was generated using this guide (you can disable): https://dortania.github.io/OpenCore-Desktop-Guide/post-install/pm.html#optimizing-power-management; SSDT-PLUG.aml is important to let enabled (it inject the plugin-type=0x1, to native PM).
Captura de Pantalla 2020-05-19 a la(s) 15.48.07.png

Captura de Pantalla 2020-05-19 a la(s) 15.48.16.png


Check my latest EFI folder (stable for me, lol). Just edit the DeviceProperties section for the video/audio/usb (others are cosmetic things). The SMBIOS that I'm using is iMacPro1,1 (update the seriales and UUIDs, take the values from your Clover's config file; everything works, even bootcamp with the 'startup disk' feature from Mac and Windows too just like this:
).

Also check (in DeviceProperties, an alternative way to SSDT):
- For video: ensure to set the correct values for device_type (in my case: ATY,OrinocoParent, Orinoco is the framebuffer), model (cosmetic, helps with VideoProc), name and ATY,Card#, ATY,Part#, ATY,DeviceID and ATY,VendorID (my values are for spoof the SAPPHIRE RX 580, so macOS recognise natively, WEG helps with HVEC and DRM). Other fields like ATY,EFIVersion supposedly helps to improve the performance).
- For audio, if your MoBo has the ALC1150, jut leave the values as it (startup chime is working).
- For USB, i'm setting some power values and all ports are working fine.

Use the OpenCore Configurator (https://mackie100projects.altervista.org/opencore-configurator/).
BIOS:
- XHCI Mode: Smart-Auto
- XHCI-Hand-off: Enabled
- EHCI-Hand-off: Enabled
- Operating system: Windows 8/10 WHQL (just to have HiDPI boot, I have a 4K screen. If you not, remove the UIScale nvram default value in config.plist).
- CSM Support: Disabled
- iGPU: Disabled

Let me know if I can help you in someway.
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    3.3 MB · Views: 108
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 16, 2015
Messages
368
Motherboard
HP 6300 SFF-V3.08
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GT 640
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. Quadra
  3. SE/30
Regarding FakeSMC, yes the only reason I use that instead of VirtualSMC is because I use iStat and VirtualSMC does not support it well with it's sensors. OC will support FakeSMC I'm pretty certain.
Thank you for your information, I have immediately incorporated FakeSMC3 into OpenCore-0.5.8.
It seems that you are using FakeSMC of RehabMan, but it is recommended that you can use this FakeSMC3_with_plugins to monitor the graphic board.

Since the monitor software is only used for temperature measurement, I am using HWMonitor SMC2 in the same distribution place.

@LisaAlterEgo,
Currently testing dAGPM with FakeSMC3 on Clover r5117.
RX570's HVEC encorde speed is now as fast as Win10's.
Thank you.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
969
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Thank you for your information, I have immediately incorporated FakeSMC3 into OpenCore-0.5.8.
It seems that you are using FakeSMC of RehabMan, but it is recommended that you can use this FakeSMC3_with_plugins to monitor the graphic board.

Since the monitor software is only used for temperature measurement, I am using HWMonitor SMC2 in the same distribution place.

@LisaAlterEgo,
Currently testing dAGPM with FakeSMC3 on Clover r5117.
RX570's HVEC encorde speed is now as fast as Win10's.
Thank you.

Yes I use Version 6 of FakeSMC. Not sure who recommends to you use Version 3 of FakeSMC but you do not need to use that to monitor the GPU.
I use iStat and it shows:
Screenshot 2020-05-21 at 13.50.27.png


I also use (occasionally) HWMonitor SMC2 without any problems:
Screenshot 2020-05-21 at 13.52.28.png


Also, there's @mitch_de's tool that (relevant to this thread) shows if the GPU is Encoding and/or decoding in realtime:

Screenshot 2020-05-21 at 14.11.36.png


...and they all work with FakeSMC version 6.
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2010
Messages
589
Motherboard
Asus Z87 Maximus Gene VI
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi @CyCLoBoT, as @macnb said there is a good guide of how to 'move to OC' but I suggest to start from scratch following this guide for your system (Haswell): https://dortania.github.io/OpenCore-Desktop-Guide/config.plist/haswell.html (and as @macnb said as well, try and put your changes into a USB stick to find a 'stable' version).

Regarding the USBMap, there is a tool (https://github.com/corpnewt/USBMap) which will help you (mentioned on Doraina's guide). I tried to map my ports but at the end I decided to hide the EHCx (using ssdt SSDT-EHCx_Off.aml), plus the XhciPortLimit patch from OC. The ssdt SSDT-PLUG-2.aml was generated using this guide (you can disable): https://dortania.github.io/OpenCore-Desktop-Guide/post-install/pm.html#optimizing-power-management; SSDT-PLUG.aml is important to let enabled (it inject the plugin-type=0x1, to native PM).
View attachment 470558
View attachment 470559

Check my latest EFI folder (stable for me, lol). Just edit the DeviceProperties section for the video/audio/usb (others are cosmetic things). The SMBIOS that I'm using is iMacPro1,1 (update the seriales and UUIDs, take the values from your Clover's config file; everything works, even bootcamp with the 'startup disk' feature from Mac and Windows too just like this:
).

Also check (in DeviceProperties, an alternative way to SSDT):
- For video: ensure to set the correct values for device_type (in my case: ATY,OrinocoParent, Orinoco is the framebuffer), model (cosmetic, helps with VideoProc), name and ATY,Card#, ATY,Part#, ATY,DeviceID and ATY,VendorID (my values are for spoof the SAPPHIRE RX 580, so macOS recognise natively, WEG helps with HVEC and DRM). Other fields like ATY,EFIVersion supposedly helps to improve the performance).
- For audio, if your MoBo has the ALC1150, jut leave the values as it (startup chime is working).
- For USB, i'm setting some power values and all ports are working fine.

Use the OpenCore Configurator (https://mackie100projects.altervista.org/opencore-configurator/).
BIOS:
- XHCI Mode: Smart-Auto
- XHCI-Hand-off: Enabled
- EHCI-Hand-off: Enabled
- Operating system: Windows 8/10 WHQL (just to have HiDPI boot, I have a 4K screen. If you not, remove the UIScale nvram default value in config.plist).
- CSM Support: Disabled
- iGPU: Disabled

Let me know if I can help you in someway.

After a lot of trial and error, I have finally migrated over to OC. @familygw, thanks for the help.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
165
Motherboard
AsRock Taïchi Z-370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Ideally, for my i7-3770K (Ivy bridge), I'd like to use iMac13,2 ModelID but this model assumes and iGPU & Nvidia Discrete GPU thus that config does not work well for using an AMD RX 5xx GPU for H.264 or HEVC encoding.
So I disable the IGPU and set the model ID to iMacPro1,1 as that model does not have an IGPU but does have an AMD GPU. This allows H.264 and HEVC encoding (well it did but 10.15.2 broke it again for FCPX - that's another story).
The problem with using iMacPro1,1 model ID on an Ivy Bridge is CPU power management is not optimal as it assumes an Intel Xeon W-21xx. Even though I have a SSDT for the CPU power management, it does not work very well.

So, what CPUFriend kext does is to inject the correct CPU frequency vectors, and power configurations for iMac13,2 (as defined by Mac-FC02E91DDD3FA6A4.plist) for iMacPro1,1. That is, you can set Model ID to iMacPro1,1 but still have the CPU power configuration of iMac13,2.

For your i5-2500K (Sandy Bridge) you could potentially do the same. It depends on what Model ID you are using currently, what SSDT you have for overclocking to 5.4Ghz (which is very surprising :crazy:) and which AMD GPU you want to use for HEVC encoding.

WOW what a read 123 pages so far lol

@macnb: Mind helping me a little? It seems you have i73770k and GA z77 knowledge lol.

I've decided to revive my i7 3770k GAz-77-ud5h build with Mojave. I do want to use it for Resolve and Premiere and maybe FCP too. I'm up and running from a fresh 10.14.6 a Vanilla install done on ADATA 500gb SSD. OLD HIGH Sierra (crucial 500gb ) drive was hooked while I did the fresh Mojave install on ADATA.

So unsure of my kext and drivers combination (because I did play with it....)

Goal: wanna avoid h264 exports or encode errors as much as possible...and optimize times...(all things relative) and yes I do have 2 other newer better machines)

Hardware:
EVGA gtx 680 sc 2gb (yes I know this what I had to install and it was supported...and yes this is an AMD thread but can't find any other related thread...and I am awaiting an AMD RX 580 8gb)
Main drive (ved2mohg): 500gb ADATA SSD
SSD2: old High Sierra drive - crucial mx500 ssd
----will carbon copy the Mojave install back to the crucial once I,M satisfied with the setup.---- ADAT will become cache drive.
Project drive: Samsung 1TB tb 860 on PCIE 4x card
PCIE asmedia 1060 e-sata card (does not work) have a 12 gb e-sata dock I'd need it for...
Rosewill wifi card (works)

I'm on 13.2 sys def (IGPU enabled in bios) with headless Framebuffer patched with Hackintool, no Mac-FC02E91DDD3FA6A4 IMP1.1 argument in plist (should I?). Intel injected in plist. Kexts are in clover other...

h264 ok from Video Proc...NO HVEC. I think HVEC impossible with this setup...or am I wrong...(tried the shikiva 256 argument made no difference)

I did a 20 sec 4k to 1080p QT export with hvec option test : took 6 minutes.... it'S slow but it worked...
Same 20 second 4k to 1080 (I assume h264) test with no HVEC option - 10 seconds

is that normal?

-Jpeg preview works

4k play in quicktime is choppy...(GPU not strong enough? or something else)

DRM seems partial: I see previews Netflix and Prime, but green screen when the films start to play. I think it's more that my screens (2k dvi only x-star 27" and 32" HDMI 1080p Sony Bravia tv) are not 4k DRM compliant. I do hear the sound can see the film thumbnails on the progress bar. If could work would be a bonus, but Prime and Netflix work on chrome anyways. 1080p for the bedroom is ok anyways lol

Haven't installed resolve or premiere or fcp yet for other exports time tests...

if I understand the other option would be ImPRO 1.1 sys definition, patched Framebuffer headless with Hackintool, IGPU disabled in bios plus cpu friend for pm management? Would that yield better h264 render export times?

My feeling is that for now because of the GPU I'd like to also use the IGPU for more "compute, export and render power"....if possible that's why I started with 13,2 first..."

Of notice: 1tb on pcie- Samsung 860 EVO seen as generic AHCI under SATA (not as a Nvme or a pic card)

tried a lot of system def, kexts, drivers and plist edits to resolve
1) Generic AHCI (tried all the unsupported, 100-200-300, unsupported, 3rd party AHCI related Sata kexts eve apple AHCI port kext.. )
2) ASMEDIA PCIe card e-sata card (2rd party E-sata kexts does not seem to work....)
3) SAMSUNG EVO 860 either recognized as Nvme or in PCIE card...
4) optimize render export times

....even tried the put kexts in LE method...

unsure if it's a) a bios setup...An ACPI rename mismatch...or a kext to patch error...
so if you could have a look I'd appreciate...
 

Attachments

  • EFI132i73770kud5h77.zip
    17.2 MB · Views: 52
  • Screen Shot 2020-05-27 at 2.55.00 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-05-27 at 2.55.00 AM.png
    94.4 KB · Views: 77
  • Screen Shot 2020-05-27 at 2.57.46 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-05-27 at 2.57.46 AM.png
    144.4 KB · Views: 81
  • Screen Shot 2020-05-27 at 2.58.07 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-05-27 at 2.58.07 AM.png
    99.9 KB · Views: 70
  • Screen Shot 2020-05-27 at 2.57.59 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-05-27 at 2.57.59 AM.png
    136.4 KB · Views: 61
  • Screen Shot 2020-05-27 at 1.22.12 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-05-27 at 1.22.12 AM.png
    200.3 KB · Views: 51
  • Screen Shot 2020-05-27 at 3.07.04 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-05-27 at 3.07.04 AM.png
    221.4 KB · Views: 59
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
969
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
WOW what a read 123 pages so far lol

@macnb: Mind helping me a little? It seems you have i73770k and GA z77 knowledge lol.

I've decided to revive my i7 3770k GAz-77-ud5h build with Mojave. I do want to use it for Resolve and Premiere and maybe FCP too. I'm up and running from a fresh 10.14.6 a Vanilla install done on ADATA 500gb SSD. OLD HIGH Sierra (crucial 500gb ) drive was hooked while I did the fresh Mojave install on ADATA.

So unsure of my kext and drivers combination (because I did play with it....)

Goal: wanna avoid h264 exports or encode errors as much as possible...and optimize times...(all things relative) and yes I do have 2 other newer better machines)

Hardware:
EVGA gtx 680 sc 2gb (yes I know this what I had to install and it was supported...and yes this is an AMD thread but can't find any other related thread...and I am awaiting an AMD RX 580 8gb)
Main drive (ved2mohg): 500gb ADATA SSD
SSD2: old High Sierra drive - crucial mx500 ssd
----will carbon copy the Mojave install back to the crucial once I,M satisfied with the setup.---- ADAT will become cache drive.
Project drive: Samsung 1TB tb 860 on PCIE 4x card
PCIE asmedia 1060 e-sata card (does not work) have a 12 gb e-sata dock I'd need it for...
Rosewill wifi card (works)

I'm on 13.2 sys def (IGPU enabled in bios) with headless Framebuffer patched with Hackintool, no Mac-FC02E91DDD3FA6A4 IMP1.1 argument in plist (should I?). Intel injected in plist. Kexts are in clover other...

h264 ok from Video Proc...NO HVEC. I think HVEC impossible with this setup...or am I wrong...(tried the shikiva 256 argument made no difference)

I did a 20 sec 4k to 1080p QT export with hvec option test : took 6 minutes.... it'S slow but it worked...
Same 20 second 4k to 1080 (I assume h264) test with no HVEC option - 10 seconds

is that normal?

-Jpeg preview works

4k play in quicktime is choppy...(GPU not strong enough? or something else)

DRM seems partial: I see previews Netflix and Prime, but green screen when the films start to play. I think it's more that my screens (2k dvi only x-star 27" and 32" HDMI 1080p Sony Bravia tv) are not 4k DRM compliant. I do hear the sound can see the film thumbnails on the progress bar. If could work would be a bonus, but Prime and Netflix work on chrome anyways. 1080p for the bedroom is ok anyways lol

Haven't installed resolve or premiere or fcp yet for other exports time tests...

if I understand the other option would be ImPRO 1.1 sys definition, patched Framebuffer headless with Hackintool, IGPU disabled in bios plus cpu friend for pm management? Would that yield better h264 render export times?

My feeling is that for now because of the GPU I'd like to also use the IGPU for more "compute, export and render power"....if possible that's why I started with 13,2 first..."

Of notice: 1tb on pcie- Samsung 860 EVO seen as generic AHCI under SATA (not as a Nvme or a pic card)

tried a lot of system def, kexts, drivers and plist edits to resolve
1) Generic AHCI (tried all the unsupported, 100-200-300, unsupported, 3rd party AHCI related Sata kexts eve apple AHCI port kext.. )
2) ASMEDIA PCIe card e-sata card (2rd party E-sata kexts does not seem to work....)
3) SAMSUNG EVO 860 either recognized as Nvme or in PCIE card...
4) optimize render export times

....even tried the put kexts in LE method...

unsure if it's a) a bios setup...An ACPI rename mismatch...or a kext to patch error...
so if you could have a look I'd appreciate...

Nvidia and FCP are foes. FCP is optimised for OpenCL. Nvidia is optimised for CUDA. even though 680 supports Metal, your experience will not be great with FCPX. Adobe Premier might fare better.
Seriously if you wish to do any serious video editing, use your Radeon VII.

Your i7-3770K CPU's IGPU does not support HEVC so 6 minutes to transcode is normal (since the CPU is used and even the i7-3770K is limited - "miracles it can perform but the impossible take longer"). Your 8700K would have taken half the time I believe.
The IGPU does support H.264 and that's why it only took 10s.
In reality, it is NOT a great compute engine as you put it compared to Sapphire VII, RX580, 5700XT, etc.

Using iMacPro1,1 will not help you with i7-3770K + 680 GPU. It will only help with AMD GPU (that supports both H.264 & HEVC).
iMac13,2 with the i7-3770k + Nvidia is the natural fit. As long as you have that GPU, stick with it.

DRM support is patchy. I don't use it so have no experience.

Your Samsung NVMe will not be able to boot on a Z77 motherboard if you do not have a modded BIOS that has the NVMe UEFI driver added. That NvmExpressDxe.efi Clover driver should have worked and enabled the NMVe drive. You don't need any other drivers. Even without the NvmExpressDxe.efi driver, macOS's built-in drivers should have worked.
May be you BIOS needs updating. Try Linux Live distro booting it off the USB and see if Linux sees it as NVMe.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
165
Motherboard
AsRock Taïchi Z-370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Nvidia and FCP are foes. FCP is optimised for OpenCL. Nvidia is optimised for CUDA. even though 680 supports Metal, your experience will not be great with FCPX. Adobe Premier might fare better.
Seriously if you wish to do any serious video editing, use your Radeon VII.

Your i7-3770K CPU's IGPU does not support HEVC so 6 minutes to transcode is normal (since the CPU is used and even the i7-3770K is limited - "miracles it can perform but the impossible take longer"). Your 8700K would have taken half the time I believe.
The IGPU does support H.264 and that's why it only took 10s.
In reality, it is NOT a great compute engine as you put it compared to Sapphire VII, RX580, 5700XT, etc.

Using iMacPro1,1 will not help you with i7-3770K + 680 GPU. It will only help with AMD GPU (that supports both H.264 & HEVC).
iMac13,2 with the i7-3770k + Nvidia is the natural fit. As long as you have that GPU, stick with it.

DRM support is patchy. I don't use it so have no experience.

Your Samsung NVMe will not be able to boot on a Z77 motherboard if you do not have a modded BIOS that has the NVMe UEFI driver added. That NvmExpressDxe.efi Clover driver should have worked and enabled the NMVe drive. You don't need any other drivers. Even without the NvmExpressDxe.efi driver, macOS's built-in drivers should have worked.
May be you BIOS needs updating. Try Linux Live distro booting it off the USB and see if Linux sees it as NVMe.

Hey thanks for the replies

1- Don't worry, I will use my main build for sure. I just wanted to put this older build to good use too...Mainly as a secondary machine, so that my Assistant editor can work on it and or mostly for 1080p or 4k proxy to 2k 1080p editing when I have more work. so this one will stay a h264 premiere and resolve machine for now.
2- I don't want to use the SAMSUNG 860 as a boot drive - CRUCIAL main drive - ADATA cache drive - Samsung project drive (I have also 4 x 1tb drives that I RAID for media on this machine) and the e-saat enclose...
3- I did a CMOS reset and flashed a new bios before installing. I've got bios 16j on bios one, and 15 on bios 2....both give me the same results so far....

SO AHCI related problems and or bios Mobo setting help is what I'm looking for at the moment. if you can't help point me In the right direction ;)

cheers hg
 
Top