Contribute
Register

Radeon Compatibility Guide - ATI/AMD Graphics Cards

Joined
May 16, 2010
Messages
66
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z270X-UD5
CPU
Intel Core i7 8700K
Graphics
Radeon RX Vega Frontier Edition
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@LostVector So i regrettably updated to 10.12.4 and now my MST doesnt seem to be working... Everything was working with my RX480 and dell 5k prior to updating, not sure what exactly about the update broke my MST support. Would you mind sharing your AGDP plist with me?
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2016
Messages
113
Motherboard
GA-Z170x-Designare
CPU
Core i7-6700k
Graphics
AMD FirePro W9000 + Radeon 7970
@LostVector So i regrettably updated to 10.12.4 and now my MST doesnt seem to be working... Everything was working with my RX480 and dell 5k prior to updating, not sure what exactly about the update broke my MST support. Would you mind sharing your AGDP plist with me?
Updating OS versions overwrites the kext ... did you try just making the edits again?
 
Joined
May 16, 2010
Messages
66
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z270X-UD5
CPU
Intel Core i7 8700K
Graphics
Radeon RX Vega Frontier Edition
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yeah, i even restored the previous version of the kext via time machine but i couldn't get it working again so I was thinking maybe I hadn't done something correctly in the first place and just got lucky with it prior to update. You just need to remove all the board-id's from the the AGDP and that should allow it to work right?
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2016
Messages
113
Motherboard
GA-Z170x-Designare
CPU
Core i7-6700k
Graphics
AMD FirePro W9000 + Radeon 7970
Yeah, i even restored the previous version of the kext via time machine but i couldn't get it working again so I was thinking maybe I hadn't done something correctly in the first place and just got lucky with it prior to update. You just need to remove all the board-id's from the the AGDP and that should allow it to work right?
I would remove just the board-id of your current SMBIOS. I haven't updated yet.

Also make sure to force your kext cache to rebuild and that unsigned kexts are enabled.

"sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions && sudo kextcache -u /"
 
Joined
May 16, 2010
Messages
66
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z270X-UD5
CPU
Intel Core i7 8700K
Graphics
Radeon RX Vega Frontier Edition
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I would remove just the board-id of your current SMBIOS. I haven't updated yet.

Also make sure to force your kext cache to rebuild and that unsigned kexts are enabled.

"sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions && sudo kextcache -u /"
@LostVector Really appreciate your help. I tried those suggestions however I can't seem to get the RX480 and the 5k to work again like it was in 10.12.3. The terminal command was useful to know since I hadn't been doing that prior. I also made sure to enable dev-mode in my clover boot args which it wasn't. I eventually nuked all the board-ids from the config plist because after I couldn't get it working the first time (with only the relevant board-id removed) I kept switching around different Mac Definitions to test. (For Reference when it was working correctly on 10.12.3 I was using iMac17,1).

For now i'm using my nvidia 980ti because 5k is still working on that (back to having that cursed cursor glitch), just super frustrated I updated when everything was working so well :banghead:

I uploaded my Clover config plist, AGDP info plist, and a screenshot of the terminal command results if you have a chance to look at it or maybe could let me know if something looks incorrect to you. Anyway thanks again for all your help.
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 4, 2016
Messages
113
Motherboard
GA-Z170x-Designare
CPU
Core i7-6700k
Graphics
AMD FirePro W9000 + Radeon 7970
@LostVector Really appreciate your help. I tried those suggestions however I can't seem to get the RX480 and the 5k to work again like it was in 10.12.3. The terminal command was useful to know since I hadn't been doing that prior. I also made sure to enable dev-mode in my clover boot args which it wasn't. I eventually nuked all the board-ids from the config plist because after I couldn't get it working the first time (with only the relevant board-id removed) I kept switching around different Mac Definitions to test. (For Reference when it was working correctly on 10.12.3 I was using iMac17,1).

For now i'm using my nvidia 980ti because 5k is still working on that (back to having that cursed cursor glitch), just super frustrated I updated when everything was working so well :banghead:

I uploaded my Clover config plist, AGDP info plist, and a screenshot of the terminal command results if you have a chance to look at it or maybe could let me know if something looks incorrect to you. Anyway thanks again for all your help.
OK, I updated and lost 5K.

Turns out I may have missed something in my initial post. Make sure CFG_USE_AGDC is set to true in the plist for whatever accelerator.kext is used for your card. Probably in the default section, but if you are using a custom framebuffer then you might have to override it in the configuration section for that framebuffer. Still testing but that's when I got 5K back ...
 
Joined
May 16, 2010
Messages
66
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z270X-UD5
CPU
Intel Core i7 8700K
Graphics
Radeon RX Vega Frontier Edition
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
OK, I updated and lost 5K.

Turns out I may have missed something in my initial post. Make sure CFG_USE_AGDC is set to true in the plist for whatever accelerator.kext is used for your card. Probably in the default section, but if you are using a custom framebuffer then you might have to override it in the configuration section for that framebuffer. Still testing but that's when I got 5K back ...
aHa!!!! Totally working again! You were exactly right! That was the key to get it up and running again. And honestly I don't know how you figured that out because I would have never been able to find that out on my own in a million years. :clap::clap::clap:
 
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
34
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-Gaming 5
CPU
Intel 6700k
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Hello everybody.

I was wondering if there is any way to get R9 390X to work with dual displays in El Capitan without using iGPU as primary?
I already use a Sapphire Radeon HD 7790 Dual-X OC working with 2 displays one connected to HDMI port and the other is connected to DVI port and everything works just fine.

I've read somewhere in this forum using DisplayPort might work but since I don't have a HDMI to display port cable or any convertors at my disposal right now I thought someone might have a solution.

Thanks guys.
 
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
34
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-Gaming 5
CPU
Intel 6700k
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Hi Fl0r!an,

Thanks for the quick reply and your great topic.

When I boot with a single display attached everything works fine, but when I boot with second display connected both displays go dark.
When I boot with one display connected after OS is loaded then I attach the second display, both displays work fine.
I tried injecting ati=true and different farmebuffer settings it got worse.
 
Top