NVIDIA 'Pascal' Graphics Drivers Released: Buyer's Guide Updated!

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by tonymacx86, Apr 11, 2017.

  1. rayer

    rayer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    May 4, 2017 at 4:04 AM #181
    rayer

    rayer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    So I made an interesting observation of my hackintosh setup. I cannot get two monitors to work. I followed the steps outlined by the Sierra guide to the letter. Then installing the web drivers for my GTX 1050 TI. Everything is working fine except for audio can be finicky and I only have 1 of my two monitors working. I later figured out that only the left-most HDMI port was working. The other day I ran a test of unplugging my first monitor from the left-most port, leaving the second monitor plugged into the second from the left HDMI port. It worked up until about the half-way point of the macOS boot process and then cut out. I can only assume this is where some driver or setting is loading and at that point, only the left-most HDMI port remains functional.

    I have gone through the full process several times just to be absolutely certain I did everything correct according to the guides. I started with choosing Load Optimized bios settings, then turning off the Serial port, VT-d, setting to Other OS, UEFI boot, and whatever the other bios options that were listed. Then I created the USB drive according to the guide. Installed just fine. After booting in macOS, running Multi-beast, not choosing any graphic settings. Installing the video card drivers, rebooting and choosing boot from web driver, having use nvidia web drivers set to true. And it works because macOS recognizes the 4GB of RAM and the name/model of the video card correctly. Not sure what else I can do at this point.
     
  2. t3chl1f3prod

    t3chl1f3prod

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Mobo:
    Asus H97-Plus
    CPU:
    i3-4360
    Graphics:
    HIS r9 280x IceQX2
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 4, 2017 at 5:18 AM #182
    t3chl1f3prod

    t3chl1f3prod

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Mobo:
    Asus H97-Plus
    CPU:
    i3-4360
    Graphics:
    HIS r9 280x IceQX2
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I just took notice of that. I never sleep mine; I just have the monitor set to turn off. I haven't used sleep since before when Ii was using an R9 390 because of the same problem, tbh I wish i would have built a dedicated hack and kept my OC R9 280x, literally EVERYTHING worked, but of course that was in the mavericks/Yosemite days.



    It's reading real time clocks, not what the limit is set to. Once you actually start utilizing the card, the values will change, basically just reading idle speed.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 5, 2017
  3. pinktank

    pinktank

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    308
    Mobo:
    z270x itx Asrock
    CPU:
    7700k
    Graphics:
    HD630
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    May 4, 2017 at 8:28 AM #183
    pinktank

    pinktank

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    308
    Mobo:
    z270x itx Asrock
    CPU:
    7700k
    Graphics:
    HD630
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Did you try Nvidia ssdt injection?
     
  4. rayer

    rayer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    May 5, 2017 at 2:49 AM #184
    rayer

    rayer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    I did and it didn't change anything sadly. I was able to confirm the name changed to GFX1 from PEG0, so I do know that the SSDT was loaded. Thanks for the suggestion though.
     
  5. Petronius

    Petronius

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Mobo:
    GA-H87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i3-4330
    Graphics:
    nVidia GTX 1050 TI
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    May 8, 2017 at 10:34 PM #185
    Petronius

    Petronius

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Mobo:
    GA-H87N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i3-4330
    Graphics:
    nVidia GTX 1050 TI
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    my monitor has no HDMI nor DP ... it has only VGA and DVI... It would have not surprised me if it was not working with VGA (actually did not work either, exactly the same symptoms). I was not able to find that article where I read few years ago, how to switch the display using DPCIManager or IORegExplorer... the method was for some of the Inter HD cards on 2nd or 3rd generation Intel-i CPUs
     
  6. Kafke

    Kafke

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    85
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-DESIGNARE
    CPU:
    i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    Geforce GTX 1080ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    May 31, 2017 at 6:56 PM #186
    Kafke

    Kafke

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    85
    Mobo:
    GA-Z170X-DESIGNARE
    CPU:
    i7-6700k
    Graphics:
    Geforce GTX 1080ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    No trouble at all installing my 1080 ti. Flawless! Deleted the gpu sensor kext, very good advice.
    Performance is just amazing, a big difference compared to the 980 ti. Cheers!
     
  7. ruthan666

    ruthan666

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Mobo:
    MSI Z97 Gaming 7
    CPU:
    Broadwell 5675C
    Graphics:
    G970 4GB
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Jun 26, 2017 at 5:56 PM #187
    ruthan666

    ruthan666

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Mobo:
    MSI Z97 Gaming 7
    CPU:
    Broadwell 5675C
    Graphics:
    G970 4GB
    Mac:
    Mac mini
    Are Pascal drivers for Siera only, or could be used with El Capitan or Yosemite?
     
  8. JCMunsonII

    JCMunsonII

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    694
    Mobo:
    ASUS ROG Maximus IX Hero
    CPU:
    Intel I7-7700K
    Graphics:
    EVGA nVidia 1070 FTW2
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 26, 2017 at 6:03 PM #188
    JCMunsonII

    JCMunsonII

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    694
    Mobo:
    ASUS ROG Maximus IX Hero
    CPU:
    Intel I7-7700K
    Graphics:
    EVGA nVidia 1070 FTW2
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    As noted in numerous places, even on nVidia's site, the Pascal drivers are Sierra only.
     
  9. star-affinity

    star-affinity

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i7 920
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 670
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    SE
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Aug 13, 2017 at 9:51 AM #189
    star-affinity

    star-affinity

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i7 920
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 670
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    SE
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2017
  10. eurekaiv

    eurekaiv

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    i7700k
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 980
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 13, 2017 at 2:59 PM #190
    eurekaiv

    eurekaiv

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    i7700k
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 980
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    This non working dual monitor issue seems to be happening to quite a few folks, exactly as you describe and not just with an Nvidia card. I have the same thing with Intel 630 and have seen this mentioned in various places and build threads on a couple of forums now. I'm pretty shocked so few people are running dual monitor setups and that this problem hasn't been more widely discussed and even solved for already. Wish I knew more about deciphering drivers and kext files to understand what was happening but I'm about 99% sure this is a sleep issue of some sort. It appears to me that the OS is sleeping certain video outputs, under certain circumstances, during the boot process. For me, the display port goes to sleep if both hdmi and display port are used. I can actually watch my display go to sleep the moment the screen goes blank. I was able to get hot plugging working for a hot minute and then that broke big. Pretty disappointed right now as dual monitors is a huge part of my workflow and has been for years. Once it arives, I'll be trying a 1050 windforce card that I got an excellent deal on but if I can't get that to work, I'm switching to Windows 10, which TBH, is much better suited to high density 4k displays (I can scale the user interface, a far better solution than pixel doubling) and at worst requires a similar amount of fiddling about.
     

Share This Page