No Sound - Realtek ALC AppleHDA [Guide]

Discussion in 'Audio' started by toleda, Oct 17, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,672
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 17, 2014 at 4:30 AM #1
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,672
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    [​IMG]
    No Sound - Realtek ALC AppleHDA [Guide]
    Realtek ALC/Desktop: 269*, 283*, 885, 887, 888, 892, 898, 1150 and 1220Beta on board audio (* BRIX/NUC only)
    Supports macOS/OS X: 10.12, 10.11, 10.10, 10.9 and 10.8

    This thread is deprecated
    See No Sound - AppleHDA Realtek Audio

    Change Log
    v1.3 - 5/10/17: 200 Series/Kaby Lake Audio Support
    , see below
    v1.2 - 8/17/16: Initial 10.12/Sierra Support
    v1.1 - 12/5/2015: El Captain, 100 Series/Skylake and X99
    (100 Series and X99, see Unsupported/Non-working RealtekALC AppleHDA, below)​
    v1.0 - 10/15/2014: Yosemite/10.10.x, Mavericks/10.9.x and Mountain Lion/10.8.x

    Posts to this thread must include the information requested in II. Problem Reporting. Any post without attachments may be removed without warning.

    A successful audio configuration is required for working OS X/AppleHDA.kext audio. Most "No Sound" problems are caused by an incorrect configuration. Usually, the selected audio device and the audio port connected do not work because they are not designed to work together. The single correct device and port combination makes sound.

    MacOS - No sound (if applicable)
    1. 200 Series/Kaby Lake Audio: macOS/Sierra does not support Kaby Lake audio, fix:
      1. Quick Fix: 200 Series/Kaby Lake Audio
    2. Low/no volume: macOS does not support external amps (green/speaker/headphone), select one:
      1. Use black (2nd Line Out) or orange (1st Line Out)
      2. Install RehabMan / OS-X-EAPD-Codec-Commander
    3. Dual booting OS X/Windows: may impair audio in macOS; credit Tsunade, fix:
      1. Post #206, Solution, Post #229
    If System Preferences/Sound/Output says "No audio output devices found", see No Audio Devices - Realtek ALC AppleHDA

    No Sound/Problem Reporting

    I. No Sound
    (System Preferences/Sound screenshots: Realtek ALC AppleHDA.pdf)
    1. Audio Outputs (System Preferences/Sound/Outputs > SPSOut)
      1. Speakers - Audio IDs: 1, 2 and 3
        1. Connect speakers to Green Port/Motherboard
        2. Select SPSOut/"Internal Speakers"
        3. Unmute
        4. Set Volume to 75%
        5. iTunes/Music/Play
        6. Verify Sound
        7. If no sound, goto II. Problem Reporting
      2. Remaining audio output devices
        1. Audio ID: 1
          1. SPSOut/Headphones > Green Port/Front Panel
          2. SPSOut/1st Line Out > Orange Port/Motherboard
          3. SPSOut/2nd Line Out > Black Port/ Motherboard
          4. SPSOut/Digital Out > Optical/Motherboard
        2. Audio ID: 2
          1. SPSOut/Headphones > Green Port/Front Panel
          2. SPSOut/1st Line Out > Pink Port/Motherboard
          3. SPSOut/2nd Line Out > Blue Port/Motherboard
          4. SPSOut/Digital Out > Optical/Motherboard
        3. Audio ID: 3
          1. SPSOut/Headphones > Green Port/Front Panel
          2. SPSOut/Line Out > Black Port/ Motherboard
          3. SPSOut/Digital Out > Optical/Motherboard
    2. Audio Inputs (System Preferences/Sound/Inputs > SPSIn)
      1. Microphone - Audio IDs: 1 and 3
        1. Connect Microphone to Pink Port/Motherboard
        2. Jump to 2. Select SPSIn"Internal Microphone"
      2. Microphone - Audio ID: 2
        1. Connect Microphone to Pink Port/Front Panel
        2. Select SPSIn/"Internal Microphone"
        3. Unmute
        4. Set Volume to 75%
        5. Speak into Microphone
        6. Verify Sound
        7. If Input Level does not show a signal, goto Ii. Problem Reporting
      3. Remaining audio input devices
        1. Audio IDs: 1 and 3
          1. SPSIn/1st Line In > Pink Port/Front Panel
          2. SPSIn/2nd Line In > Blue Port/Motherboard
    3. Front Panel
      1. Assumes working Internal Speakers (Green/Rear) and Line In (Pink/Rear)
      2. Front panel motherboard connector
        1. AC97 - not supported
        2. HD Audio
          1. HD Audio connected to motherboard front panel audio connector
          2. Plug Headphone into Green/Front
            1. If Internal Speakers changes to Headphone
              1. Front Panel working
          3. Plug Microphone into Pink/Front (Audio ID: 2, N/A)
            1. If Internal Microphone changes to Line In
              1. Front Panel working
        3. If HDAudio and no switching
          1. Hardware/installation problem
          2. Off topic
    II. Problem Reporting (post to this thread with attachments)
    1. Description of audio problem
    2. OS X version/motherboard model/BIOS version/processor/graphics
    3. Procedure/Guide Used
      1. Terminal Saved Output (if Terminal script run)
        1. realtekALC
        2. AppleHDA8Series
        3. cloverALC
        4. pikeralphaALC
    4. Copy of IOReg (Tools 1.1) or IOJones (Tools 1.2)
      1. IOReg/File/Save a Copy As…, verify file (no ioreg.txt)
      2. IOJones/Save..
    5. System/Library/Extensions/AppleHDA.kext (10.11/hidden)
    6. System/Library/Extensions/AppleHDAxxx.kext (if installed)
    7. Console/All Messages/kernel Sound Assertions - select/Save Selection As:
    8. Screen shots:
      1. DPCIManager/Status (Tools 2.)
      2. System Information/Hardware/Audio/Intel High Definition Audio (not Devices)
      3. System Preferences/Sound/Output
    9. Chameleon (if installed)
      1. Extra/org.chameleon.Boot.plist
      2. DPCIManager/Misc/Boot Log (Tools 2.)
    10. Clover (if installed)
      1. EFI/CLOVER/config.plist
      2. DPCIManager/Misc/Boot Log (Tools 2.)
    11. Speakers and/or microphone
      1. Make and model
      2. Audio port connected (color, motherboard or case)
      3. Selection in System Preferences/Sound/Output or Input
    Unsupported/Non-working Realtek ALC AppleHDA.kext
    1. 100 Series/Intel High Definition Audio:
      see Unsupported..., Post #1, Audio - Realtek ALC AppleHDA
    2. X99/Intel High Definition Audio:
      see Unsupported..., Post #1, Audio - Realtek ALC AppleHDA
    Tools
    1. IORegistry Explorer (choose one)
      1. IORegistryExplorer_v2.1.zip
      2. IOJones
    2. DPCIManager
    More Information - audio_ALC_guides
    • Customization.pdf
    • No Audio After Sleep/Wake.pdf
    • No Audio Devices.pdf
    • No Sound.pdf
    • Realtek ALC AppleHDA.pdf
    • Surround Sound.pdf
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2017 at 4:15 PM
  2. studiosecond

    studiosecond

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Mobo:
    Hack Pro
    CPU:
    i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 680 2048MB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Oct 17, 2014 at 10:36 PM #2
    studiosecond

    studiosecond

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Mobo:
    Hack Pro
    CPU:
    i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 680 2048MB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    I installed with the latest version of unibeast.

    INSTALLATION 01
    - Installed Yosemite, everything worked except audio.

    Multibeast - User DSDT, ALC 889, Internet -> DONE

    No Audio

    INNSTALL 2 WITH REFORMATTED ATTEMPT
    I learned that I should try using the mavericks MB as the driver was better

    Installed yosemite, all worked except audio

    RAN MB 7, INSTALLED USER DSDT and EVERYTHING EXCEPT audio. Then ran MB6 and installed ALC889. No luck.

    My sound card (TRAKTOR AUDIO 2) also outputs nothing. I'm sorry if I missed attachments, could not find them :banghead:



    SPECS - I7 2600K, GTX680, GIGABYTE Z68P DS3. I am using the same DSDT since ML.


    EDIT LOG:
    -Attached console.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,672
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 17, 2014 at 11:44 PM #3
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,672
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Audio is configured properly, no Console/Sound Assertions.
    Exactly how are you verifying sound?

    By the way, set dsdt/HDEF/layout-id/0x01, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00 HDAEnabler is unnecessary.
     
  4. studiosecond

    studiosecond

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Mobo:
    Hack Pro
    CPU:
    i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 680 2048MB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Oct 17, 2014 at 11:49 PM #4
    studiosecond

    studiosecond

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Mobo:
    Hack Pro
    CPU:
    i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 680 2048MB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro

    Verifying by changing the volume slider. I don't get the "BLAP" sound at all. Audio works fine on Windows 8.1 and OS X 10.9.5 though.

    I'm doing another final reinstall now.

    OS X perfectly detects sound/hardware, I just hear nothing, even on USB headsets.
     
  5. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,672
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 17, 2014 at 11:53 PM #5
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,672
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    No details as requested. Use a real audio source, see Post #1.
     
  6. Cougarcat

    Cougarcat

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Mobo:
    P55M-UD2
    CPU:
    4 Ghz i5 760
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 18, 2014 at 12:04 AM #6
    Cougarcat

    Cougarcat

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Mobo:
    P55M-UD2
    CPU:
    4 Ghz i5 760
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Is that the only way you verified sound? Apple disabled the volume sound by default in Yosemite.
     
  7. studiosecond

    studiosecond

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Mobo:
    Hack Pro
    CPU:
    i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 680 2048MB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Oct 18, 2014 at 12:17 AM #7
    studiosecond

    studiosecond

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Mobo:
    Hack Pro
    CPU:
    i7 2600k
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 680 2048MB
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro

    OMFG I OPENED YOUTUBE AND I GET AUDIO. God damn you Apple.

    It turns out they removed the system notifier for audio and I spent all ****ing night and all god damn morning trying to fix something that wasn't broken. Holy **** i'm shaking right now, I was actually considering reinstalling windows......THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU TO BOTH OF YOU
     
  8. Cougarcat

    Cougarcat

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Mobo:
    P55M-UD2
    CPU:
    4 Ghz i5 760
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 18, 2014 at 12:18 AM #8
    Cougarcat

    Cougarcat

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Mobo:
    P55M-UD2
    CPU:
    4 Ghz i5 760
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Haha. Wow, I almost didn't post that, because I thought...no way, surely. :p

    Glad you got it sorted. In the future, the easiest way to test is just press the volume keys. If theres a problem, you'll see a circle with a slash. Also, if the volume menu item works at all, that means that sound should be working. It's when it's dimmed is when you have problems.
     
  9. draganche

    draganche

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    Gigabye X58A-UD3R rev.2.0
    CPU:
    i7 950
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 570
    Oct 18, 2014 at 8:43 AM #9
    draganche

    draganche

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    Gigabye X58A-UD3R rev.2.0
    CPU:
    i7 950
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 570
    hahahaha Cougarcat! Thank you so much! Now everything works like clock!
     
  10. sebgreen

    sebgreen

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    125
    Mobo:
    10.9.2
    CPU:
    i7 4770
    Graphics:
    MSI GeForce GTX 760 TF
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 18, 2014 at 3:40 PM #10
    sebgreen

    sebgreen

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    125
    Mobo:
    10.9.2
    CPU:
    i7 4770
    Graphics:
    MSI GeForce GTX 760 TF
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Giagbyte GA-Z87X-UD3H Audio problem solved using this guide.

    Prior to Yosemite install I was using the green colour audio output.

    Following this guide with the 2nd line out selected the black audio output was the correct one.

    Thanks!

    Please note that it appears Apple have removed the sound on volume change so you need to have some audio playing whilst making the changes and changing the plugs around.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page